We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oasis with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunwin Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bunwin Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National 06, Phum Banteay Chas | Samaki Market zone, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Oasis with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Love this place!
We stayed here for 4 nights,with the entire hotel (10 rooms) booked by family for a wedding which was held at this beautiful hotel. I thought we might have been biased by the wonderful service with it being a special occasion, but looking at other reviews, the attentive, thoughtful & kind Bunwin staff are a recurring theme at this lovely hotel. Wedding or not, it seems every guest will feel special. The well-appointed rooms are very quiet, and the courtyard & pool area is an oasis after a hectic day at the temples.
The cocktails are just awesome & at happy hour it is ' buy one get one free'.
the complimentary Tuk-Tuk & mobile phone to call them when ready for pick up made everything just that much more hassle free.
Missing Bunwin already!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    64
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
182
31
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I've never stayed anywhere so lovely in my life - Bunwin is a tiny boutique hotel (10 rooms in total), and the staff here are so kind and caring that it really feels like home.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the pool is refreshing & clean, and the cocktails are both cheap and strong :) The food at the restaurant is pretty good and breakfast is huge (the biggest bread basket I've seen in Cambodia for a hotel breakfast!).

Came here with family for a small wedding on site, and the staff here helped with decorations, rearranging furniture upstairs in the restaurant, and with playing music during/after the ceremony. They all came up afterwards with photos with the bride and groom too!

We all felt really sad to leave, as Bunwin felt like home, and the lovely staff like friends. Couldn't recommend it more highly!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is fair enough with great interiors and looks clean and tidy. If you are expecting some royal treatment and sophisticated interiors, this hotel might not be the one. However, they have friendly staff that can give you royal treatment and treat you like Kings and Queens. They have awesome rooms that encircle a tidy pool. What more can you get from a hotel? The road that leads to this hotel is not that good with too many bumps on it. However, once you reach this hotel you feel like you have reached heaven. I would definitely go there again if I get a chance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The previous reviewers sum up our feelings about the quality of the hotel but it is noteworthy enough to add our review as well. Everything was just about perfect from the airport pickup, to breakfast, to the quality of the room, to the tuk-tuk rides to town. The staff was eager and attentive and made our stay very comfortable. The location was not an issue and it was nice to be away from the crowds down near pub street. A tuk-tuk was always at the ready for where ever we wanted to go. For a great experience, try the KKO Angkor Offroad bicycle day tour of some of the lesser temples and dirt trails around the temple area. It's great and helps a very worthy cause. If we ever come back to Siem Reap we would certainly stay at Bunwin again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is not the most sophisticated hotel I have ever stayed in, but we just LOVED IT. The rooms are clean, spacious, full of character, and well appointed. The location is perfect, out of town and quiet, but the hotel provided, complementary, tuk tuks make every trip to the markets/nightlife, an adventure.
All of the above would make this a great place to stay, but the real clincher is the young, enthusiastic, energetic, friendly, helpful, "nothing is too much trouble" staff. A complete joy.
In order to make your life REALLY easy, every time you go out on their tuk tuks, they lend you a mobile so you can arrange transport back, or get help to resolve any problems you may meet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here almost a year ago and never wrote a review, but hands down this has been one of my favorite places I have ever stayed in Southeast Asia.
The rooms are massive, all encircling a pool. There are only about ten rooms at the hotel, ensuring top-notch customer service.
This has been the only hotel I have ever been to which gave me a little crappy Nokia phone when I went out for the day. The hotels number was saved, so I could call if I needed to be picked up or any other problems arose. Of course, I could use it call other places too. Such a fabulous idea.
They also had a complimentary airport drop off service and a tuk-tuk that would take you to and from town. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Bravo, bravo.
(I did stay awhile ago, some of this could have changed, but I am sure it is still lovely.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

In our whole South East Asian travels, the Bunwin was hands-down the best place that we stayed. We always felt great coming back to the hotel at the end of the day, and were really sad to leave.

As others have said, it's situated at the end of a long, dusty road, but it's worth the bumpy ride. Hotel rooms are enormous, with a bath, shower and large TV. We did find hot water to be quite limited - not really an issue, unless to people want to shower one after another. Drinking water was replaced daily, and basic toiletries were provided. Because we stayed for four nights, we also received a complimentary khmer massage, which was fantastic.

The complimentary tuk-tuk is fantastic, and makes getting around the city simple and easy. Give the guys a buzz on the old nokia phone, and they'll be there in ten minuets to pick you up.

Breakfast was great, with a bread basket (including pastries), as well as a small selection of fruit and a choice from a long menu, which includes both western and asian options. We ate at the hotel on two nights, and found the food to be very tasty, though some dishes were quite spicy (which is fine, except we weren't warned at all!). The cocktail list is extensive, cheap, and can't be resisted at happy hour.

It's the staff that really make the place though - warm, genuine and friendly, they were always a pleasure to be around. We would be greeted by name on our return to the hotel, which was awesome, and they were always happy to share a laugh or two at the bar. Some of the best people we met on our entire travels worked at this hotel, and we would come back in a heartbeat. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. You HAVE to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunwin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunwin Boutique Hotel

Address: National 06, Phum Banteay Chas | Samaki Market zone, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bunwin Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our architecturally designed boutique hotel is located in a quiet area, near the heart of Siem Reap and just a short drive to the International Airport and the alluring Temples of Angkor, Heritage Park. This exclusive retreat has only 2 suites and 8 deluxe, ultra modern poolside rooms, ensuring quality personal service and traditional Khmer hospitality. The rooms have been designed for stylish simplicity with all the latest technologies to allow a relaxing and rejuvenating stay. All rooms have polished concrete flooring, black and white interior tones with a delicate touch of Cambodian artwork. On your door step is our free form swimming pool and bar area, set in a lush tropical garden for you to enjoy a refreshing drink or maybe massage and other treatments. Our executive chef offers a wide selection of mouth-watering dishes through-out the day to ensure our guests complete comfort. Our dedicated team offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary air-port pick-up and transfer, downtown shuttle, free use of laptop with WIFI connection and local mobile phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bunwin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunwin Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.