We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old House Restaurant

Old House Restaurant
Near Pub Street, Opposite the entrance of Siem Reap Referral Hospital (Provincial Hospital) | 2 Thnou Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
+855 12 49 39 48
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 475 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cambodian, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Khmer owned restaurant-Close during Khmer New Year day and Pchum Ben day
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The food at Old House is amazing. I had the fish amok and wow it literally melted in your mouth! We ordered a second to share as we enjoyed it so much. The service is amazing, you feel like it's upscale even though the price is so low. Shame this was our last night in Siem Reap otherwise we would definitely return for more!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    111
    33
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Khmer food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Came here because of the reviews and was not disappointed.

We got the smoked eggplant with pork and the chicken curry, both of which were great.

The prices were good and we had no problems with the service!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very tasty food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I ate here last night and had a lovely time. I arrived around 6. Only one other table was occupied. Based on other reviews I decided to try the $6 menu. I had the green mango salad which was delicious, and the fish amok (because it seems to be a traditional dish and because I loved the name) which was also excellent. The portions were large. I ate all the salad but didn't make it through half the fish. The fruit plate (watermelon, pineapple and mango) was light and a wonderful finish to my meal.

Service was friendly and relaxed, but I wouldn't call it slow. It took a minute or two to get my beer after I sat down, and my wait for the salad lets me know it was made to order. The fish and fruit came out in a very timely manner as I finished each course.

I found the decor charming, the seats comfortable and the fans efficient. It was also a real pleasure to have a cloth napkin.

I'm here for two more days and pla to eat here again...though probably next time just a single course!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The food tasted great and was presented well, but it seemed to take forever. Same for the drinks. The staff is friendly but they seem to be slightly under staffed at times. If you are willing to wait it is worth checking out. Went back for lunch with a friend and the food came much quicker, drinks were still slow.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“food good value - service dreadful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

OK, the set menu was $6 and myself and my wife thought it was good value and was very tasty. No complaints about that.
We sat fro 90 mins waiting for our main course, enough said.
Wine was reasonably priced so if you are preapred to wait then a reasonable meal awaits !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old-House-Restaurant, Manager at Old House Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
First we would like to thank you for selecting our restaurant for your dine and also to take this opportunity to express my sincerely apology to all our value customers for the delaying the food.
We know that in these several days we had a problem of delaying the food due to the absence of two of our kitchen staffs as well as we get a lot of clients at the same time. One requested to leave and other one is our sous chef that just get a pregnancy and immediately informed that she can’t come because she get a serious pregnancy sick. Now we are searching for other staffs and everything will be running smoothly again in several days.
Once again thank you for taking your time to dine in our restaurant.

Your sincerely,
Thavy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old House Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Old House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.