We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Siem Reap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Close to Pub 'Street and night life but locatedin a very quiet lane | Phum Wat Damnak, Khum Sala Komreuk, Krom 10, Siem Reap, Siem Reap 888, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 364 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When my husband said he had booked "The Golden Banana" for New Years Eve in Siem Reap I must admit to thinking "what the...." Driving along the dusty potholed road did nothing to allay my fears.. But then turned the corner and "Wow"! Paradise was awaiting. Beautiful hotel! We had a separate little villa, covered in tropical flowers, aircon, lovely relaxing setting. Ice cold swimming pool and the most brilliant cocktails. I feel in love with the hotel, but more so the owners and the staff! They could not do enough for us and when asked if we could extend our stay...no problem they re-arranged their bookings so we didn't need to change rooms. The Golden Banana is conveniently situated, easy to walk into town. We hired a guide for 7 days and saw the Ankor Wat and its many aspects. Tip: time your visit for the full moon and watch the Moon rise over the Ankor Wat rather than watch the sunset - much more spectacular !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    115
    30
    14
    8
See reviews for
30
130
65
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sorry, we spent 3 days here, which is definitely too little about the city, the lake and the temple Tonlesap extensively to visit. But what we liked auserordentlich, is extremely courteous service and friendliness of all the hotel staff. Especially the driver who picked us up from the airport and drove later, much not only for its friendliness but also by his knowledge. Surely he has speculating on a tip, but he has also totally deserved. We definitely like to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great value accommodation. Our room (41) basic And a bit dark but clean and comfortable. Many other rooms to chose from though. Ten points for the restaurant / pool area, the atmospheric position in the lane way and the delightful and attentive staff. Walking distance from town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - could have stayed a month! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Golden Banana Superior for 4 nights. Before I arrived I emailed them to see if they could arrange a driver and guide for a 3 day tour of Angkor Wat. They responded to my email within minutes, suggested an itinerary and made all the arrangements. I was very happy with their suggestions, the guide and the price of the tour.

The rooms are beautiful, very nicely decorated. Comfortable beds, good air con, good wifi. The hot water in the shower takes a little while to get going but if you leave it running for a few minutes it gets hot.

Very closer to pub street. Helpful reception staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Big rooms with old style decoration. 10 minutes away from Bar Street, or 5 if you take a tuk tuk. In spite of being a little bit overpriced it is a really nice place tucked away in Central Siam Reap. Two swimming pools in the premises and basic breakfast included in the room rate. We stayed 5 nights and we were happy with our choice. Do no eat in the local eateries nearby as they charge you double than the real price

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My mom and I stayed at the Golden Banana during our 5 days in Siem Reap and had a great experience there. Right away the staff were extremely friendly and welcomed us with a delicious cold lemon ice tea drink, accommodated our request for early check-in and gave us tips and advice about things to do in Siem Reap. They hooked us up with a tuk-tuk driver to the temples ($13USD for the day - about $17USD less than our taxi driver from the airport offered). The food was good and my pancakes were even decorated with a friendly smiley face made of bananas. The location of the hotel for us was perfect - 5-7 minute walk to pub street and the market, but still away from the noise and hustle bustle of the streets. The rooms are very nice with balcony, mini fridge and an (old) TV set. Bathroom was very clean and large, has both hot and cold water. Pools were also very clean and cool as much of the resort is shaded from the hot sun.
The only thing about this hotel is that it is built in a traditional pagoda style, so the stairs that lead to some of the rooms are very large and steep, which is not always easy for children or especially older individuals (staff is extremely accommodating, so requesting a ground level room would be wise for such individuals).

I would definitely stay here again if in Siem Reap again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We stayed in August 2014 for 11 nights. This was a chill out time from our stress full lives. Staff were helpful and willing Our stay was made very pleasant. Breakfast although complimentary was meagre and I would suggest a short tuk tuk ride into town for the most important meal
My friends at home were amused that we stayed at the Golden Banana but ate breakfast at the Blue Pumpkin

Room Tip: Early morning chickens are a problem and some stair are very steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel

Address: Close to Pub 'Street and night life but locatedin a very quiet lane | Phum Wat Damnak, Khum Sala Komreuk, Krom 10, Siem Reap, Siem Reap 888, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private,free-standing, pagoda-like, authentically Khmer stylish ENSUITE rooms with A/C in room, some room has high ceiling fan, hot water, garden & courtyard. Laundry service, friendly & capable staff. TV, no telephone, fridge or telephone inside the room for B&B rooms. Breakfast is included in the room rate. Swimming Pool for Superior Hotel and B&B guests. Swimming pool opens to all guests staying at Golden Banana. Gay friendly, owned & operated, but friendly and open to all guests from all walks of life.This hotel is centrally located in the old colonial area of Siem Reap Down Town,built in the tranquil secluded Khmer Village, few minutes stroll to the Old Market, shops, Pub Street, restaurants & nightlife. Only 10 minutes drive to the world-famous temple of Angkor Wat, & Siem Reap International Airport & Tonle Sap Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Banana Bed & Breakfast & Superior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.