We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of my trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Temple Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Temple Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Temple Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
VIP package
Ranked #11 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Best hotel of my trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This hotel stood out as one of the best experiences of my trip. The level of service is amazing. There is a welcome snack, cold tea when you return, a free massage included with the room. Just incredible.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,955
    271
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
352
1,180
158
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

It seems as if all the reviews for this hotel are perfect, and there is a reason why. This hotel is perfect. The pool is beautiful, the restaurant food is delicious and inexpensive, and the staff could not be more welcoming.

When I arrived at the room, there were flower petals laid out in pattens on the bed and in the bathroom. The rooms are very nicely appointed. We ate at the restaurant a few times and loved each meal. Breakfast was included and was served fast and delicious. Internet wi-fi is included, and there are several computers for you to use if you don't have your own. A free massage was also included with our stay!

The hotel offers a Cambodian cooking class for only $10 and you get to keep and eat all the food. This was a hotel highlight! We needed a guide for a day trip into Angkor Wat and they provided one at a reasonable rate.

The staff was so friendly and helpful at all times. Aside from being helpful when asked, they would come around to the pool or lounge areas and ask if we needed anything. We really fell in love with the staff.

I was there on a guys trip, but we are all planning to bring our wives back for an extended visit in the future!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Everything here was above expectations. The rooms were nicely appointed, the breakfast and food was simple, yet sophisticated, the decor is modern while preserving a local feel, the location is perfect. But above all, everyone in the staff goes out of there way to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. This place deserves all the wonderful reviews it has received since its opening. If you require the luxurious amenities of large modern resorts, stay at the Raffles, otherwise this is the place to stay in Siem Reap!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

After staying at the Golden Temple for 4 nights, we can understand why it has a 100% approval rating and such positive reviews from others who have stayed there. We have stayed in some other hotels in Asia that go the "extra mile", but the Golden Temple exceeded our expectations. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and always take the time to talk to you to provide you with advice and suggestions.

You are made to feel welcome from the time you check in when they bring you a cold towel, a glass of fruit juice, and snacks while they explain their services and before they take you to your room. And the little extras continue throughout your stay. When we got back from a hot day at the temples and were ready for the pool, they were right there with peanuts, tea, and in one case Cambodian Fish soup for lunch. This may have been provided because our room hadn't been made up yet, but it was nice nevertheless. On another day, the staff packed us a lunch as they knew we would be away for most of the day. There are so many extra touches - flowered decorations on the bed and in the sink, a free massage at their on-site spa for each of us, videos in the room (one of which was an HBO special on Angkor Wat), four public internet terminals etc.

We had one of the rooms that faces the hostel next door. We were a bit concerned as the common television room in the hostel was directly across from our room and we thought it could be loud into the night. However each night it was turned off relatively early and our room was quiet through the night. The room was a reasonable size, was nicely decorated and was very clean.

When we left, we had to be at the airport quite early, so they arranged a car for us which was also at no charge.

I would recommend getting the hotel to make your travel arrangements. The tuk-tuk driver they arranged for us was very good and was less expensive than the one I had lined up on my own for the previous day. We used their driver again on our third day, when we went to Banteay Srei and then to the floating village. Unlike other hotels we understand they don't take commissions for travel arrangements that they make for you.

There is a box for tips at the hotel, but it is in a quite unobtrusive place at the back of the check-in desk and would be easily missed. I'm glad I noticed it, as this is one place I really wanted to leave something because the staff were so exceptional.

Special Thanks to Richard and Vichear for all your help.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

From the moment we arrived at this place we were astounded by the staff, the food, the services and of course the hotel itself. Never have I stayed at such nice hotel and felt that everything had been thought of and nothing was beyond the staff capabilities.
On arrival Bopha, the kindest, happiest and most attentive staff member you could hope for, sat us down, gave us cold towels, peanuts and ice teas as we signed for our room and recovered from our bus journey in the beautifully decorated lobby with it's modern colours but traditional and themed furnishings. The room was large and had a great view of the pool, it was perfectly clean every day and I was an no point worried about things going missing and if I was, there was a safe in the room anyway.
The restaurant food was great, breakfast choices ample and service was efficient and provided by kind and courteous staff. The lobby was full of ideas for things to do and places to visit. Our Tuk Tuk driver Rota,provided by the hotel, was incredible, spoke great English and was at our beck and call for our entire stay at very reasonable prices. I would recommend him in an instant to anyone on Siem Reap. Everything could be booked through the hotel - tours, onward travel, restaurant reservations and more and the prices were very competitive. We enquired about a taxi to Sihanoukville and no sooner had we asked than a board (of which there are many showing prices for in-house massage, x-country bus prices, breakfast options etc etc) had been produced and a price quoted. We asked a local American girl whether it was reasonable and she said that even her Cambodian boyfriend would struggle to find anything cheaper. It was reassuring to know that despite the hotels classier image, prices were not hiked to fit the hotels status.
There really is not a bad thing to be said about this hotel. After extensive travel in SE Asia, this was by far one of the most memorable places and hotels I have been to and due to no individual factor, but more due to each and every factor being perfectly provided.
Do not hesitate to stay here, it was be the icing on your holiday's cake.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We were greeted with cold tea and rice in banana leaves. The service is great with attention to detail. The staff are wonderful! We had a complimentary massage. It is centrally located to the old market and easy walking distance Upon leaving they even had parting gifts for us. The hotel is new only having opened November of 2010 and they certainly want to make your staff a pleasurable one. Excellent breakfast and inexpensive spa prices, We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We arrived to a great welcome: cold drink, nibbles and a non pushy briefing of the facilities, area and what we might do in Siem Reap. The staff are friendly and tried hard to make our stay a pleasant one: the one problem we had with the room was quickly resolved; the tuk tuk driver they organised to take us around the temples was a lovely guy; complimentary teas and nibbles at the pool after a day round the temples - all made for a very relaxing stay. And in walking distance to the night time action.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Temple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Temple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.