We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Piano

The Red Piano
341 Street 8 | 50m North West from Old Market, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
+855 63 963 240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 475 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cambodian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed a dinner upstairs overlooking Pub St. We had khmer dishes which were wonderful, and the freindly staff helped look after our 2 year old so we could relax and have some local beers.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    338
    147
    46
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Avoid this place... And if you do, count your change very carefully!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went last night to the Red Piano for a decent enough pizza... But the problems started when it came time to pay the bill.

When the change arrived from our $26 bill, I immediately noticed upon counting the change that it was $10 short. We told the waitress, who became angry, shouted that we were wrong and actually went so far as to demand that we turn out our pockets to prove that we hadn't stolen it!

I asked to see the manager, who also laid the blame with us, never once admitting that it could have been their fault. Not once did he offer to accept responsibility and just return the missing money, but instead acted as though there was nothing he could do about it.

Nothing against young backpacker types, but we are middle aged, middle class tourists who don't in any way fit the profile of scam artists! Also as small business owners ourselves, we know one of the very first rules of thumb when handling this type of situation is to give the customer the benefit of the doubt and just 'suck it up' as a loss, in order to maintain good faith in the business.

I found the staff and the manager's behaviour to be outrageous and am absolutely sure that we were cheated purposely, or that the money was miscounted or lost, resulting in the missing 10 bucks.

The money is not really the issue, as it's a nominal amount, but the way it was handled was disgusting and humiliating.

DO NOT EAT HERE.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great food/value - service not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Menu is vast and food is really good and the prices are very reasonable. The service is the one area that needs a lot of work. I understand it's a high volume outlet but no one seemed to have a section and as a result there were great delays with ordering getting bill etc. As the saying goes "too many cooks....."

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This restaurant located at a corner of Pubstreet has a few daring exquisite Belgian beers on its menu. The food is better than in the other Pubstreet restaurants and the service is quick. Recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“every 10th sold is free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

After shopping on night market we decided to eat in Red Piano. We were very lucky as other guests just left the table right next to the entrance as we went in so we could sit some 2 metres from the street and watching as people passing by in the bustling nightlife of Pub Street. My partner ate a beef with Kampot pepper. I ordered a fish with lime sauce one of Red Piano favourites. Both were delicious for a reasonable price. I also had a Tomb Raider cocktail. I was a bit surprised when the waitress was ringing a bell loudly while serving my cockail. The reason was that every 10th sold of this cocktail is free and I was the lucky one. We heard the bell ringing two more times during our stay which makes me think that this is a very popular cocktail. Personally I loved it. It was very refreshing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Piano also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Red Piano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Piano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.