We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for mediocre food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Palm

Sugar Palm
Taphul St, Siem Reap 000, Cambodia
012 818 143
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 477 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very expensive for mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The place has a very nice atmosphere. The staff is nice. The food is very expensive in Siem Reap terms and the food is mediocre at best. There are many much better restaurants with amazing and much cheaper food in Siem Reap.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    248
    93
    32
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“I Really Enjoyed My Lunch Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The food was great - spring rolls, ginger chicken, soup, rice, and a vegetable dish called morning glory. Loved every bite! A soda will set you back $1.50 here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We ate here our first night in Siem real and it was all downhill from there. And yet the subsequent meals were all pretty good, just none topped the Sugar Palm. As everyone says, try the Amok. The crispy noodles are also very very good. Fine unobtrusive service, and a very nice room.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great food, great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Food is great both in taste and servings size. Very traditional too, according to our local friend. The place isn't airconditioned but is airy since it's a wooden house. Ambiance was great too. Make sure you make a reservation before going.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were advised to attend this establishment by friends but a further recommendation from the hotel, we were staying at during our time in Siem Reap.

It was a interesting place and loved the fact that the restaurant was situated on the first floor and open planned balcony.

Browsing through the menu we noted our favourite champagne - Billie-Cart Salmon (do try this if you've yet to experience it and reasonably priced too).
The food was pretty good too and not overly spicy. Its a great restaurant to go to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Palm also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sugar Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.