We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch, recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neth Socheata Hotel

Save Saved
You added Neth Socheata Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neth Socheata Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   (Pub street area) # 284, 2 Thnou Street | directly opposite the Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 323 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top notch, recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We immediately got the impression that this is a very well-managed hotel. It is super clean, staff is friendly and things just work. On top of that the location is fantastic - right in the middle of town, but still on a quiet very nice alley. This is also one of few hotels I've stayed in with a quite reasonably priced minibar, which is nice (usually it just feels like they want to rip you off and punish you for being thirsty...)

When we left our bus was leaving before they started serving breakfast, but they prepared a package for us instead, with omelets, bread and fruit. Really saved our morning!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    35
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
32
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battleford, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

Super clean. Quiet. Great management and staff. Restaurant less than 10 steps out the front door. One block from the market. Two blocks and across a bridge to the night market. Two and one half blocks to The Alley where there are a number of interesting restaurants.

Stayed four nights in early January 2012 and returned later in the month for two more.

I highly recommend Neth Socheata.

I took advantage of the hotel's tuk tuk driver (Sophal) and found him more than "just satisfactory". I gave him a list of the places I wanted to see and he supplemented the list and recommended a three day itinerary which worked very well.

Sophal had cautionary advice re: my planned visit to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agrate Brianza, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Very well located in the center of Siem Reap, close to the main market, with shops, pubs, ATM points, pharmacy and a mall within 200 meters. New and very clean rooms with aircon, minibar, sat. TV, free wifi etc. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Firstly - the location is unbeatable. Right in the heart of the action, but also very quiet!
The service here is brilliant. The staff are very attentive, well spoken and really helpful. The place is pretty much brand new and always spotless. There is also an in house tuk-tuk driver, Phally who did a great Ankor Wat tour, and helped me get to my volunteering assignment when it was flooded.
I stayed in one of the single rooms - had a balcony, brand new flat screen telly (w/ 80 channels!), mini bar, lovely bathroom and comfy bed, which was the best value I had in 3 months around Asia. Siem Reap is a lovely place and this hotel is a gem.

Room Tip: For solo travellers - get the single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My first stay in the hotel was on March 2011, it was a 8-days trip. I was impressed by the friendly and helpful staff. I went in a big group and had booked 7 rooms, the staff welcomed us cordially with a banner hung at the entrance, whatever we requested for the trip, the staff tried their best to fulfill all our needs, making our trip a memorable one. Thanks to the owner and all staff of Neth Socheata.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Good location, clean rooms. disappointing breakfast (avoid the restaurant!), friendly staff (but very $$$-focused). its all about the money, all hidden behind a fake impression of friendliness. i have been working for an NGO in battambang for 5 years and have a good command of the Khmer language (which the guest house staff didn't know). While having breakfast I could hear them arguing about money, criticising guests. If you need something, you will be approached with a fake friendliness. Its all about getting as much $$$ from the guest as possible. What you get in return is secondary.
Learn to understand Khmer and you will see how fake those smiles can be.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

best location ever, great quality for a fair price. Super friendly staff. They have their own tuk tuks, 15$ a day with the most friendly drivers in the world. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neth Socheata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neth Socheata Hotel

Address: (Pub street area) # 284, 2 Thnou Street | directly opposite the Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Neth Socheata Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Neth Socheata Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neth Socheata Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neth Socheata Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.