We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant, very tasty food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old House Restaurant

Old House Restaurant
Near Pub Street, Opposite the entrance of Siem Reap Referral Hospital (Provincial Hospital) | 2 Thnou Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
+855 12 49 39 48
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 474 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Cambodian, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Khmer owned restaurant-Close during Khmer New Year day and Pchum Ben day
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, very tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I really enjoyed this restaurant. The food was excellent and the ambience and decor of the restaurant was nice. Also as it's slightly away from pub street it's not as busy which is nice. I would definitely recommend it.

Meals are around $2.5-$4 and worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    111
    33
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good dinner, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Food was good and tasty - but not amazing. Very good value. Easy location. Restaurant had a nice feel and look.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quality food and quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Old House Restaurant offers great value for your money, especially if you opt for their 6 USD menu (starter - main - dessert). The food is excellent, as well as the service - finally some waiters who are aware that serving up food is more than simply putting the plate in front of the guest. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere, perfect for romantic dinners or some quality time with friends. We did not try their Western food,but it looked resonably priced. It's just off Pub Street right in front of the hospital, central location, but without the corresponding price tag. Definitely recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice restaurant, good food, service must be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The restaurant is near to the Pub Street, opposite to the hospital. Clean restaurant, also the toilet. The service is okay, a little bit low because only two or three staff during our 4 visits. The food is very delicous - we tested 8 differents meals. A special in this nice restaurant: they offer fresh white bred with butter - the bred is warm. So we can wait for our menus. But 5 minutes from the order of the drinks till we get the drinks....long time. Finally the restaurant is one of our preffered restaurants in Siem Reap. The pastas and the seafood khmer food were really delicous.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Done deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This restaurant is very well presented and very clean and tidy. The $6 set menu is excellent value for money and the service is very professional. We would have given it a 5 but they mixed up our bill and overcharged us, genuine mistake I guess, but it took far too long for them to rectify the problem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old House Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Old House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.