We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel of our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siddharta Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Siddharta Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jean Commailles Road, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free tuk-tuk with driver
Ranked #26 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Hotel of our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I can honestly say this was the best hotel of our honeymoon, and we stayed in some very good hotels around SE Asia. Would be very difficult to find even one fault with this establishment.

After a hot and sticky journey from the boat at Siem Reap the staff welcomed us with refreshments and cool towels and we took a rest on couches whilst the Manager booked us in. The room was everything we could have wanted, spacious, well-lit, cool, quiet air conditioning, very big and comfortable bed. Room was decorated with local sculpture and colonial prints. The bathroom was large with a wet room style shower. There was also a small verandah area with every room overlooking the pool which was a nice touch.

The pool area was quiet, tasteful, calming and an ideal place to relax after a hard day around the temples. The pool was saltwater with a waterfall effect at one end, with full bar service available!

We were offered the services of a tuk-tuk driver who for just $15 a day would take you to whichever temples you wanted to see, and at anytime. (Useful to know that many of the temples are swamped by 8am!) Our driver was Tar, a lovely chap, who provided water and cool towels and would wait around as long as we wanted... top man!

The restaurant was top notch, the food was really good, not just for breakfast and with attentive, friendly staff. In fact the staff throughout the hotel were nothing less than a credit to the hotel. Polite, kind, helpful, and spoke fantastic English as well as French it seemed...

Wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again, I may even plan a trip back to Cambodia just because of it...!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms don't have such a great view of the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    141
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
160
252
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Together with my friend, we visited Cambodia this Februar. We visited Phnom Penh and Sihanoukville on the coast and finally spent a week in Siem Reap. Following recommendations I really wanted to stay in Pavillon d'Orient but unfortunately they were booked and suggested we could stay in their sister hotel - Siddharta. It appeared to be an excellent choice after all.

The hotel is located on the west side of the city, half way between Angkor Wat and the downtown. It is quite far from downtown but since the hotel provides tuk tuk with a driver within the rate it is not a problem at all. In fact, you can enjoy more peacefull atmosphere there, while the center of town is much busier and louder. Having tuk tuk available for you is very convenient, especially with a great driver like ours - Socheer, who knew all the temples and places and was there whenever we needed him, always seeing us first in the crowd:-)

The hotel is a traditional one with a lot of open air spaces. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Pool is not very big but nice. What makes this place distinctive however is the service. From the very beginning till the last moment we were taken care of and felt like at home. The information at check in was very comprehensive and all the staf were ready to help and advise on any issues regarding sightseeing, tours, restaurnats throughout our stay. We particularly thank Sona for her attitude and smile! :-)

Finally we managed to stay at Pavillon d'Orient too and it was a great experience as expected -lovely colonial architecture, stylish decor, very profesional and friendly staff, but I sincerly recommend Siddharta. We both already miss the place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a great time staying at Siddharta. Staff is very nice, smiling and very helpful, breakfast had everything we needed to start a full day exploring the temples. Pool is gorgeous with a water fall in sandstone and a lot of beds to seat around. We had a room downstairs with a very cute verandah where we enjoyed cocktails every evening. Restaurant is located rooftop with a very nice view on the countryside. Location of hotel is a bit out of center but this is nothing to worry about as a tuk tuk is included in the room rate.
For sure we will be back...

Room Tip: Room downstairs was a good choice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the family suite. The pros:
Good value for money (aircon rooms, lovely saltwater pool)
Nice breakfasts - good variety
Responded well to requests, even organising one of the maids to babysit in the evening so we could get a couples massage.
Meals at the restaurant were reasonable quality and value, so we ate there 2 nights when returning with worn out kids.

