We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodgasm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of il forno

il forno
the lane, off pub street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
(0)63763380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 474 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Healthy, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We created Il Forno in 2011 after many years dreaming of opening a traditional Italian Restaurant outside Italy where we would serve authentic Italian food like our grandmothers used to cook. The only addition to our grandmother's kitchen was the building of an original stone brick fire wood oven from where to make pizzas according to the southern italian tradition. We pride to import every single ingredient ( veggie & fruits aside)on our menu directly from Italy and to make all our food home made and fresh daily. Our fantastic team of chefs/cooks start their day very early to prepare our pizza dough that need 10/12 hours before its naturally risen and to prepare home made tagliatelle, tortellini , gnocchi and so on , exactly like we used to in Italy half a century ago.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Foodgasm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a must visit place. Hands down the best Italian food I have ever eaten.
The place is very authentic and the staff are warm. Food is served quickly unlike the rest of cambodia.

I ordered the Gnochi with Mushroom and Safron and I was in heaven after the first bite. For dessert I had a tiramisu was amazing too.

My phone batter was flat and they let me charge the battery too :)

The place is not cheap as compared to other restaurants but its worth every penny.

Cheers
A

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    246
    55
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not all that is made out to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

my friends and I decided we wanted to go to il forno as we had heard such good things about their food and wanted to taste it ourselves. We were less than impressed with what we got. My friend ordered a seafood raviolli and the sauce was so salty she could not eat it. When she asked for a change they brought it back with no sauce just plain ravioli she was not impressed. I had the carbonara and was less than impressed with the portion size, and the pasta was very gluggy and just did not taste so good.

We left feeling very unsatisfied and not at all impressed with the meal we had just eaten.

Will not be returning there any time soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Change of Pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After travelling in SouthEast Asia for three weeks, we arrived Siem Reap. We had been eating a steady diet of "rice & something" during the entire period. When we arrived Siem Reap we realized we have some very nice options for a change of pace. Il Forno was our choice to do that. And what a wonderful experience it was. You have to work a little to find it in the labyrinthine streets off the main drag, but we found it and were we pleased. The seating is a bit close, but that gave us a chance to chat with the Australian folks in the table next to us. A lot of fun to compare notes. The food was outstanding in all respects. And the wine selection was quite good. The Italian manager came over to greet us and to chat, a very nice touch, and after dinner generously offered us each some Grappa. That completed the change of pace as this is a typical Mediterranean practice of offering something after dinner on the house. We loved it and highly recommend it. It will round out your visit to Siem Reap in a nice way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, my friend and I decided to have dinner at Il Forno. First of all, it wasn't easy to find. However, we did and the effort to find the restaurant wasn't worth it. We both had pizzas, and they were average at best. Thin and crispy, like I like it, but just a typical pizza. Service was also average. Guess you get what you pay for...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"The best pizza ever"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Not that my two daughters are professional experts, but they have eaten a lot of pizzas in their lives, and they both declared that their pizzas at il forno were the best ever (which means better than Sainsburys and Pizza Express, to be precise). My pasta was great, the service was efficient and friendly, an we even got a limoncello from the charming manager. You're also tucked away from the real madness of Pub Street. What's not to like?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il forno also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to il forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.