We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort to your Saves list
The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115, Group 7 | Phum Tropeang Ses Khum Kochok Srok, Siem Reap 0000000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 232 Hotels in Siem Reap
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Elegant boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed at the Samar Villa & Spa hotel last month with my parents. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment which was comfortable and elegantly furnished. Both the bedrooms had attached bathrooms that were spacious and modern.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and the WiFi connection was strong. The hotel is a short taxi ride away from both the city and Angkor Wat.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    20
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
85
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Very well decorated, charming, quiet and very professional service made our visit in Cambodia unforgatable.

We do belive return and spend more time than we did recently.

Room Tip: All rooms have a unique Khmer's style and decoration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

A rare combination of 5 star/personal service and charm. Niched in a traditionnal Khamar house, every room is decorated with refinement and style, and we have been looked after with personal touch. Great for a family week end or romantic gataway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Samar Villa & Spa Resort is the perfect mix between the service standards of a 5-star hotel, and the privacy of a residence. There are only 7 rooms in the large building that overlooks the pool, one detached villa, and one villa above the fine dining restaurant so you can count on getting personal service.

The rooms are all beautifully decorated, spacious, and comfortable. The Founan villa also has one-of-a-kind paintings from Yves Saint Laurent, who was a friend of the owner. Families should stay in the Apartment Suite which has two rooms attached by a living room. For people traveling with electronics, the Wifi is limited to the Public area, and the signal is best in the lobby and restaurant. However, there are plenty of outdoor outlets to plug in your laptop. Although the villa looks historic, it is newly built—so you can expect all the modern connivances. The details have been really thought out, like personal handmade soap in the bathrooms, pool amenities, Egyptian cotton sheets, ala carte breakfast, daily incense/essential oil burners in your room, etc.

One of the best things about Samar is the location—it's on the road to Angkor Wat and a bit away from Old Market, so you are in a very peaceful side of town. This can also be a down side if you want to be in bustling Siem Reap, or if you are looking to party with other tourists (in that case, look elsewhere.)

For transport, the hotel will hook you up with a personal Tuk Tuk driver who can take you anywhere you want (with reasonable pricing for day tours) essential for first time visitors! Everyone in our group fell in love with Samar Villa, and we can't wait to go back. Thank you to Christian and Bertrand Prestaut, the Father-Son, Manager/Owner team that created Samar--You have a spectacular property!

Room Tip: The building is wood so noise tends to travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Samar is a place that I will not forget. I staid a week and could have stayed a month.
It is this kind of hotel where you feel in your own home. Details are important and make the difference. I had a chance to visit a few different rooms and each one has something special. For people who love special places and do not like too much large hotels, they can try the Samar. The swimming pool is 2 steps away from the room and the restaurant 3 steps away. The food there happily surprised me also in the same way, be sure to try it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Ten minutes far from Angkor Wat temple, this charming hotel is perfectly located in Siem Reap. After spending the whole day in the Angkor area, the Samar Villa is the best relaxing place ever.
The room are spacious and the refined decoration refers to the colonial period. Everything is gathered to make you feel comfortable : the staff is really friendly, the homebaked food is delicious, the spa and swimming pool are relaxing, tuk tuk are always at your disposal.
I would like to thanks Mr Prestau for his tips (best restaurants, places to visit) and his warm welcome.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

The resort is located on the quiet side of town... very relaxing... the pool is perfect after a long hot tour of the Angkor Wat Temples.
Perfect for Honeymooners.
Private TukTuk is available 24/7.
The welcome dinner was Great! Had a good taste of Cambodian Cuisine.
We only stayed for 3 nights... I wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort

Address: 115, Group 7 | Phum Tropeang Ses Khum Kochok Srok, Siem Reap 0000000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#46 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Samar Villa And Spa Resort
The Samar Villa Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The SAMAR Villa & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.