We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff but rooms are average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Fish Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Golden Fish Guesthouse to your Saves list
Golden Fish Guesthouse
25 Sivatha Road | Old Market & Pub Street Area, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 364 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Culmstock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Helpful staff but rooms are average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My friend and I were taken here by our driver and we looked at the room and decided it was fine so decided to stay here for a few days in Siem Reap.

First impression is that it's nothing special, but there is something about it that we really liked. There is a nice homely feel with the communal area overlooking the streets, with cushions on the floor to lounge on and food menus if you get hungry.

Our room was fine and we were happy with it, although it would have been nice to have a window and some natural light. They should also think about getting some nice soft pillows instead of rocks...
Staff in the guesthouse were very helpful - we kept extending our stay because we spent so long trying to see Angkor Wat. They let us borrow a couple of bikes and we cycled to the temples which is quite far, but also a great way to see the countryside. The staff at the guesthouse also helped us book onward travel to Battambang. Someone was always there when we needed them which was great.

The free computer in the lounging area was handy and we were able to upload our pictures to facebook (which took ages), leaving are memory cards free for the temple photos! They even played a movie while we sat there being annoyed at the computer.

Location wise, it is in a great position for you to explore Siem Reap. I definitely recommend this place for friendly service and a homely vibe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
2
5
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lots of backpackers, good place to socialize, near pub street and night market. $7 room was simple, with ensuite bathroom, wifi and fan. Staff was ok. Don't expect big/clean/quiet rooms, but if you want to socialize and are ready to rought it, then this is the right place for you. However, you can find more comfortable places just 5 min walk away from the centre for the same $$$.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

i arrived at 2am. they said they had a room with hot shower at noon. when i got back at 6pm, i was told that they gave me another room. i was not happy but accepted. when i went back again at 9pm, i was told that the previous room was available. i was happy and moved in. one hour later, my nightmare came. when i was in shower, they knocked the door and told me i have to move because someone else booked online,

Room Tip: avoid this guesthouse as much as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a good stay as it is very near Pub Srreet and Night Market. The price however fluactuate a lot as it is near "hot places". Make sure to negotiate for below $10. Definitely below $10 if you travel around May to August. if air-conditioned room, it'll be around $15.
Staff is friendly but only a few speak good English. Many of times they don't understand and communicate wrongly the information. However everything is forgiveable when they show the friendliness and hospitality at you.
Room not as clean as expected but it is ok for sleeping. At night the room is a bit hot to sleep early unless you are asking for air-conditioned room.
Recomemded for those who wanna stay near pub street and night market. Those who don't really enjoy pub street, don't stay for too long. However it is great place to get to know people and tourist culture.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Awesome staff, great vibe, super friendly people, and an overall good place to stay!!! I stayed here with two friends and we all had a great time. Chanra and Ken are both awesome and we really enjoyed our stay, We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wako, Japan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed 4 days in this house
Nice food,nice rocation,nice room,nice price & nice staff!!!
I love this GH
[chanra]He is very nice driver of Tuk Tuk
And very Nice staff!!
I was glad to meet them

I'll come back be sure

By JUNJI

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A cheap (7$) hostel run by a very nice and helpful lady. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in the centre of siam reap - this is your choice. All kinds of trips can be booked at the reception, of course also to the Angkor temples!
Sometimes the hostel would even drive me to nearby places (money exchange, massage place, etc) with a Tuk-Tuk for free!
Have a nice stay :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Fish Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Fish Guesthouse

Address: 25 Sivatha Road | Old Market & Pub Street Area, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse is located in Siem Reap city center, only a few meters away from so-called "bar street"and Angkor Night Market. Plenty of day and night activities are within reach, by foot, cyclo or with our organized tours. The rooms are dispatched on three levels, a ground floor (next to reception desk), a middle-level and the rooftop with rooms and a restaurant / terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Fish Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Fish Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.