We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't recommend more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Dreams Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sweet Dreams Guesthouse to your Saves list
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
#0126 Wat Bo Street | Salakamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Sihanouk Ville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't recommend more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I spent 5 weeks in this guest house while I was volunteering and the guesthouse owner Mr NiNi and his staff were so accommodating. He organised all my visas, transport, bike repairs and they clean your room on request. The food is also really good and very excellent value. I felt really at home in the guest house and there is a lovely atmosphere for meeting people.
The rooms are large, spacious, CLEAN and there is a choice of aircon or fan. Also if you're looking to be greeted with a smile and a hello every evening you get back then you are picking the right place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    29
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
15
36
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed at Sweet Dreams Guesthouse nearly 2 weeks. I felt very comfortable there. I was traveling with my daughter initially for a few days and then on my own for the remaining time. It was great to be in a family run establishment. Mr. NiNi was pleasant and accommodating, as were the rest of the family. I appreciated that whenever Mr. NiNi would see us he would call us by name, as well as the other guests. The room was very clean and comfortable with both AC and a fan. They have free Wifi and computers for guests to use in the lobby. They also have a small restaurant serving both western and local dishes. I look to returning to Sweet Dreams on my next trip to Siem Reap in July.

Room Tip: My personal preference... room with AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Came across Sweet Dreams Guesthouse from my daughter and her friends who have all stayed at Sweet Dreams over the past 12 months. The place was just as they all described, clean. As we are slightly older than probably the normal demographic we found the staff to be friendly and the place amazingly good for the money. We hope to make the journey again in the future as Siem Reap was one of our favourite places in Cambodia. Next time we hope to volunteer in a school for a couple of weeks, Mr. NiNi is very convincing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at another place next to Sweet Dreams, in Siem Reap, on our first night. I couldn't wait to get up in the morning and go to Sweet Dreams.
When I got there NiNi, the owner, was so pleasant, helpful and funny. And I was so happy to go to a room that smelled clean and fresh, was spotless and had hot water.
During our stay here, everything was great. NiNi and the other staff were always ready to help us out with anything we needed.
When we told NiNi that we were going to Phnom Penh and we needed a bus, he made sure that we were getting a good, safe bus (our trip from Laos to Siem Reap was the worst bus experience EVER). He also helped us out with booking a guesthouse in Phnom Penh. It turns out that his family has one there. So, he called them up, made a booking for us and had them pick us up from the bus station.
The guesthouse in Phnom Penh is called Same Same Backpackers and I would highly recommend staying there too.
Thanks for everything NiNi!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Came across Sweet Dreams Guesthouse late one evening after a long bus ride from Bangkok. We had got a tuk tuk with people we met on the bus to where they had booked, but there was no availability for us. Luckily this little alley is a strip of guesthouses so we had no problem looking at the others.

Chini was who booked us in and he was very nice. The room was a double room. It had a queen sized bed and then another single, as well as a desk, cable tv, fan, shoe rack and an enquire. All exceptionally clean. For $7 a night it was fantastic value. Also very quiet too, as we were never disturbed by sounds from other guests or staff. We were on the first floor though and maybe those on the central corridor on the ground floor had a different experience.

The owner Nini met us the next morning and he was lovely. Remembers everyones names and was always smiling. It is a family run place and there were kids around pretty much all the time which was fine with us but maybe other people wouldn't be so on board with it. The restaurant/chill out area out the front was a great place to have a good breakfast before a day out, or to just catch up on some reading. There were also 3 computers that guests were able to use.

The location was about a 15 minute walk from the city centre and we liked it that way. There are plenty of restaurants, shops and supermarkets in the area though so it's not hard to get stuff.

Great atmosphere all around, one of the favourite places we've stayed at so far. Highly recommended to any travellers to the area :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dino, Ticino, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed there almost 2 months in July-June 2013. It was lovely and I felt like I was at home. Mr. Nini welcomes you with a great smiles saying "my family is your family"- and he truly means it. The staff is so friendly and will go out of its way in order to please you and make your stay perfect. They help you with the organization of your visit/following trip with very helpful suggestions, TukTuk availability, bus/ boat tickets and VISA arrangements. The location is also good, close to both the temples and the city center.
The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet and at a great price. You can choose whether you want fan or AC, TV and/or hot shower.
The food is delicious and at a cheap price, with both local and international food (italian, french, mexican, indian, ...) - by the way the pancakes are so yummy!
If you stay at Sweet Dreams, you will get to know the real Cambodia and have once in a lifetime khmer experiences.

Room Tip: Room 104 it's just perfect: spacious, TV, ac, hot shower and in the corner so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 or 3 nights back in February. Can't complain about anything (especially compared to the s**thole we stayed at in Sihanoukville)--off a quiet side street, decent food, good prices, clean rooms, and helpful staff. The power went out for a few hours but it wasn't their fault--just a fact of life in Cambodia, and they were apologetic about it, and helped us book our bus tickets to the next place. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Dreams Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Dreams Guesthouse

Address: #0126 Wat Bo Street | Salakamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Dreams is a local family run guesthouse located in Siem Reap just 1km away from the city centre. We offer 24-hour security and friendly 24-hour English speaking reception. We have a big selection of affordable rooms ranging from basic rooms, standard rooms, and deluxe rooms with air-conditioning and cable TV. We also have a restaurant serving delicious food from 6am to 11pm. We have two areas for relaxation: one large terrace in the cool shade of the palm trees and one lounge area with a TV and DVD player, plus free DVDs to watch. There is also a free book exchange. We have two computers with internet access provided free of charge. Our staff are very knowledgeable about the area and are happy to arrange tours, transport and guides as required. Or we can just give you tips on the local area if you prefer to do your own thing. Additional services available include: laundry - $1/kg, free pick-up from airport, boat or bus station in Siem Reap, and coming soon bicycle rental will be available for $1/day. We look forward to meeting you. Nini, family and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Sweet Dreams Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Dreams Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.