The cons:
Service at the restaurant could have been better. Although they were quick to respond, as we were later to breakfast than most guests, usually we had to ask them for more bowls, top up of coffee, etc.
I also organised a birthday cake for my son, which was delicious, but was supposed to be in the restaurant at 3pm. Wasn't there when we went up at 3:30pm and took about 1/2 hr of phone calls between restaurant and reception before the cake arrived (it was delicious when it did, but trying to put the kids off for 1/2 hr waiting for their afternoon tea ruined the surprise).
Our first night there was a wedding next door - nothing the hotel could do about it and as its a small boutique hotel, couldn't move to a quieter room but it did make sleeping difficult until the noise quitened around 11pm.
We found numerous mosquitos in the room each day.

Room Tip: Family room is great with young kids (2 interconnecting rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

An excellent, awesome value-for-money place to stay! Everything was just right and so thoughtful! Having a reliable, friendly, gentle, safe, knowledgeable tuk-tuk driver was such a luxury. Our children ages 7, 5, and 2 had no problems staying with him as me and my husband visited the 5th temple of the morning. Given how shy my kids are, that's a huge compliment!

The stay at Siddharta itself was great too. Our connecting rooms were simply furnished, but the bedding was crisp and white, and there was turn-down service!!! The kids' room had a King (or Queen, can't remember) size bed AND a single, and plenty of space to roam around. Our bedroom with 1 King was equally spacious. Most rooms seem to have a 'private' sitting area in the corridor overlooking the pool, which is a simple yet thoughtful set-up.

The pool area was not huge but perfectly fine, always with clean/fresh towels on the loungers, and large enough tables to put drinks down on etc. A nice set-up with lots of foliage around too.

I liked the room info-binder in which it plainly and honestly said that the hotel would help with various arrangements, and included suggested itineraries covering temples/villages/arts -- never did I think there was commission etc. involved. Just simply THOUGHTFUL services to make the guest's stay more comfortable and hassle-free.

I would DEFINITELY recommend Siddharta to my friends and family. It is not luxurious, but it fits the bill just right.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We booked directly with Siddharta and I recommend you do the same. A car was waiting our arrival at the airport and took us directly to the hotel. We arrived and a lovely man, Mr. So, was waiting with a printed itinerary and two glasses of juice. We had just three days in Siem Reap, so we wanted to get as much out of the temple experience as possible. The itinerary seemed aggressive, but in the end it was nothing short of perfect. The hotel arranged a tuk tuk for us from 8 am until 10 pm (negotiable hours) and we really lucked out with our driver, Mr. Tu. Mr. Tu was super polite and patient with my husband's excessive photography. He was always on time at the designated location. But back to the hotel, it was clean and comfortable, although we did not get the bed configuration we booked (we didn't complain, we had about a half hour to change and get to Angkor Wat). Our room was on the pool level but it wasn't noisy at all. The pool was gorgeous. Unlike a past commenter, I thought the food was great, and I'm really picky. The homemade yogurts were a real treat each day. The entire staff was really friendly. I think the hotel claims "temple views" from the top floor, but we looked, and I'm not sure that's true. Really and truly just a wonderful experience. It didn't bother us at all that it's a bit out of Siem Reap proper. Pub Street is plenty close!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed five nights here and thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in this oasis of calm. The fact a tuk driver is included if you book direct with the hotel took loads of hassle away and meant we had a driver from morning to night at our behest. The hotel has spacious, clean rooms, a great salt water pool and a decent restaurant and spa. Occasionally the service was a little rough around the edges (e.g. we were a group of 5 and every single morning we had to ask them to push two tables together so we could sit together at breakfast. This was always done with a smile, but you might think they would get the message! There were several little things like this, but all ultimately quite trivial). Overall we were delighted with the staff, our room and our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siddharta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siddharta Boutique Hotel

Address: Jean Commailles Road, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Siddharta Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the midway between the center of Siem Reap and the Angkor temples, in a quiet and green area, the Siddhartha hotel is warmly welcoming you in an intimate and refined setting. This brand new charming structure, twenty-eight rooms only, while simplicity and elegance meet the colonial and secular Cambodian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Siddharta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siddharta Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.