We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Pearl Hotel

Save Saved
You added Angkor Pearl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Angkor Pearl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tapoul Village, Svay dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 216 hotels in Siem Reap
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. The rooms are large and clean, the beds are extremely comfortable with nice linens, and the bathrooms are modern. The common areas are pretty with lots of polished wood. The breakfast buffet was also quite nice, with good cooked/fresh options and unlimited coffee and tea. Our tuk tuk driver, Mr. Thet (Ted) was also great -- he was very accommodating without being pushy. The front desk is very helpful.

The only real negative was mosquitoes, which could be found in both the room and the lobby/dining area. I think this is a problem in Cambodia in general, though, and not just in this hotel. Also, the road in front of the hotel is in poor repair; several tuk tuk drivers from downtown (Pub Street) wanted to charge us an extra dollar because the road is allegedly hard on the vehicles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    566
    281
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
100
353
104
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malanda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Fantastic value for money, made us feel welcome. Would reccomend. Breakfast was fine. Close to the action in Siem Reap. Would pay well over $160 for a similar room in Australia.
Had in room Massages twice exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Angkor Pearl Hotel Siem Reap.

On arrival at Siem Reap airport, we were met by a tuk tuk emblazoned with “Angkor Pearl hotel” and the name of the driver Mr Korn.
After loading our luggage and us we set out on a leisurely journey to downtown Siem Reap. The narrow street leading to the hotel featured gigantic potholes and busy traffic.

We were greeted with a cold drink whilst our booking was leisurely conducted.

The staff all smiling broadly and very polite eventually conducted us to our room and showed us its features.

The room was large and airy although the window opened on to a passage between our hotel and the next. After a bit of confusion about passwords, a free WiFi connection was established.
At the bar we savoured a few beers, but when we asked for wine there was some confusion whether white wine could be sold by the glass, and the type of wine available. Eventually we bought a bottle for dinner. The meal was good , freshly cooked whilst we waited.

Breakfast the next morning had a reasonable selection, but the bay marie was not kept hot so the food was room temperature. Fruit juice was orange cordial, even though there was a good variety of fresh fruit available .
We used the tuk tuk for the first 2 days to visit the Angkor national park and associated temples and monuments. On the first day the hotel organised a guide to escort around Angkor Wat and Angkor Thom. In the process we probably walked between 15 and 18 km. At the end the guide asked for only $20.{ In Cambodia licensed guides must have completed a university course in history and foreign languages to qualify to be a guide.} Average time for training to be a guide is 5 years.

When I asked for the tourist guide of Siem Reap, the receptionist looked in the drawer and said “we are all out unlucky for you”, but did not offer to find one. I think this is a Cambodian custom that nothing is THAT important that it can’t wait until tomorrow.

For anyone staying in Siem Reap , a meal and traditional dance show is held at The Kulen 2 restaurant. For $12 a head you get all you can eat buffet meal that must feature at least 100 dishes and a Traditional Dance show lasting an hour. For $17 extra we bought a bottle of red wine.

The staff members at the hotel have not been sufficiently trained in presentation and service of meals and beverages, but are invariably polite and always smiling, despite probably not having fully understood a request.

In general I would recommend the hotel for people wanting to get close to the Khmer way of life. It is inexpensive, clean and adequate. We would stay there again.

Although the hotel is a little away from the centre of town $2 to $5 will get you anywhere in Siem Reap by tuk tuk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was slightly sceptical of what $25 per night would get, but this hotel is very good, at least for the price. Rooms are not luxurious but are modern, large and quite adequate, with aircon and good showers. The breakfast choice is more limited than in some other places but still good (fruit, cereals, toast, cooked food etc). There is free wifi but it did not seem to have enough bandwidth and there was also little coverage in the room. We used the tuk-tuk provided by the hotel to tour Angkor Wat and it worked fine and was very reasonably priced ($15 per day) but I would suggest ensuring you agree the route, and where you will stop for lunch, beforehand - our driver was not very flexible.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Recently stopped at Angkor Pearl, with my Wife, and another couple. We each had a suite for $40 night, spacious rooms, great staff, and in short, a great choice of hotel, with no complaints. Local laundry right opposite hotel, with an 8hr service. Worth a try, and gets my recommendation for your choice of hotel in Siem Reap...

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Simply, the Angkor Pearl is one of the best hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. Sure if I wanted to spend $500 a night I could find a more opulent hotel, but I would be wasting my money. From the second we arrived the staff were so welcoming. What I loved the most was how personal the staff was. Don't get me wrong, they were not intrusive, but if you engaged with them they would be open to you. If you want to be left alone then they'd leave you alone. In addition, they really went the distance helping us make the most out of our stay in Siem Reap - where to visit, where to eat, directions. Finally, upon checking out the staff presented me with a little surprise. Book a stay and find out. Without a doubt I'd return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked early in september and after we were asking confirmation each month even 3 days before our arrival in late december. When we were at airport we did not find tuk tuk service as promised and waited for 40-50 minutes then we called hotel ( they picked up phone after 5th call) and told us there will be a pick up in 20 minutes. When I asked the reason recepcion told me that it is high season and were busy. Ok so after one hour waiting pick up came . When we arrived hotel I saw lots of tuk tuk service in wait. I asked again why they missed pick up. They have told me that person in charge were resigned. Dear Hotel staff please learn to say sorry or apologize !!!. We booked Apsara Room (suite)hand they took us 4th floor.After making us wait 1 hour at airport !!! Refrain from that room, it is not that gorgeous as on pictures the difference you will get some 2-3 m2 space.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angkor Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Pearl Hotel

Address: Tapoul Village, Svay dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 216 hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angkor Pearl Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Team New Services New facilities New ways to Make you smile Oct. 2011. New and improved Angkor Pearl ensuring the best value in Cambodian Hotels. At Angkor Pearl Hotel, we pride ourselves on quality of service on a genuinely high level and an emphasis on catering to our guest’s every need with courtesy and warmth. Angkor Pearl Hotel is Cambodian owned, operated, and managed by Cambodian Americans since February of 2010. The story behind the pearl dates back years when Cambodia gained independence from France and King Sihanouk called the Capitol "The Pearl of Asia." Hence, we call ourselves The Pearl of Siem Reap. The Angkor Pearl Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Siem Reap. A brisk 10 minute walk lead you to the center market where you can shop for food, clothes, souvenirs, and many more. Getting to the Temples is just as easy. A scenic 15 minute drive will take you back in time to the Khmer civilization where you will discover all of Angkor’s natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Angkor Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Pearl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.