We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest house. Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloom Garden Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bloom Garden Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bloom Garden Guesthouse
On the road to Angkor Wat | Across from le Meridien, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 364 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great guest house. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

This bed and breakfast makes you feel at home. Very accodating, catering to all your needs. Great rate with breakfast included. They were really good on email reservation communication.

Bloom Garden is a high recommendation as a good value hotel. About $30 US per night for two people. Laundry was $.75-1.00 for shirts/dresses. Breakfast is choice of eggs or crepes with fruit, tea or juice.

Location is about 5-10 min to town on tuk tuk. 25 min from airport. Great, quiet spot.

This Inn was one of the reasons for such a great stay in Siem Reap. They even arranged pick up from the airport via tuk tuk. One caution on tuk tuk drivers, be sure you have a location where you are going. The front desk can help you communicate with the driver on where to go. Very inexpensive but tend to know tourist heavy locations.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    35
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
49
80
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

OK, I normally stay at really nice places and was only humoring our friends when I agreed to stay at a B+B. It is down a dirt road which was muddy so we were concerned. The rooms were large with unimpressive showers. However, the people were friendly, the breakfasts great, and we just loved being there. I give the place a 5 mainly on value. Nice and convenient location. Also, they hooked us up with great tickets and the best tuktuk driver. I would go back even with having to humor someone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We chose Bloomgarden Guesthouse simply based on the ‘excellent’ and ‘good’ reviews published on this site but unfortunately found it to be completely otherwise.

Firstly, the Guesthouse had arranged for a taxi-pickup from the Thailand-Cambodia border at Poipet since we were to arrive by road. After a fairly difficult (there are no luggage-trollies and it was raining ) and rather slow Immigration formalities we eventually found the taxi-driver waiting for us carrying a board with our names written on it. As advised, we asked him the name of the Guesthouse for further confirmation to which the man answered correctly. He then helped us with our luggage, tried to convince us again about the necessity to change currencies and led us to the shuttle bus stop where he waited with us till the bus arrived. He spoke fairly good English and wanted to know if we had any local currencies with us and also informed that should we need any, there is a money exchange bureau at the taxi stand where we were headed. We found this a little strange as he shared nothing else with us. It was nearly a 15minute drive to the taxi-stand. On arrival he helped us again to get our luggage down and led us to a spot near the front entrance where he said to us “wait here a minute” and then disappeared. We waited nearly 20minutes watching other taxis come by, pick up passengers and leave but our driver was nowhere to be seen. At this point we became slightly worried as bringing down the taxi could not have taken that long after all. We looked for a public phone to call up the Guesthouse since our cells showed no signals only to find out that there was none there. A man in uniform and badge, supposedly an employee at the Taxi Station then approached us and thankfully offered his own cell to make the call. After a few attempts and with him interpreting for us, we finally got through to the owner of Bloomgarden - Diana, to whom I explained the entire situation and to which she replied – “you need to go to the roundabout..” . For a first timer trying to find an unknown taxi-driver in a foreign place with hardly any adequate facilities with a two hour journey to the destination ahead, the owner’s reply hardly made sense or offered any real help. I further requested her to ‘find’ for us this absent driver who only they have had appointed for us, and call us back with information. By this time we had been waiting there utterly confused and concerned for over an hour with even one of the Managers working at the Station come out and telling us “please don’t worry!” Nearly ten minutes later the owner of Bloomgarden called up and said, “That man is not your driver.”(!!!) “ Your driver is now on his way from Poipet. Please wait there.” I thanked her and without a single word of explanation or apology, she hung up. To cut the story short, our driver finally arrived and drove us safely to Siem Reap but due to his limited English (or knowledge of the incident) the mystery of the first man (stange that he knew our name and destination) still remains. At the Guesthouse where we spent 3nights, the owner did not make one single appearance during our stay and we did not get the chance of taking this any further.

