We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect out of the routine and tourist path and for the good cause!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osmose - Day Tours

Osmose - Day Tours
Sala Kamroeuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
+855 12 832 812
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 527 Activities in Siem Reap
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Osmose Eco-tours and Community Based Eco-tours of the Prek Toal Bird Sanctuary, flooded forest and traditional floating villages of the Tonle Sap Lake, a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. Your experience contributes directly to support the livelihoods and well-being of the floating community members, and includes trips to the bird sanctuary, traditional paddle boat tours of the floating village and the flooded forest by day and night, Community Based Home Stays, Community Restaurant, Community Based Activities, a visit to the Saray Tonle Cooperative, the Water Hyacinth Handicraft Workshop and much, much more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect out of the routine and tourist path and for the good cause!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Awesome experience on the Tonle Sap Lake. maybe a little pricy but goes to a NGO and to the local community. great time on the lake, with the people in the village and perfect guide with good english!
Great to take 2 days out of the hassle of Siem Reap and temple visit!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    14
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“must do if you have the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we did the tour which included the bird santuary and floating villages. there were close to 10 people who signed up, so tour was $85 per person. was a little hesitant since our visit was in the beginning of the bird viewing season (mid nov), but saw plenty of them. we were able to climb up to a viewing platform in a tree, then transfer to smaller row boats to get a closer look at the nesting birds. the floating village tour included lunch, looking at an crocodile farm, weaving facillity among other things. be prepared for a long day. we were picked up from our hotel at 5:50am, and were told we would return at 3pm. didnt get back till 6pm, but it was a beautiful and relaxing day on a boat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
244 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
835 helpful votes 835 helpful votes
“Cruise spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A great break from the 3 days of Angkor Wat, smooth and peacful sailing amongst the local villages and schools, particular of note Chong Kneas, marvel at the self sufficiency of the families and the tradespersons going boat to boat to sell their wares - and no hassle for us as the tourists. Our boat was crewed by two young lads who were brilliant, very safe and such fun as they pointe dout people and sights to us in their broken English.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great tour - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I found Osmose in tripadvisor and attended "tour 3" in a group of totally 5 people today. So far I have had no trip advisor account and have never written a review before. This tour today is the reason I signed up, as I feel I owe them an excellent review. I enjoyed the whole day so much and I can recommend this tour to everybody who wants to learn more about the ecosystem and floating village community.
During this day I also saw some other boats, packed with tourists rushing through the program. I was happy I hadn't choosen one of those - probably cheaper - alternatives. The tour guide named Ho was extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. He made this day to something special. Besides I want to mention that what this NGO has been doing in this area is just great and a bit higher price with which you support their work shouldn't hold you up from choosing this tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eco tourism at Tonle Sap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Most people visit Siem Reap to see temples but it is worth visiting Tonle Sap to see this delicate fascinating ecosystem.
The trip starts early, taking the group through the Cambodian countryside to the ferry terminal. The ferry then goes out to the Prek Toal Bird Sanctuary which is in the Battambang direction. It visits a floating village adjacent to Prek Toal.
The lake is vast with many birds. Unfortunately It was early in the season and windy so we did not see many birds, but good binoculars were available. The guide provided a clear description of the lake and its birds and how they changed during the seasons, together with the conservation work.
He also described the work which the NGO was undertaking with the villagers to encourage not only the conservation of the ecosystem but also to give them a better style of living. Breakfast was provided in baskets woven by the villagers, lunch was prepared in the floating village by their specially trained cooks. Lots of cooling water was available. Later we were paddled around the village to view various projects.
It was a most lovely day. We returned late afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osmose - Day Tours also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Osmose - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osmose - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.