We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Temple Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Temple Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Temple Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Khmer meal set & BBQ
Ranked #7 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have travelled extensively for over 30 years all over the world. I can categorically say this hotel provided the best service we have ever experienced. All the staff are incredibly attentive and focused on ensuring you are looked after. Great location easy walking to pub street and markets. Great tours at cheap prices organised through from desk. For the Money you could not possibly do better. Thx Akin and all staff for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Room Tip: Any on the pool side are good, all levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,766
    245
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
320
1,065
138
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is a TripAdvisor darling, and it was those glowing reviews that led me here. I stayed here two nights in early July 2014 for some very determined, compressed ruins-seeing.

There are plenty of soulless hotels in Siem Reap, and a few on the luxurious end. But the Golden Temple is a terrific alternative — it’s small and charming and affordable. Despite a few minor quibbles, I’d stay here again. The rooms have soft, warm colors and the staff is peppy to the point where I kept looking for their empty cans of Red Bull.

Check-in is actually the highlight. You’re greeted with a wooden tray of spiced nuts, sticky rice and unspeakably sweet mango. You also get a little silver goblet of ice-cold tea. Oh, and then the freebie coupons come out. They hand you coupons for free massages, coupons for free to-go breakfasts, coupons for a free dinner. Did I mention that the bikes are free to rent? And at the end they give you a free scarf and T-shirt?

Well, it’s almost like I’ve taken a bribe and shouldn’t say anything bad about the place. But because this is a review, not an advertisement, I’ll mention a few things. First, the staff oddly dissuades travelers from seeing Angkor by bike — which is nonsense, because the distance isn’t far and for my money that’s the most honest way to explore. Second, breakfast isn’t amazing. The coffee is lukewarm and weak. And lastly, the mosquitos are a nuisance. I know, I know, it’s Southeast Asia. But this is an open-air hotel, which makes it a particular issue.

That’s it. Otherwise, amazing place. A couple hotels in Siem Reap are more stately, but I can’t imagine any of them having a warmer personality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The staff in the hotel is very friendly and extremely helpful! The rooms are not so spacious but are comfortable. The food in the restaurant is not overcharged and is delicious.
About the hotel location: it is close to the Old Market, a walking distance from a lot of restaurants.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stay at this hotel for 5 hotels.

As per review by all TA travellers, Hotel was great in term of all-round services except for one thing.

The hotel is next door to a KTV- Dreamers and at night, you still can hear the music beats if your rooms are facing the pool view.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the pool unless you don't mind the music beats from the KTV next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Luscious surroundings, lovely place to relax after a packed day of sightseeing in the sun.
Staff are helpful and tuk tuk driver was ours for the duration. Little stroll to the main pub street across the bridge so that's handy for dinner and night shopping entertainment. Great little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of days - what a nice place it is!
Warm welcome to all guests - the stuff really make you feel like the most special guests. Very clean rooms with all necessary facilities. Breakfast and pool areas are beautiful, as everything else in the hotel. Location is very convenient - it's only 5 min walk from the markets and the Pub street.
Will definitely stay here again any time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I planned and booked our Cambodia trip on a whim, so needed to book accommodation quickly. The Golden Temple had many great TA reviews, as did many other mid-range hotels - but for some reason I was drawn to the Golden Temple. A great decision.

As per all the other reviews, it really was a fantastic experience in every way. I don't think the photos on the website do it justice -it's such a gorgeous little boutique hotel, and perfectly located in the centre of Siem Reap.

The staff were all exceptional and I can't remember the names of the entire crew, however I would like to shout out to Aliza, Alin, Alice, Annie, LeiLei and Justin.

During our return journey to Siem Reap airport, we encountered many enormous, soulless hotels on the main road. If that is what you are into... then the Golden Temple won't be for you. However, if you are after amazing personalised service, and a gorgeously decked out hotel that feels like an extension of your own home, I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: The second floor room overlooking the pool had a fantastic private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Temple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Temple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.