We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, but severe and unacceptable shortcomings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Dream Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angkor Dream Villa to your Saves list
Angkor Dream Villa
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Road to Tonle Sap | Watsvay (next to ACODO), Siem Reap 40001, Cambodia (Formerly Dream Villa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 369 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, but severe and unacceptable shortcomings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I cannot really recommend this guesthouse for tourists and travelers visiting Angkor Wat and the other sights of the region (Tonle Sap etc.) although the rooms are quite nice at $20/18 with/without breakfast. Why?

First and foremost, some tour recommendations that they gave us turned out to be blatantly wrong. I’ll give two striking examples.

(A) We asked them about how to visit the remote temple of Beng Mealea, and they recommended us going there by tuk tuk rather than by car, claiming that it'd be impossible to reach this site by car due to difficult road conditions. However, as it turned out, most tourists are in fact traveling this rather long distance either by faster car or tour bus. Worse, we had to swallow tons of sand, dust and exhaust gases on our exposed tuk tuk trailer as the roads that we traveled were chiefly unpaved. Overall, we spent ca. 3 and 1/2 hours on our slow tuk tuk, while traveling by taxi would have taken a mere 2 hours. Apparently, they gave us this insane "recommendation" because they wanted to sell their own tuk tuk service. (They have some tuk tuk drivers on their payroll, but no taxi drivers!)

(B) After having finished our visit to Angkor Wat, we asked them about their recommendation regarding a visit to Tonle Sap Lake and one of the stilt villages there. Having had one particular village in mind (recommended by Lonely Planet), they persuaded us to visit a different, more close-by village, which turned out to be Kompong Phluk, an infamous tourist trap. They told us that it’d be indispensable to hire an extremely expensive motor boat ($ 25 per person). However, only as it was already too late, we learned that (1) this “boat tour” was in fact little more than a 15-minute ride to and from an expensive restaurant operated by some village people; (2) equally well, it’d have been possible to reach the stilt village directly by our tuk tuk, as there is a road leading directly into Kompong Phlug during dry season. To sum up, we paid 35 $ per person (including the hotel tuk tuk fare) for virtually nothing. As Kompong Phlug is well known as a notorious tourist trap for some time, we guess that they certainly knew about this as they gave us this “recommendation”!

These questionable recommendations are by no means the only reasons for complaint. Visiting Angkor amounts to starting early, as one is best advised to avoid the very hot hours around noon; so we hired their tuk tuk for starting early at 07:30. However, in the morning, shortly before 07:00, they told me that breakfast wouldn’t be available before 08:00 as their restaurant staff were not yet there. Only after I became somewhat insistent, this issue was eventually resolved.

Last, not least, breakfast quality itself was mediocre. I had to virtually bet for each additional slice of toast bread and cup of coffee.

As breakfast is not really expensive ($ 1 per person and night), this wouldn’t be an issue. However, as Angkor Dream Villa is located 2 Km south of the center of Siem Reap, there is no nearby alternative place for obtaining a more decent breakfast.

In fact, the rather isolated location of Angkor Dream Villa is another major drawback, which makes it as well impossible to obtain second opinions and alternative offers regarding tours. Tuk tuk drivers typically charged us $ 2 for a ride from Pub Street to Angkor Dream Villa; walking takes ca. 30 minutes.

