We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our honeymoon ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Temple Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Temple Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Temple Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Khmer meal set & BBQ
Ranked #8 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our honeymoon ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Personalized service doesn't get any better. The staff all gets to know you by name and does everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They put rose pedals on our bed with little towel swans. The room was a good size and very clean. The spa is excellent with extremely affordable prices. They will package up a breakfast to-go for those visiting Angkor Wat at sunrise. I can't say enough good things.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,772
    245
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
321
1,066
139
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

WE stayed for 4 nights in this hotel in Siem Reap. The hotel was small, not like some of the bigger flash name hotels, but the service and position was excellent. In fact I don't think you could stay in a nicer [place. From the moment we came in the staff was so welcoming,. Each time we spoke to them they made us feel we were the only guests in the hotel and they were serving us only.
The room wasn't the biggest I have stayed in, but it was comfortable and had everything we could need.
We were given towels and drinks when we arrived and also each time we returned from a tour, or even asked a question. The staff gave us nuts and drinks as we sat around the pool.
Thje deal was great we received breakfast, a free meal and frees 1 hour massage.. There were other freebies as well but we just dint need them.
It was well positioned, being only 5 minutes walk from the night market and "Pub Street", and close to all restaurants.
They picked us from the airport and dropped us off there as well in a yuk-yuk, which was an adventure in itself.

Room Tip: Try to organise a pool view room. I'm sure the others are nice but I think they look over a back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I was very skeptical about going to a boutique resort in Cambodia, but WOW, we loved!! We stayed in a superior room on the third floor and found the room and bathroom spacious enough. It was also quiet, other than some noise from the karaoke bar next door one evening, but it wasn't too bad due to our location.

Prices for hotel services are equal or better than outside. Service is by far the best I've ever had, and everyone makes an effort to remember your name and greet you with a smile.

We'll never stay anywhere else in siem reap and recommend Golden temple to 2 German guys we meet during our next stage of holiday in Vietnam. They were also so impressed with the service during booking, that they also booked a few nights.

Cannot recommend highly enough!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Münchenbuchsee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We (2 adults and 2 kidds) stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. Just perfect. Wonderful room, great food, nice pool and very friendly and helpfull staff. This is just a place we can recommend and we are for shure comming back. The only thing: If you want a quieter room ask the hotel. We had a Superior room just to the street which was noisy...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 11th to 15th February in this remarkable small hotel with unsurprised committment to service. I am not sure what I can write which has not already been positively covered by other guests. The location near to pub street, markets and some pretty good restaurants made it an ideal location to explore the market area on foot. The hotel arranged for a tour guide who was excellent and a tuk tuk driver for a very good rate. My wife and I travel quite a bit and the guide was on par with some of the best we have used over the years except that his passion for his country and pride in his burgeoning industry was self evident.

The crown jewel for this smaller hotel is the staff who as others have reported are exceptional;from the front desk staff who always remember your name, the ever present smiles, the great massage ladies, the housekeepers and managers. We have never met a staff so dedicated to making a stay so nice.

My wife on short notice asked for a little help in preparing a surprise for my birthday. She told me the next thing she knew,our room was decorated wonderfully, a cake arranged and inscribed, and plans to surprise me with a staff celebration. Not knowing what they had planned I was not the easiest person to pin down to surprise, but they kept modifying there plans until they could make a meaningful presentation of the cake.

All in all while we were quite pleased with the hotel, our room was quirky but worked well. The only negative was a nightclub close by was loud and the heavy beat went on until late at night.

We were on the 3rd floor facing the pool which may have focused the noise somewhat but other than transdermal quibble we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Great value, nice accommodations, solid food and exceptional service. While we have been in nicer hotels, we have never been treated better or more warmly. Truly a cambodian gem.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Without a doubt, the staff at the Golden Temple make the hotel the special place that it is. From the minute one enters the hotel, the staff is there to provide the best possible service that they can. Cold towels, fruits and nuts, cold drinks or tea always available, often brought unasked. The staff knows your name from the time you check in and greet you as old friends throughout your stay. The front desk staff, the housekeeping staff, the drivers and others can’t do enough to make sure your stay is the best.

We stayed in a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool, opting for the double room with pool view. The room is spacious, the khmer-themed room is elegant and comfortable; bathroom is attractive and the shower is a separate, enclosed unit, with ample hot and cold water. Well worth whatever extra it costs to have the pool-facing view – it was as peaceful as one could want.

We decided to use one of the hotel’s tuk-tuk drivers, Suwan, for our 3 days of touring, and could not have been happier. Suwan was as warm and engaging as the rest of the staff, always with a smile and always there for us, keeping his eyes out for us whenever we were done with touring and providing cold water throughout the day. We initially opted for a guide on the first day, but did not find the guide especially helpful, even holding us back at times, so made the decision to use the tuk-tuk driver only, and were very happy with that decision.

I booked directly with the hotel, receiving the VIP service – free pickup and return to the airport; free dinner; and free massage. We opted for the BBQ, although truthfully, we did not care that much for this particular meal – but on another night, my husband had steak and I ate chicken with lemongrass, and we both were very happy with the meal. Breakfast was plentiful – a large buffet and a chef for eggs.

Leaving the hotel was difficult because the personal connection with the staff really made it feel like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wistow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This has to be one the most genuine "nice" hotels we have ever visited. It was modern, clean and while not a "plate glass, marble and potted palms" type of place ( all the better for that), it had all the facilities one could hope for. We can't help but agree with other reviewers who praise the staff unreservedly. They are genuinely friendly and so helpful it is almost embarrassing. If you stay here you are unlikely to be disappointed. The complimentary evening meal and massage were the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Some overlook the pool and gardens. Opposite rooms face adjacent building but are well shaded and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Temple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Temple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.