We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good guesthouse for this city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The City

Save Saved
You added The City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road No.6, #665, Group 7, Sala Kanseng | Near By Sokha Angkor Hotel & Star mart & Banteay srey restaurant, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 222 hotels in Siem Reap
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good guesthouse for this city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

The stay did not start well, with them forgetting about the arranged airport pickup, and giving me an AC room which I paid for only to hpfind out they made a another mistake by forgetting the AC was broken. They were genuinely sorry and put me downstairs in the family room for no extra charge. The room was huge, and had cable TV in it, although the guesthouse restaurant is literally next to the window so things might get a bit loud at night. The next day I moved back into the original room with AC fully operational. The included breakfast was standard omelette and baguette, and a couple bananas. The bus booked to Phnom Penh was with Sokha Komar Tep company, and the bus was AC and decent. They also have their own tuk tuk driver for any purpose. The location is away from the main area of Siem Reap, and is hidden in a street off the main road. So keep the address handy, and otherwise it's not too long of a walk to the Siem Reap river.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
9
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

i loved the atmosphere at the hotel very quiet and relaxed ,and with the helpfull staff , nice beakfast and free refill of drinking water,I warmly recommend this place,
HPを見て予約しました。
気に入らなければすぐに移動しようと思っていたのですが
あまりの居心地の良さに17泊もしてしまいました。
それまで5ヶ月近く旅してきていろんな宿に泊まりましたが
これほどまでにコストパフォーマンスの高い宿は無かったです。
部屋は広くて清潔だし、オーナーのベンさんは日本語ペラペラで穏やかで
とても親切で、何度もお勧めのご飯屋さんに連れて行ってもらいました。
ここは大当たりです!
是非ともcityに滞在してシェムリアップを存分に楽しんでください。

Room Tip: infront room with Garden view and window .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

value for money!
the staff is really friendly and help you in any manner. 24h reception and they can also organize for you every sort of visit at the temple (i recomendo to do at least 1 day by bike).
the room are very different. some big, other small, other w/o any window and a/c - and you are in cambodia, so it's a sort of owen - . so, when you arrive and DEAL for the price of the room, ask the guys to show you all the rooms in order to decide which one is better for you.
the first room we saw was really dirty, and they changed! the other one was ok!

the b&b it's not easy to find (small sign on the road) but it's on the national road so in good position. 10 min walking distance from bar street (1$ by tuk tuk) in a quiet location whre you can rest after a whole day in angkor wat!!!!!!!!!

not superb, but with 7$ we had a clean fan room, so..not bad!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I enjoyed staying here for 3 nite, free internet/wifi, free bfast, free bicycle n free airport pick up, though i missed it as i was told that i had to inform the GH directly which i didnt, thinking that the booker will liase with the GH, so please take note!
The boss Mr Soh was so flexible that he allowed me to stayed on; until my connecting bus to Phomn Penh arrived at nite without charging me, thanks Mr soh , Sokhim n ur great team in the GH, for making my stay a memorable one !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I would definitely recommend this hotel, one of the best budget places I have stayed in Siem Reap and very close to everything, staff very friendly and great cleen rooms A+++++

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

This Guest House is absolutely perfect. It's five minutes (by walk) away from the town. Near Angkor. The people are very very kind. Everything was perfect. If Iwas to return to Siem Reap, I woud definetly choose this Guest House again.

Cécilia G.
France

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We have had our two nights stay at The City hotel on 20th - 21st April 2011. The hotel is quiet and gives a sense of tranquility, and yet, it provides great conveniency, as it's located about 10-15 minutes away from pub street and night market. The room is clean, and the staff are friendly and helpful. They speak good english, and whenever you need their helps, they'll give it a nod and smile, and get it done at the next moment you saw them! We even ask for their helps to buy us two tickets to Phnom Penh. In conclusion, a good hotel that definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City

Address: Road No.6, #665, Group 7, Sala Kanseng | Near By Sokha Angkor Hotel & Star mart & Banteay srey restaurant, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Garden Villa and Restaurant is the Siem Reap Best Rate Accommodation Relaxing Environment with Private Tropical Garden, Full Services, Central Location, Interior Wooden Design, Volunteer Home Stay Programs, In Rooms Free WIFI internet, 24h Receptionist, Our conveniently located on main Road Number 6 in the heart of Siem Reap Quiet place With Next Door SWIMMING POOL Just only 2USD for whole day Free 1drink, (1O minuts by Walk) to the Bank and ATM machine, We are (15 minutes by tuk tuk) from the fantastic Angkor Wat temple complex and (10 minutes by tuk tuk) from the famous Old Market, Night Market and Siem Reaps's renowned Pub Street, Old French Quarter, Near by is the Star-mart convenience store which is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week , Extra shopping Lucky Mall ( 5 minutes walk ) and go downtown in 10-15 min, But everything you need is at walking distance from the Hotel, Night Market ,Restaurants and pubs, taxis, coffee shops, massage, karaoke dinner, etc.... Also there is a tour reservation agency, restaurant and laundry service in our hotel, There are several golf courses not far from the hotel about 30 min with car or taxi, No problem for parking if you have a bike or a car, there is a free parking with security 24hours 7days, Fitness center not far from the hotel about 15 min with car or taxi, All of the top tourist attractions of siem reap are within easy to reach,Interior of Building and Rooms With Special Design By using traditional Khmer-Decorated Local Beautiful Wood Comfortable and Clean, You will be safe and satisfied during your stay with us and all our rooms have combination safes for your valuables, The rooms is a fresh , Stylish Bedandbreakfast offer comfortable accommodation, quality service and friendly atmosphere, Our individually themed rooms have been decorated using of warm colours, providing guest with a peaceful, relaxing environment after a long day of sightseeing,The restaurant Cafe have additional sofa-bed eay for families or group, The rooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.