We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely centre!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre

Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre
Sanday Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
978 527852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 103 attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lovely centre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Worth a stop, especially if you are on your way to or from the landline museum. The owners are lovely and will provide you with a free tour. The butterfly species are fascinating, and we really enjoyed a tour of the caterpillar room from one of the site's owners - we learned so much! Make sure you stop by this room as guests are allowed to open the containers and wood butterfly huts. There is more than just butterflies here - learn about interesting twig bugs (that are three years old) and leaf bugs too. We really enjoyed this pitstop!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    44
    11
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Loved the butterfly park, a beautiful garden with so many gorgeous butterflies and the guides were excellent. A very nice diversion after temples and landmines!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Worthy Of Your Support.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a fun stop off on the way back from Banteay Srei and features a small butterfly garden, enclosed in high netting so the butterflies can fly freely. Established and funded by a conservation minded Scotsman and the focus is on breeding the butterflies and research. The guide was interesting and knowledgeable and a great place for children to learn about these creatures up close. The tour takes about twenty minutes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After so many temples, the kids need a break. We came here after the rain and the butterflies were out and about. Our guides was very nice and informative. He took us through the room to see caterpillars, cages of puppa, and most fun of all, the stick insect. It was about 15" long and he put it on my son's shirt front. It then proceeded to climb up his chest and shirt collar. We had some of the best photos of him laughing while this was going on.

People commented that the entrance fee of $4 is a lot of money in Cambodia when people earn $1/day. That is true in a way. However, I think it is good to support what the people are doing here. They have provided a well maintained, well organised and worthy place for us tourists, who can afford this price, to visit.

Definitely worth a stop back from visiting temple at Banteay Srey temple.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Excellent in the right season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I give the full customer service marks to this place for being so honest with us, that a visit at lunchtime in hottest driest time of the year would mean we would only see the Monarch butterfly, and nothing else. It gave us the opportunity of leaving without paying and being disappointed. From others I have heard that in the wetter, cooler months it is an outstanding display of colour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre to your Saves list