We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay in a lovely hotel in a nice part of town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avie Moriya Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Avie Moriya Villa to your Saves list
Avie Moriya Villa
Building 705, Street 60, Mondul 1 Village, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 63, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay in a lovely hotel in a nice part of town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our stay in Avie Moriya Villa was a lovely one! We were in siem reap volunteering for an NGO and so had to stay for about 2weeks. The whole time Luca, the Italian owner, made us feel more than welcome and nothing was too much trouble!
When he was not around, his friendly team of Cambodian front of house staff were excellent - always asking how your day was and generally making you feel at home!

The rooms were lovely, clean and everything worked!
Location is perfect, just a short walk away from pub street, but just far enough away to be quiet!

Free wifi in the rooms was a big bonus :)

If you're peckish while staying here, go next door to the ivy and try their pumpkin soup! I've been craving it since I got back! Sooo delicious!

Overall a fantastic stay!! Thanks Luca!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
37
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights with my girlfriend, it was a really good stay. We had the Deluxe Room (20$/night). The bed was huge and and comfy, cable tv. One of the best room we had in Cambodia, and definitly the best value/quality ratio.

The owner is everything you can expect from a Italian : relax and welcoming. He gave us tips on where to eat. And as we were visiting the temple, provide us one of his trusted tuk-tuk driver. He drove us for 3 days, was honest and nice. Tha last days, we went on the Lake to visit the floating village ($20pp for a group excursion), he negotiate for us $15pp and we got the boat just for us.

If you're looking for a place in to stay in Siem Reap, i'll definitly recommend Avie Moriya.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

One of the best place I've found in Cambodia. Avie Moriya Villa speaks of quaint, tranquil, hospitality, good service, clean, neat and spacious.

The hotel is about 5 mins away from the city centre where the restaurants, pubs, massage places are. It is very convenient. However if you are planning to go out and return late at night, do remember to carry a touchlight along as it is dark along the roads leading to the hotel.

Room is clean and neat. No amenities in bathroom so do bring along your own. Sometimes there are mosquitoes in the room, so do remember your insect repellent. It's common everywhere, not just in Avie Moriya.

Good western breakfast and nice coffee.

Luca, the owner, is very helpful and friendly at all times. You can ask him any time for help on where to go and local arrangements. I had to get ferry tickets from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh and Lucas helped us to book it with a travel agency. He also sent a driver out to collect the tickets for us.

I wanted to extend my stay for another night but however the hotel was fully booked. A very popular place with travellers.

For the price, value and location, this hotel is definitely the choice!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I find myself lucky to find Avie Moriya Villa. Its a great property with a very friendly and helpful staff. Being a tour leader by profession i have stayed in many hotels/guest houses and i can say this was one of the best place i have ever stayed in. The rooms are clean, the rates are very cheap compared to what they are offering, the location is in a peaceful area yet 5 minutes walk from the centre and the best part is that the owner Luca takes a personal interest in making sure that the guests are comfortable. He even helped me booking a Tuk-Tuk for my two days sightseeing of Angkorwat and introduced me to an excellent Tuk-Tuk guy Bunnie. I would always highly recommend this place. Thanks a lot guys for making my stay wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Overall, for the price, Avie Moriya Villa is a great hotel. The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone travelling on leisure and would like to save some money on accommodation.

Avie Moriya Villa is located at a quiet neighbourhood in Siem Reap. The Old Market and Pub Street is just around 12 minutes walk from the hotel (which means you can save a few bucks on tuk tuk). We were picked up from the airport (free for 2+ nights stay) by a tuk tuk which takes less than 20 minutes door to door. Remember to email the hotel in advance to arrange for pick up, their staff are very responsive by email.

We were greeted by Luca, the owner, on our arrival who is friendly and welcoming. Their staff, especially Sambat, are courteous and helpful and answered all of our questions about the city. They also helped us mail our postcards (finding a post office or postbox was difficult).

The deluxe room is spacious and well furnished with a working desk and huge luggage area. The bed is big and very comfortable (just the right hardness) and the pillows are fluffy and supportive.

There were plenty of channels to choose from on the TV though some (less popular channels) are flaky. The major channels like CNN, BBC, Fox Crime and NatGeo were all fine though. As for the Intenet, the speed can get slow during rush hours but it may be due to the network in the city, nothing much the hotel can do.

The water in the bathroom is fairly strong with adequate hot water at night. The only complain is that other than a small piece of soup, there was no other toiletries (appears to be the norm in Cambodia though). Remember to bring your own shampoo or get it from a supermarket in town.

The complementary breakfast is fairly simple. There is a choice between fruit salad, toast and pancakes (Our choice). You will also get a cup of either tea or coffee. For big eaters, you can try the noodle shop right next to the hotel. Their fried beef noodle with an egg (US$1.5) is awesome.

Note that there is a additional 3% charge if you choose to pay by credit card.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms are located on the first floor and are quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I suppost to stay in avie moriya villa only 2nights but i decide to stay for 10 nights , the guest house is located 2 minut walk from the center , the rooms are very clean , I had a very good breakfast (best omelette ) and a good Italian coffe, Luca the owner recommended me a very good tuk tuk drivers ."bonnie" ,he know all the best place to visit in Siem reap ,the stuff very kind ihad a great time whit all of them ... Thank you very much Luca for everything ,I hope to come back Soon ... Doria forever

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I Just recently stayed at Avie Moriya Villa for 3 Nights, Loved it.

The Hotel is located very close to pub street but far enough away that you cant hear the extremely loud music that the temple Night club is well know for. There is all amenities very close.... Laundry, ATM, Liquor Store and one of the best Coffee shops in SE Asia. The banana smoothies are Great!

The Villa Also has very freindly staff and owner that made us feel at home within miniutes of arriving. Big thanks to MR Bunnie our Tuk-Tuk Driver! Very pleasant man, great personality and very informative. Made our stay.

At 16-25 Bucks a Night this place it well woth every penny... Aircon,Ensuite, TV, WIFI, Daily room cleaning and a very cosy bed.

Thankyou To Luka and staff

Shaun & Tonianne

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avie Moriya Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avie Moriya Villa

Address: Building 705, Street 60, Mondul 1 Village, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 63, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find our oasis tucked away amidst the hustle and bustle of down town Siem Reap. Sophisticated, stylish and affordable, Avie Moriya Villa offers guests a warm welcome and impeccable service. We are situated in an ideal location for exploring the mysteries of Ancient Angkor (15 minute drive) as well as the thriving modern day Cambodia. Just down the road, lies the vibrant Center Market, which offers a wide array of colourful silks and other Cambodian made mementos that will remind you of your visit for years to come. Only a five-minute walk from the exciting nightlife; a perfect distance for convenience with out disturbing your blissful nights sleep.Our English speaking friendly staff, are happy to serve you at all times dedicated to making sure that your stay is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avie Moriya Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avie Moriya Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.