We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient Angkor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ancient Angkor Hotel to your Saves list
Ancient Angkor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   N0167, Grp 03, Stueng Thmey | Sway Dang Khum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
cebu city
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Our agent reserved our accommodation from Dec. 20-22, 25. We arrived at the hotel past 11:00 in the evening and we wanted to rest after the long trip but their keycard wont function so my husband went down to ask help but several keycards were tested but still our room cant be opened so the staff decided to transfer us to another room but we encountered another problem...no water in the rest room so we called the receptionist regarding the problem but he only called back and told us that there was really no water at that time according to maintenance.. we just smiled despite how tired we are... i woke up so early to use the rest room and good that water was already available. The rest room is not clean.. there's a smell and supplies are not complete... no shampoo provided. The set up of the room is not good... not enough outlets to charge our gadgets and table so small and small television set also. However, wifi connection is good and breakfast is good. Not all staff are willing to help. The location is near to the night market but the road is dark and there are several Muslims living in this area but they are good

Room Tip: Choose a room that has windows and let a hotel staff check the key card if it function.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
13
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

This is a very well equipped hotel in Siem Reap.
The staff are great, friendly and helpful, but remember, you are in Cambodia, they will say yes, even if the answer is no. Be wise, be patient and enjoy the journey. The street outside is lively and offers small shops, cheap laundry and interesting sites, after dark, do not travel alone. The hotel has nice food, good rooms, good pool and a nice rooftop bar. Some rooms are internal, ie no windows.

Room Tip: Internal rooms with no windows, make sure you know before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The hotel is optimally located 5 mins from night market in a quite area with no noise.
Staff is very kind, really willing to support you with your needs and logistics too!

Some rooms have no window.
We got one of these, with a very noisy fan for air recycling, after the first night we asked for a room change and they suddenly did.


Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in August for 3 days. After a warm welcome, I was escorted to my room. Staff was very friendly, always smiling and helpful (as most of the Cambodian people. I love this folk :D) Breakfast was good, so as the lovely company of the waiting staff. Room was air-conditioned, clean and spacious. It's also quite cheap.

Although I spent most of my time visiting the amazing ancient city of Angkor Wat, I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent four nights at this excellent hotel. The staff was wonderful. The front desk staff friendly and helpful. The young women serving us at breakfast and at the pool restaurant were so sweet and polite. The hotel staff helped us arrange an excellent guide named Sayon and two friendly, helpful tuk tuk drivers who drove for us throughout our stay. We really enjoyed Angkor Wat and area with Sayon...knowledgeable, friendly and personable. The rooms were comfortable and breakfast was delicious. We discovered a great little restaurant around the corner called the Ladybug. Best curry ever. We were within a quick walk to both day and night markets. This hotel was great value for the money. We would stay the again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sorell, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Travelling as an ozzie family of 4 with two daughters aged 9 and 11, this hotel was perfect for our 4 night stay. Picked up with a complimentary tuk tuk at the airport with charming driver, dropped to the door of the hotel where snacks, drinks and cool wash clothes were waiting for us. Location brilliant. We had 2 adjoining rooms on the third floor on the outside of the building so we had windows and A/C. The inner rooms have windows looking onto the hallway. They would probably be very dark. We liked the pool and the roof top bar, especially when they dress up the daybeds for us to lay back and view the sunset sipping on cocktails. Awesome view. Lovely, attentive and friendly staff. They even got our breckie ready for us at 5am the morning we went to watch the sun rise over Angkor Wat. On checkout we were presented with beautiful 'hotel embossed' scarfs which was such a beautiful surprise and treat for the kids. They wore them all the way home on the plane! The entire time we felt like we were the only people in the entire hotel. We have booked again to stay twelve months later as it was the best value for money of our entire Cambodian/Vietnam trip. Thanks Ancient Angkor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high and on the side of the building. There was a shop and house set back next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located near pub street and night market. Staff friendly and helpful. There are sufficient food at breakfast even though we are late. the room is clean and towels are change everyday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIMSATH, General Manager at Ancient Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear iw260590,

I'm glad you spent good time at Ancient Angkor Hotel and hope you will come to visit us again.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient Angkor Hotel

Address: N0167, Grp 03, Stueng Thmey | Sway Dang Khum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient Angkor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both, leisure and business travellers, Ancient Angkor Hotel features 50 elegantly designed Standard, Superior and Deluxe rooms that are suitable for singles, couples or even for Groups. All rooms are well appointed and they also feature complimentary bottled water, air-conditioning, refrigerator, 80 channel satellite plasma TV, free Wi-Fi internet, hot water and same day laundry service for your convenience. Ancient Angkor Hotel caters to corporate travellers by providing a Business Centre that is available round the clock! Our indoor Swimming Pool, rooftop Sky Bar with a Billiard Table will surely add 'value for money' that you are looking for. Hotels' Restaurant offers you daily Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a variety of Khmer, Asian and Western cuisine prepared by our own Chef's. In preparation of food we use fresh and organic vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ancient Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Angkor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.