We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good people and cheap place!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Town Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Green Town Guest House to your Saves list
Green Town Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   St 21 #0182,Wat Bo, Salakamrouek Commune, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 370 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Australia
1 review
“Good people and cheap place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed single fan in Green Town G.H for 4 nights last week and I paid $7 per night the room was cleaned with 2 windows, TV, WiFi and hot shower.The staff are extremely friendly and they hired a Tuk Tuk driver for my Angkor Wat trip. Also, I told the manager that I will be going to Phnom Penh and they also help me arranged the trip. Overall, I would recommend this guest house to everyone who is looking for an affordable place to stay in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    11
    6
    17
See reviews for
2
12
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place didn't blow us away, But it was very well priced for what it was. It's a family run business. A sweet family, perhaps the most enthusiastic but, they have been working since the crack of dawn till late at night. There was a younger guy working there who was always smiling.
The rooms were ok, clean enough. The bathroom could have used a clean but, it didn't smell so was good enough for us.
The rooms are big enough the single beds are huge which is good.
Good breakfast, the fresh bread is amazing!
It also has a nice little court yard.
It's cheap to hire good push bikes here and the washing is well priced and done the same day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Money was stolen from my bag inside my locked room. I stayed 3 nights and did not have housekeeping, so somebody really went that room to check if there is any valuables left..

Staff is rude and never smiled. Room was not clean, there was gecko crap all over the toilet.

Cannot recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN TOWN Gues... C, Manager at Green Town Guest House, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Mr Koni,

We regret your alleged loss of $1000, which you say was stolen from the your room during your 3 days stay here, however like all the guesthouses & hotels, we are not responsible for loss of guests property left in rooms.
We have sign in all our rooms a testing to this fact, it's my understanding you would leave the guesthouse late in the day and return in the early hours the following morning, i must stress, our cleaning staff only service rooms in the mornings or upon your request.

therefore they had no chance to service the room, As to your complaint of gecko droppings in the toilet area, you would have only had to ask our staff & it would have been cleaned up, you didn't do so !! we have never had any complaints of theft from our rooms in over 10 years, you are the first, Our staff are not allowed to enter rooms unless asked to do so, in this respect they are very trustworthy, we are very sorry about this situation, and stress you must take care of your valuables in a more responsible manner in the future.

Our best regards,
Terang (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Arrived very early in the morning (5:30), really tired and just wanted to sleep..
Tuktuk driver obviously had a deal with the hotel, as this was his idea of "the nicest one for your price range (5-10 dollar for fan room)...hmm, i doubt that very much. So we agreed to stay for 8 dollars. First off, they put us in a dirty room, which wasnt cleaned from the person before...nice! We slept for a few hours then they switched us to a "clean" room. The reception staff were grumpy, rude, never cracked a smile..and to be honest, couldnt give a dam. Internet is free, but horribly slow.
We paid for our night on arrival (5:30 in the morning) And then when checking out the next morning, they insisted we DIDNT pay, and asked us to cough up another $8...Fat chance! Nice try, but wasnt having any of it. Was glad to leave..!

I would recommend when getting to SiemReap, have a guesthouse in mind, it seems all tuktuks will take u here to get a cut from the overpriced rooms.

On the plus side..the food was nice, and reasonably priced...Sadly, thats not enough for me to stay here.

I wouldnt recommend to anyone :(( And im an easy going person!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

we arrived into S.R at about 11:30pm after a 15 hour bus journey from Laos. We hadn't expected to get in so late - the journey took much longer than was stated - we were therefore extremely tired and so after being bombarded with offers from tuk tuks at the bus station (who hugely overcharged us at $5 for 2 people - should have been no more than $2) we took one on the premise we were being taken to an area with lots of guesthouses so we could look at a few and decide. We had a budget of about $5 which the tuk tuk driver said was no problem.

We arrived here after passing a huge amount of guesthouses along the main road - this one wad tucked away not at all near other guesthouses / eateries. We had a quick look around and just took the place at $8 just to get to bed!

On seeing the place in the morning it was definitely not what I was wanting and being over budget was really annoying. The rooms smelt of mould from the bathrooms - I knew we could find so much better for less. We later met some friends who were staying in a really lovely place for just $5.

That day we read of this tuk tuk scam in the lonely planet where they make a cut from the guesthouse once you stay - they take you here because they know you're arriving in the middle of the night, it's dark, you're tired etc and will be so exhausted you wont want to look anywhere else.

This was so true of what happened to us - so stay here if you have researched the place and do like the look of it but if you are taking the bus from Laos make sure you have some names of places for the drivers to take or else you will end up here!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

OWe stayed on the cheap. Room only $4 with fan & share bathroom. Staff is very friendly, free internet & WiFi. Nice food. Good location. Don't expect anything fancy for 4$ but the room is big and clean. Toilet & room in cheaper part of guesthouse are old and worn out, but fairly clean. Bring mosquito net. Other rooms 8$ have own bathroom. We loved the courtyard. Siem Reap is a cool city. If visiting angkor wat (duh why else be here) make sure to visit Bantay Srei & the landmine museum on the way there. Very interesting.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

This place is fantastic if you're travelling on your own on a tight budget - it is a very sociable place, great location and a good price. The bar on site is awesome and the food really is very good, plus the staff are helpful.
My criticisms would be that the room didn't look (or smell!) very clean, the laundry service on site is a waste of time (very slow, had things missing and other things dirtier than they went in) and don't bother booking bus tickets through here - we paid $15 for a bus to Bangkok that was an hour late (not funny at 1:30am), shabby and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Town Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Town Guest House

Address: St 21 #0182,Wat Bo, Salakamrouek Commune, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Town Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Green Town Guesthouse Cambodian family owned Backpacker accommodation this is clean budget guesthouse with a very relaxed atmosphere. All international guests welcome, we have a bar and restaurant downstairs with good cheap food Cambodia, Asian and Western dishes. We are located in popular Wat Bo Village area only 8 minutes walk from the center of Siem Reap and Central market, Old market & Pub Street. Rooms are large with high ceiling, open windows, 70 channel cable TV, Air conditioning or ceiling Fan and private bathroom with hot and cold shower. 24 hours check-in security guard on premises.Daily housekeeping service, all toilet paper, soap, towels and linen Free WiFi in all rooms & in public areas, plus free computers in reception. Our room rate is not included with free breakfast.Bicycles for rent 1$ a day Free City & Temple map.Free pick up service please provide us with your arrival details:Flight: Flight number & arrival time.Bus: Bus company’s name, departure place & time leaving.Boat: Departure place & arrival time.We supply a complete range of all tours, tickets, plus local transport at very competitive prices.Common area with pool table, big screen TV live movie or music everyday; Free DVD player and free DVD rentals (250+ regularly updated collection)Chill out balcony overlooking the Siem Reap city, perfect for lounging and unwinding.Hammock for relaxing after long day from temple.We hope you’ll enjoy your stay at Green Town Guesthouse and will come back again We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Green Town Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Town Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.