We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful oasis in central Siem Reap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alliance Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alliance Villa to your Saves list
Alliance Villa
055, Bopha Leak Kloun | Steung Thmey, Siem Reap 93 171, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 356 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis in central Siem Reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay in Alliance Villa. We stayed in the cheapest room and it was lovely with good air con, flat screen tv and safe. The guesthouse is very small (7 rooms) so it was peaceful and quiet all the time. Furthermore we were never bothered about where we were going each day (at many guesthouses in Siem Reap, tuk tuk drivers are the ones that serve you breakfast etc and you feel guilty if you do not use their services). That said, the main guy at reception also seemed to double as a tuk tuk driver/tour guide and he was very friendly and helpful, so a good bet if you do need someone. Breakfast was adequate and served with a smile in their pretty eating area.

The only downside (if to be really fussy) was there was a lot more mosquitoes present at this hotel than others I have stayed at in Siem Reap - but with air con, deet and bug spray it wasn't a problem. The location while perfect during the day (4 minutes walk to centre of town, less to the night market) was a bit annoying at night - the hotel is down a dark, unlit alley with many dogs at night - we did not feel safe walking back at night and because we were on a very tight budget it was frustrating to be SO close and have to fork out for a tuk tuk (which is only $2 max mind you!). I would highly recommend Alliance Villa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
11
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We loved it here. The hotel is well located just a few minutes from the night market and restaurant area, yet it's on a very quiet street. The staff are amazing, we used them for all of our activities in town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

M husband and I stayed at Alliance Villa for 5 nights in September. We had an amazing time and spent 90% of our trip with Kim Sai. He was incredibly helpful, kind, informative and fun to be around. Kim drive us each day on his tuk tuk to see the temples and drove us to far flung places we would not have found otherwise. The hotel was clean. beautiful, peaceful and very centrally located. The breakfast was DELICIOUS. I am still thinking about it. If you want to have a lovely and relaxing stay in Siem Reap that is a 5 minute walk to town, stay at Alliance Villa!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

If you can get a room here, do. The prices are very affordable ($20-$30 in July) for the quality. If you are staying for many days ask if they offer discounts. The rooms are big, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated (visit the website to see pictures, they acurately represent the place). The staff was always available to answer questions and help in whatever way they could. Our tuk tuk drivers had a difficult time finding the property even though it is centrally located. It is down a dirt road which is a bit like an alley. If you book in advance ask them to send a map with thier location which you can print before arrival or spend the time talking to your driver to make sure they know where they are going. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Staying here was a real treat. Comfortable and relaxing. Alliance villa is in a great spot: close to everything (night market, pub street) but tucked away so it's quiet. Room was very nice and spacious. Food was excellent. Employees are very nice and helpful. Kimsai, the hotel's manager is always on-call and does everything requested: will take you where you want to go in town, tuk-tuk to angkor wat, cooks, etc... very friendly. Highly recommended for solo, couple, or family travelers. Book directly through their website for the best deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed here for five days at the end of March. As it was a very quiet period, I was given a 20% discount on the room if I stayed five days or more. So, $30 a night became $24. For that I had a huge a/c room with a mini-safe, satellite TV, fridge and a beautiful large balcony. Breakfast was included as well. Bargain! Very quiet at night, so you can be assured of a good night's sleep too. Kim-Sai was very nice and helpful, especially when my safe wouldn't open a few times due to a problem with the battery. He always had a smile on his face as well, which was nice, maybe something I should learn from. The hotel was less than 5 minutes walk from the night market, through the back streets. However, learn the route to the hotel along the main road for when you return late at night by Tuk-Tuk as most of the drivers don't know where the "Aliens" hotel is.
If I came to Siem Reap again, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

What a charming place to stay, staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. It is idealy locatated close enough to all the amneties of the centre but quiet enough to be able to relax. The hotel gardens were lovely and we loved sitting and having a pot of tea after a hard day going around the temples.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alliance Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alliance Villa

Address: 055, Bopha Leak Kloun | Steung Thmey, Siem Reap 93 171, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 356 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in green tree, plants, flowers, peaceful and quiet part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alliance Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alliance Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.