Final remark: some walls at the first floor are decorated with portraits and citations of illustrious characters of world history, e. g. Adolf Hitler (“Strength lies not in defense but attack.”), Pol Pot (“Am I a savage person? My conscience is clear!”). How should this be interpreted by visitors coming from Germany, Austria, Israel, Cambodia?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A D, Manager at Angkor Dream Villa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr Roland !
Thanks for the review you had put up Angkor Dream Villa . First and foremost , i am regret that you are not enjoy your entire stay in Siem Reap . On the day you arrived , we explained with breakfast , the rates is $20 per night , $18 without breakfast which you agreed to the rates with breakfast ! As for the breakfast menu , you had a choice of 1} fried rice or noodles , 2) egg or ham sandwich , 3) hotdog with fried eggs and of course you choose toast bread with coffee and in fact , you have double orders because of your build which we still happy , willingly to serve you ! For the opening hours of breakfast its from 0700-1030 hrs , you came at 0600 hrs ,of course, we are not ready .
As for our knowledge and understanding , all the places you had visited are based on your own request , we only provide more info of the place and upon your request of tuk tuk , As Angkor Dream Villa is estimate 7 km from tonle sap lake if you had done your homework , you should aware that's the nearest lake . for the motor boats fees , this is set up by the local operators and that nothing we can do as we had advise you on the fare , however , you had a choice should you find that it is expensive , but its seems you are ok with it , furthermore , we are aware that you had created a scene over the motor boat issue and demanded a refund after which you had completed the ride , just simply you are not enjoy it !
Angkor Dream Villa is 1km based on googles map , if it based on what you had say its more than 2km , i strongly recommended you had to upgrade your googles map ! Angkor Dream Villa is design and cater to tourist who wish not to be bother by the traffic noise and you look fresh every time you came down for breakfast and i assumed you had a good sleep !
As for your last comments on the pictures on the wall , its just simply a history !
Last but not least , i always welcome you to be back here !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Loved this little hotel/inn. Robert (Manager) was extremely helpful throughout our stay and helped us discover some local gems in Siem Reap, booked our bus to Vietnam, arranged for a tuk tuk everywhere we went and made sure we weren't getting ripped off at the same time. He was by far the best hotel manager I have encountered on this 2 month Journey through Southeast Asia that I am currently on. The staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating, with a smile on their face anytime I spoke with them. I would recommend this place to anybody visiting Siem Reap!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeosu, South Korea
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Angkor Dream Villa is perfect if you want to stay in Siem Reap without staying in the loud, crowded, backpacker-filled areas. The Villa is located about 6-8 minutes by tuktuk away from the main area (Pub Street, etc), so still very easy to access. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are what really make the place, though. Very welcoming and helpful. Food menu is a bit limited but with good prices and quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I'm glad that we stayed in Angkor Dream Villa for our visit in Siem Reap. What's good about it is, it's cheap, but clean. (Of course don't expect high-end furniture and appliances, but I think that's why it's kind of homey) We had a clean room, clean bathroom, a box-type television, good air conditioning and a big bed.. During our stay, they changed the towels regularly and cleaned the room. The place was very peaceful and quiet, which gives you a great vibe while you're on vacation. Had free breakfast that comes with coffee or tea. The manager and the staff we're very great. The owner of the villa was friendly and also entertaining. We even played billiards during the new year's eve! All in all we had a great 3-night stay in Angkor Dream Villa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our first trip to Cambodia and staying at Angkor Dream Villa did make a difference! Helpful owners and staff made our acquaintance with this extremely interesting country and city unforgettable. With Angkor Wat being, of course, the centerpiece of the trip, meeting great people was a delight in itself. If you decide to stay there, ask Nic or Robert to put you in touch with their tuc-tuc driver friend Dee for your transportation needs. A humble English-speaking school teacher earning $1 an hour at school, he drives a tuc-tuc as his second job. If you decide to go see Angkor Watt at sunrise, he will come to pick you up at 5 a.m. and will spend the entire day taking you from one amazing temple to another.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at Angkor Dream Villa. Robert and his staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were air-conditioned, spacious and comfortable, breakfast provided and good.

The place is about 10-15min walk to pub street (or a short tuk-tuk ride), but much more peaceful, with a river right across the street (leading to Tonle Sap). Safety is good too, they locked the gates at night and have a security guard to keep watch at night and open the gate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at the Angkor dream villa for six nights in November this year, and was more than happy with such a cosy hotel, and the most helpful staff I think I have ever come across in all my years of travelling. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, Robert who runs the hotel, was a perfect hotel manager, who works so hard to keep all his guests happy. He arranged an excellent three day tour for me to see the spectacular Angkor Wat and many of the other fabulous temples. The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk from Siem Reap center, and the hotel runs complimentary tuc tuc into town. There is no doubt I will return to this hotel, and recommend it to anybody who wants a home from home stay.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are very good, I always go for the rooms with best value, and the ones in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angkor Dream Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Dream Villa

Address: Road to Tonle Sap | Watsvay (next to ACODO), Siem Reap 40001, Cambodia (Formerly Dream Villa)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Dream Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Dream Villa is a boutique Bed & Breakfast with 16 guestrooms. Located 20 mins drive from Siem Reap Airport and only 5 to 10 mins from all major bus stations, you can easily explore the Siem Reap town and Angkor Temples! Make yourself comfortable in our King, Double or Twin bedrooms. All rooms feature complimentary WiFi, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom with hot water, Cable TV, and large openable windows with natural day light. Take a stroll along the river or borrow one of our bikes to explore the Old Market, Night Market and Pub Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Angkor Dream Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Dream Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.