We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely haven in Siem Reap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Temple Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Temple Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Temple Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Khmer meal set & BBQ
Ranked #7 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“lovely haven in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in early Jan 2013. We travelled with our 4 young children and stayed 2 nights. We had two really lovely rooms which opened out directly by the pool. The rooms were perfect for us, the dcor was lovely and the rooms are reasonable size. The staff could not have been more helpful, everyone was very accommodating and really looked after us. We even had one of the lovely pool ladies baby sit two of our younger children when we went out with the older ones to the market. The food in the restaurant was very good as was the Khmer massage.

Room Tip: One opening out onto the pool, if you have kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,766
    245
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
320
1,065
138
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

一进入酒店,就能感受到非常具有特色且注重细节的装饰,酒店的服务非常好,从checkin开始,就不需自己操心什么了,另附赠massage welcome lemon tea 早晨什么的 前台订车也很方便 看日出可早晨打包

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Received a very warm welcome at the hotel and nothing was too much trouble. Mr. Pon and his team are amazing with very high standards.

We had a couple of issues with the room, nothing major but Mr. Pon went to great lengths to ensure everything fixed and that we were happy. As the GM he introduced himself on checkin and remembered our names so greeted us by name each time (not something I could ever do!).

Tours were organised, rooms very spacious, breakfast good.

My only criticism is that there are too many staff around the pool area which can be a bit intrusive but also means good service when you want it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I loved this hotel, it felt very authentic as it was very bright, colourful in design. The staff were super helpful. We booked the 2 night package directly with them which included a pick up from the airport in a tuk-tuk, packed lunch for going to the temple, a 1 hour massage in their spa and a three course dinner in the hotel restaurant.

The room was lovely, we booked a pool side deluxe on the first floor, it was spacious with snacks provided. Balcony overlooking the pool area was also really nice. The bathroom was a bit small with no bath.

The complimentary dinner we had was lovely, very diverse (I don't eat red meat) and plentiful, the other guests were a nice mix of travellers. Breakfast is a la carte so be sure to give yourself enough time to order (30-45 mins).

Be prepared for the massage if you get it, it will be like no other! We choose the full body over the leg massage and were led into a room with 3 beds and put on giant pj's and the masseuse who was tiny jumped up on the bed and gave my muscles the most aggressive work out ever but I did feel fantastic afterwards!! It's definitely an experience worth trying!!

We had dinner in a restaurant 5 mins walk away, there was quite a few to choose from.

The hotel also organsied a fabulous tour guide and tuk tuk to bring up to Angkor Wat and also to organise a taxi when we went to Phnom Penh.

Staff were super friendly and always willing to go the extra mile.

The pool area was really great, felt very relaxing and is very well designed as teh hotel is located just off a busy road but you totally forget that as soon as you walk in due to all the plants and water features.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask not to be put on the pool as the waterfall starts at 7am. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

first came to us in siem reap with tuk tuk shuttle service from the hotel which is, and when we got to the hotel we got a very nice, we were treated like kings, we just sat down and were all already taken care of, very friendly and fun , for the first time came to reap siem I encourage you to stay at the golden temple hotel because you will really not alone golden temple family will be ready to help and you like to feel at home. very memorable one for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ordino, Andorra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a fabulous small so so friendly hotel were nothing was too much the staff superb the location for us perfect please support this lovely hotel even when you leave too early there is a packed breakfast,a free massage at the end of a long day was a rare treat

Room Tip: Do not use the five star sterile hotels this is a little bit of heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I went here as part of our delayed honeymoon. We only stayed here for two nights, which is truly unfortunate. Our travels to Southeast Asia was mainly to Thailand, but thought why not add in a quick side trip to Angkor Wat since it's only an hour away from Bangkok (by air). Terrible mistake because this little bustling town really does have a lot to offer.

Golden Temple was our best experience during our two weeks in Southeast Asia. During check-in, they patiently explained all our options to see Angkor Wat during our short trip. Although, we knew our itinerary and booked our main tour with a local NGO company, the staff was super kind in organizing our tuk tuk ride there the next morning. In addition, they were super amendable to our desire to book a "Sunrise" trip the morning of our departure, which was at 10am. It's amazing they were able to get us everywhere right on time.

Besides just scheduling, they provided some real awesome services. First was the "welcome" food and drink plate after we settled into our room in the first hour. It was so needed since our travel that day was chaotic. Second was the complimentary dinner meal after a long bike tour ride. Amazing! The food was delicious. However, I tasted "real" amok during our NGO tour during lunch and the two "same" dish tasted nothing alike. I preferred the amok during our day tour. After the dinner, we enjoyed our complimentary Thai massage! It was not the best massage I had, but still refreshing after a long day. I mean it's complimentary (even though it only would cost a few dollars in reality)!

The only oddity of the place I say is the bathroom. It's a real strange bathroom/shower layout that can be a bit annoying. I've traveled all over and understand each culture has a different way of laying out their bathroom, but since this place is catering to the "Westerners" I think the bathroom could of have been planned out better. It was clean and got me clean so really not that much to complain about. Just a personal pet peeve maybe.

Overall, I would stay here again. The service, decor, food and amenities were par none for the nightly charge.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are best. We booked one that was facing another building, but it still had a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Temple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Temple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.