We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Archaeological Park

Angkor Archaeological Park
Treng Village , Slor Kram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 103 attractions in Siem Reap
Type: National Parks, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to Angkor Wat, one of the largest religious complexes in the world, and a stunning array of 9th to 13th century temples built by the kings of the Khmer Empire. The Angkor Archaeological Park is breathtaking, and still the principal draw for every visitor to Siem Reap.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Iconic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Angkor Wat is iconic and marvelous. Recommend a visit to the National Museum on Charles De Gaulle Drive in Siem Reap first, as it explains the history and relevance of the structure and puts all the sites into some perspective. Only down side is the number of tourists!! But while I found this site beautiful and intriguing, the best site I think is Beng Melea, about a 2 hour drive east of Siem Reap. This is an evocative site, a ruin unreconstructed, and thought to be the temple that Angkor Wat was based on. Several friends we took around the sites agreed it was the most interesting. Combine it with a visit to Koh Ker, the countryside is beautiful, people beautiful, there is a toilet at Koh Ker and food available. Our guide took us to a restaurant in a little village near Beng Melea and we had a great lunch. Well worth a look.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    120
    21
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“No Brainer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Of course you have come to Siem Reap to see Angkor Wat and it lives up to the excitment. Just bring lots of water and patience for dealing with the heat and people selling you things everywhere you turn.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beyond what I imagined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Now I know why so many people flock to Angkor Wat. Even after reading and seeing hundreds of photos of the area I still could not imagine the space and the history you can witness by visiting this site. Definitely worth the effort to get there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Huge and impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I decided to spend 3 days/4 night in Siem Reap in order to visit all the main temples within Angkor Archaeological Park and it was really worth it! Apart from Angor Wat (which is great) I didn't know what to expect for and I've been very surprised by the amazing fascinating atmosphere that you can feel there. Although there are so many temples and at the end of the 3rd day you can start thinking "one more temple", all temples are very different. All of them are in good shape, the maintenance is perfect and in general the staff preserve and takes care of the area in a perfect way. Also the less famous temples are very fascinating, with vegetation growing on the ruins (but being kept under control) adding charm to the place. I only recommend to avoid the elephant ride and the sunset: too crowded and frankly speaking not much to see, not worth the long wait, the effort to climb the hill/temple and the crowd.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth the explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Exploring the park can be done in many ways (big route, small route, combine etc) provided you can get a driver to bring you around and agree on a price prior to the trip. Start at sunrise as it is still cool and if you're lucky, you'll catch a lovely show of lights. There are many temples to explore. They may seem similar but on closer look, each carries their own specialty. It's amazing how "ancient" civilization are able to built such structures. I enjoy going around in a tuktuk but if you're fit, a bicycle is also enjoyable during the cooler months

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor Archaeological Park also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Archaeological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Archaeological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Angkor Archaeological Park to your Saves list