We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse to your Saves list
Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Old Market Area near Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 382 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Gray, Maine
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Outstanding Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I ate here twice during a very short stay recently. The first night I had carne asada tacos that were totally off the charts good. Second night I had carne asada burrito which, although not off the charts good, was very nice. Cheap and good margaritas and a Long Island Ice Tea that will do it to you. Great service. Worth giving it a go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
30
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

9 days in south east Asia and time for a dietary change - great Mexican food at a better price - chimichanga burrito plus entree and drinks $15.75c - good vibe lots of patrons and of course free wifi - recommended

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
789 reviews 789 reviews
263 hotel reviews
Reviews in 262 cities Reviews in 262 cities
1,902 helpful votes 1,902 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is the the third and best Mexican restaurant we have visited on a trip stretching from KL to Siem Reep. I guess we saved the best for last.

From $1.00 tacos, to $1.50 frozen margarita's and nachos for $3.50, you really can't go wrong. The food is excellent, the service is fast and friendly and the decor upbeat.

All in all, make sure you eat here at least once during your time in Siem Reep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We moved to this hotel after being dissapointed with our previous one. We paid $20 per night which I was happy with considering the quality of room, location and the fact there's a great Mexican restaurant downstairs. The computer in the lobby also has the fastest Internet I have come across in SE Asia which was great for uploading my photos to facebook. A highly recommended hotel in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Viva Restaurant was our default go-to hangout place in Siem Reap whenever we weren't sure what we wanted to do, see or eat.

The Mexican food was pretty good. We had a lot of nachos ($3) and margaritas ($2) and they were also advertising tacos for $1, although we didn't have any. We did, however, have quite a few tostadas, quesadillas, burritos and chimichangas ($4-$6 each) and quite frankly, we couldn't find fault with anything we were served. The pitchers of ice-cold beer were awesomely delicious too on hot, muggy Siem Reap afternoons.

No air-conditioning in the restaurant, but we'd always opt for a table on the sidewalk/verandah, no matter the time of the day, and always found it nice and cool while we enjoyed our meals & drinks as we people watched.

On average, a gut-busting meal for two here (incl. drinks) will cost about USD20. Portions are generous.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The worst place I have been entire our Holidays ...
Do not go there , do not eat there!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siem reap
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The location is lovely - next to the Old market
Really amazing food very nice service I recommend it

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse

Address: Old Market Area near Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 382 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is located in the center of Siem Reap, on the corner of the old market (Psar Chas) and only 50 meters from the Pup Street. Our Guesthouse is owned and managed by Cambodian and Western People, together with an nice and friendly staff. We have tastefully, modern decorated rooms. This spacious room comes with a wide range of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Restaurant & Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.