We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Siem Reap.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Temple Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Temple Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Temple Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Khmer meal set & BBQ
Ranked #7 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Three Rivers, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Siem Reap.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

This hotel was superb. Excellent and helpful staff - very sincere and friendly! The facility was beautifully decorated in Khmer style. It was a wonderful reprieve from the busy town of Siem Reap. Plus this was one of the cleanest hotels we've ever stayed in. The staff was continually cleaning the beautiful pool and garden areas. The rooms were spotless, extremely comfortable, and very quiet. The free massage - WOW! The banana pancakes for breakfast were delicious. The drivers provided by the hotel were very safe and took us on wonderful tours of the city and the temples. Book early because the word is out on this hotel, and it was full the entire time we were there!

Room Tip: Upper floors, poolside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,770
    245
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
320
1,066
139
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

If you're looking for a faceless 5 star resort experience then this hotel isn't for you. If you want to a more intimate, boutique hotel with genuinely friendly staff for which nothing is too much trouble, then this is the place for you.

The hotel is only 5 months old and the staff are eager to impress guests and gain a good reputation for the hotel. The accommodation and general hotel layout are excellent, with open plan reception (accessed via stepping stones over a fish-filled pond). The pool is a welcome relief from the hot weather, with attentive pool-side service, sun loungers and day beds.

The reception staff can organise anything for you - anything. They've most likely thought of it before you have and the prices are all openly displayed and extremely competitive - in fact, if I was to return I wouldn't bother trying to barter a better price with street vendors as the hotel prices are the best we found and far less hassle.

On top of all this they also provide complimentary welcome drinks/snacks on arrival whilst you check in, plus a complimentary massage in the in-house treatment rooms. The hotel also offers cooking classes in the open-air kitchen which over-looks the pool for $10 per person, and the instructor is fantastic. The food in the hotel is a fraction more expensive then some of the resturants in town (a 5 minute stroll / 1 minute tuk-tuk away) but every bit as delicious.

I really can't fault this hotel. I'm even typing this review using the complimentary internet access in the foyer which also overlooks the pool.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Richard & his staff welcomed us with great hospitality and it continued throughout our stay. This would have to be the best hotel we have stayed at on this trip and the free massage and the $10 cooking class can't be missed. This hotel has an excellent Kahmer decor, the rooms have excellent facilities and the pool has a great appearence and great to swin in. I would rate this hotel exceptional and Richard and his excellent staff have made our stay ever so much enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Golden Temple Hotel at the end of February 2011 and we cannot say enough good things about this place!!! We booked this hotel because of the #2 rating on here (and now i's #1!) and all of the fabulous reviews it has gotten. I have to say that our stay definitely lived up to all the hype! First off, the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful and has a lot of charm and character throughout. The rooms are spacious and have all the creature comforts that one could want and need; air con, heated water, free wifi, refridgerator, flat screen tvs, cable tv (w lots of English channels), DVD player, history of Angkor DVD, etc. The swimming pool is a great little extra and is wonderful to cool off in after a long day of trekking around the temples. The restaurant is also great, offering up a variety of delicious and inexpensive fare as well as free daily breakfast. There's a spa on site and it's really good and very inexpensive (cheaper than most places around Pub Street). An hour foot massage is only USD$4 or $5! And yes, you get a complimentary one hour massage here upon check in (you book it through reception). We both opted for the foot massage and it was heavenly!!! The property itself is located in a very central location and is only a 5 minute walk to the markets and Pub Street. However the best part about our stay at the Golden Temple was the staff! Everyone was super friendly, attentive, and very helpful. They treat you like gold and are always eager to please. Service with a smile!

If you are flying into Siem Reap, the hotel offers free airport pick up (by tuk tuk). The hotel also offers a full "menu" of temple tours by tuk tuk or by car. If you tour the temples by tuk tuk, the drivers (that the hotel books) will provide complimentary cold bottled water throughout the day. It's a very nice little extra! Also interesting to know, the hotel's prices for the tours are some of the lowest in Siem Reap (average tuk tuk price was $8/day). They really cannot be beat! And the drivers they use are NOT allowed to take commission from any restaurants or shops. You will only go where you want to go! We had the same tuk tuk driver for a couple of days and he was absolutely fantastic! We were kind of at a loss for where to start with the temples, so he helped us put together a wonderful 3 day itinerary. He also took us (upon request) to some delicious (and inexpensive) restaurants for lunch. And he even lent us a "Cambodia Lonely Planet" guide book to use during our stay. He was wonderful!
We definitely plan on returning to Siem Reap and will definitely book the Golden Temple Hotel again!

One last thing to add: the people of Cambodia are all so gracious, friendly, and very welcoming! We made sure to tip everyone who gave us good service; tuk tuk drivers, waiters, masseuses, and the hotel staff. Wages in Cambodia are low, so everyone was very appreciative. If you can, a little tip goes a long way!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Our trip took us to 4 different countries and close to a dozen hotels. I am not usually a fussy person when it comes to hotels and facilities but I am picky when it comes down to service. The Golden Temple Hotel certainly topped the list, being the hotel that provided the friendliest and best service. It is also conviniently located within walking distance to the Old Market and Siem Reap River.

I am glad that we stayed at this hotel as in the course of our stay, we became good friends with most of the friendly staff. They were warm, accomodating and incredibly helpful with our requirements.

Our room was big, clean and comforable with the in-house restaurant offering delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The bathroom was also of good size. There were computers that can be accessed at the lobby with free wifi available in our room. The staff can also arrange cooking classes at the hotel, book transport and arrange laundry services.

We had a great time in Siem Reap and staying at the Golden Temple Hotel contributed largely to our most enjoyable and unforgettable experience.

To Richard, Leakhena, Chann Thol and all the staff at Golden Temple Hotel, I shall certainly be staying at the hotel again whenever I am in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmore, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Golden Temple Hotel is by far the best service we have ever received from a hotel. It started with the quick and curtious emails, then on arrival at the airport we were greeted by the friendliest Tuk Tuk driver, we were welcomed at the hotel with smiles, drinks & snacks and our room was as beautiful as the website pictures.
Richard in reception came to feel like our own personal concierge - he was always happy to see us, he also arranged our temple guide and tuk tuk for us, we were so busy that we had to cancel our free massage so he insisted that we have dinner in the resturant free of charge. We even walked in one afternoon covered in mud and dust from a day in a dirt buggy and Richard took our muddy shoes and had them cleaned and while we went up to shower he had refreshing juice and a fruit platter sent to our room.
We strongly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Siem Reap. Can't wait to go back and stay again, looooooooooved it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel is out of this world. The staff are absolutely fantastic, the pool is bliss after a hot tiring day round the temples and the free massage is just a perfect extra touch.
The staff send you out with a packed lunch if required while you go round the temples and also organised a car to take us onwards to phnom penh and again sent us away with a lunch bag to keep us going during the journey. While sitting round the pool one afternoon some spring rolls and drinks appeared and this was after we had already had apple juice and fruit when we got back to the hotel having been out at the temples all morning. None of this food was added to our bill when we left, which is just amazing.
One note our room was on the 3rd floor which was fine for us but as the hotel has no lift the stars may be difficult for some make sure you ask for a ground floor room if you cannot climb stairs.
This hotel was the best we stayed in during our month away and no where near as expensive as some. Don't bother with the more pricey hotels in the area, the service and value for money here is second to none. I just cannot rate this hotel highly enough.
Many thanks to Richard and the rest of the staff for making this stay exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Hotel

Address: Makara Road, or Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Temple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Temple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.