The room that we were given at the Guesthouse (no.7) looked clean but we found that the mosquito net fixed at such a point that would make using it impossible. There were issues of privacy with the room having no curtains (the room is overlooked from both aspects and keeping the shutters closed at daytime would make the room really ‘dark’) and one of the windows permanently unusable because of the placement of the wardrobe. There are no phones in the room although they provide room-service which one has to order by going down to reception or calling the staff up to their rooms (!).The bathroom is tiny and fittings ill-planned. (The door while closing actually touches the sink and later we found out that it was not possible to take a shower without getting the toilet-roll wet! ) We requested the Reception staff who seemed to be running the place entirely, to change the room on those points only to be told that there were none other available at the time and that all the bathrooms are of the same size. But she agreed to address the issues and even agreed to ‘make’(!) temporary curtains for us and change the position of the mosquito net as well, which she did by loosening the screws from the light fixture in the ceiling! This is the only guesthouse in our experience that doesn't have a mirror in any of the rooms but at our insistence the staff arranged one for us.

Breakfast was frugal (two toasts, two eggs, half a tomato, a few slices of fruits and the thinnest piece of butter ) and a trace tedious with no change of menu (apart from the fruits) and please note that there is no dining room ( unless the seating area beside the front patio is considered to be such - which we didn't see being used, probably due to mosquitoes.) . One table on the upstairs balcony with wooden stools scattered around it served as the dining table and people waited their turns as only one person serving breakfast brought one tray up at a time to the balcony from the kitchen downstairs.

Each day on return from our daily tours we found the room tidied up and the floors wiped but the bathroom was NEVER cleaned or towels changed. Outside, the main balcony where we had our breakfast always looked unclean with dry leaves and droppings (house-lizard?) left lying on the same spot the entire duration of our stay (the photo could not be posted due to limitation of number of photos on this site). We also saw water dripping continuously into a puddle along the window of one of the rooms that opened on the main balcony. Unfortunately the same is to be said about the could-have-been-beautiful large garden space which seemed only being used for drying laundry. Talking of which, please refer to the photos I pasted to see laundry space and conditions, which was right below one of the windows to our room.
Also, the phone at the Reception we were told do not have International Call making facilities.

On the whole, we found Bloomgarden the ‘neglected’ Guesthouse hardly “excellent” or even “good” but ticks completely on the goodwill and sincere efforts of all the staff there. Their English is limited but communication was no problem at all. Kagna, Lekena and Rona the tuktuk driver are all wonderful people who were always there to help out, which as of now, is the only point of recommendation from us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

It's a lovely place, make you feel like home. Staffs are all understand english very well, and they are all very helpful and friendly.

Room and toilet are clean, bed is comfortable.

The only point that they can improve is the water flow rate is very slow. Not really comfortable when showering.

Apart from this, this guesthouse is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed at the Bloom Garden Guesthouse for 3 nights. All of the staff members were nice - always greeted me with a smile during my stay. They made sure I was comfortable at all times and that there were no problems. My room was spacious and clean.

As other reviewers have noted, this place is outside central Siem Reap, away from the crowded and noisy areas. This place has tuk-tuk drivers who can bring you to town, Angkor Wat, and surrounding temples. It also has bicycles for guests to use.

I highly recommend this place. Special thanks to Kagna and Chanthy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Situated away from the pub street, this homely guesthouse is nothing but excellent!
From cleanliness and hospitality of staffs to transportation, everything is well thought of.

One thing that truly stands out is the staffs hospitality.
They go that extra mile to make sure I am always comfortable and okay with their services.

Other plus points would be free bicycle usage and location near to Angkor Wat.

On the other hand, variety of breakfast can be improved to better suit different customers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, South Korea
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I had tight travel in Vietnam and Cambodia with my Friends, and during out trip we stayed about 4 places, and it's about 4 hotels, and in Bloom Garden I felt my self most relaxed then anywhere else. It's clean place, big rooms with nice interior, friendly service and close location to Angor complex. If I ever come back to Siem Ream, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloom Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloom Garden Guesthouse

Address: On the road to Angkor Wat | Across from le Meridien, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive 10 bedroom villa in peaceful garden setting. All rooms open to lovely greenery and come equipped with custom made Cambodian wood furniture, quality spring mattresses, air-conditioner, mosquito net, wall fan, hot shower, cable TV, mini-bar and free wifi for in-room surfing. Room rates include free breakfast, free pick up, free use of bicycles and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bloom Garden Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloom Garden Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloom Garden Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.