We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of il forno

il forno
the lane, off pub street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
(0)63763380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 473 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Healthy, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We created Il Forno in 2011 after many years dreaming of opening a traditional Italian Restaurant outside Italy where we would serve authentic Italian food like our grandmothers used to cook. The only addition to our grandmother's kitchen was the building of an original stone brick fire wood oven from where to make pizzas according to the southern italian tradition. We pride to import every single ingredient ( veggie & fruits aside)on our menu directly from Italy and to make all our food home made and fresh daily. Our fantastic team of chefs/cooks start their day very early to prepare our pizza dough that need 10/12 hours before its naturally risen and to prepare home made tagliatelle, tortellini , gnocchi and so on , exactly like we used to in Italy half a century ago.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place was reccomended for great pizzas and we ended up instead eating a 3 courses meal after the suggestions of the manager that came promptly to welcome us in the restaurant. We ordered directly from the special board without even looking at the menu'; the food was divine like you were in a local trattoria in italy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    246
    55
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic time and time again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Il Forno is an amazing restaurant. I have been twice in the last week with family and it delivered both times. Fantastic food, great service, freebie tasters and nice chats with the chef. I couldn't recommend it more. It can be a little hot close to the pizza fire but it's worth it! The chocolate mousse is the best I've ever tasted.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, loved it,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellent Italian food and service. And the owner stopped at our table to ask if we had any questions about the menu. The pizzas looked wonderful but we had cannelloni and a pasta dish. It was so good we added dessert as well. Good but not as amazing as the meal. Would highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food & service but prepare to sweat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Food was great, ambience very trattoria, servers warmly attentive. Only complaint is how hot it was - need better ventilation.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great Value and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It took us a while to find this place. We finally had to ask where it was and the person took us right to the place.
Good Italian food right in the middle of the Pub Street area.
I would recommend the four cheese pizza.
Two salads will feed four.
We placed out order and out came an Italian appetizer. The food there was delicious and hot. At the end of the meal the staff offered us a aperitif. Totally unexpected!
When the bill for the four of us came we could hardly believe how inexpensive the meal was.
Try il forno for a great dining experience

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il forno also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to il forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.