We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very good museum, Worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor National Museum

Angkor National Museum
968 Vithei Charles de Gaulle Blvd | Khrum 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
855 63 966 601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 174 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a very good museum, Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a very good museum. It is focused only on the history of Angkor and its artifacts so you won't find random irrelevant exhibits to waste your time. This would be a good stating point before you visit the temples as it is very educational, but like every one else, I hit the temples first And this was last on my list.


That said, I do think the price of 12 per person to be high and I think that the no photos policy is really stupid. Museums normally restrict photos based on copyright, But none of this is copy written. All of this is easily photographed at the temples, but not allowed in the building for the same items. You must also leave purses, Backpacks and bags at the desk in open unlocked bins. While we didn't have any theft, It does make you worry the hole time you are looking at the exhibits if you will have anything stolen. Lastly, This museum gift shop make all others look like bargains. Extremely high prices on average gift shop items. Lots of items for over 2000 us dollars.

Like it said, I am glad I went, But a few simple policy changes would make this a great museum.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    341
    109
    28
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good miseum for a regional town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Visited the museum today, is a very good display of the hostory of cambodia, i would recommend visiting the museum before Angkor Wat, if your timetable permits. This is not the british national museum, nor the Smithsoneon, it covers the history of cambodia and in particular the cultural and religious aspects. It is not very big so a couple of hours should see you through

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Pretty average museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

For an internationally important museum dedicated to a UNESCO site I was a bit disappointed. I agree the entrance fee was a bit high, however if there was more to see and you were allowed to take photographs it would have been worth it. When I saw displays that interested me or my daughter we really wanted to take pictures but were always left unsure if it's allowed or not.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great displays of Khmer heritage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent a couple of hours here on the afternoon of our arrival in Siem reap and before heading out to see the temples. It gave us a good understanding of the Khmer heritage and obviously a great way to preserve some of the Angkor Wat artifacts. Put aside a couple of hours to do the place justice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great exhibition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This exhibition is excellent. Well planned, good division into themes and a fair price.

I do however not recommend it for families with children below the age of 12-13, because there isn't much entertainment in the facility.
In addition to the exhibition itself, there's educational videos in several languages spread along the trail.

For the pair, single traveller or familiy with older children.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor National Museum also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor National Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.