We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor National Museum

Angkor National Museum
968 Vithei Charles de Gaulle Blvd | Khrum 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
855 63 966 601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 78 Attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This comprehensive museum is well worth a visit. Probably it's best to go there before touring the temples, in order to gain background knowledge which will enhance your temple viewing. However, visiting after the temples is also educational.
Escape the afternoon heat in this air-conditioned new building.
At $12.00 entry fee, it seems to be fully priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    218
    68
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a modern and beautiful museum. Visiting the six rooms, each dedicated to a certain topic, will take you minimum two hours. Some interesting videos are displayed. The entrance fee is 12 USD.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Visit here before you go out to the temples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited here before our day at the temples This place really explains what you'll be seeing at the temples too so is well worththe visit. Take the time to watch the short movies and you'll go along understanding a lot more.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“world-class museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We decided to go here before our trip to Angkor Wat, and I highly recommend to do the same. It tells about everything that you will see in Angkor Wat. It has even short films for better understanding of the historical site. They do not allow cameras. The only negative thing i noticed here is that the comfort rooms are not well-maintained. Considering the high-priced entrance fee, they should provide enough napkins and soap.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The "pre-temple tour" must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This has come highly recommended as a "pre-temple tour" activity when you visit SiemReap for obvious reasons. And I do agree to that. Touring all the temples can be a bit overwhelming and one can easily get "temple fatigued" but knowing a brief history, some terminologies, and who-did-what can somehow ease one's ignorance and make it actually pleasurable. As a first timer in SiemReap, I was advised by my host on day 1 to take a walking tour of the place and head to the Angkor National Museum as my final destination. My host offered me a cheaper ticket of US$11.50 as compared to the $12 entrance fee on the museum. I think most hostels do that.
The museum is well planned and the tour quite easy to follow. It comprises of 8 galleries with different themes dedicated to specific temples, religion, civilization, kings, etc. It took me about 2 hours to see the entire collection of artifacts and watch the AVPs. Of course this would depend on how thorough you plan to see it- scrutinize or scan. I did a bit of both.
All the galleries are air-conditioned which is a relief from the otherwise warm weather. A small coffee shop sits at the corner of the lobby and the standard souvenir shop sells novelty items which, understandably, is more pricey than the ones you find in the market.
All in all, I highly recommend this place for first time travelers to SiemReap. Do this before taking the temple tours and you will gain more knowledge of the rich culture and civilization of the place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor National Museum also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.