We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam Veasna Center a bright spot for conservation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Veasna Center

Sam Veasna Center
#0552, Group 12, Wat Bo | PO Box 93045, Siem Reap, Cambodia
+855 63 96 37 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 524 Activities in Siem Reap
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Bozeman, Montana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sam Veasna Center a bright spot for conservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A group of 4 of use joined a Sam Veasna center bird guide for a day of birding in Feb. 2013 near to Siem Reap. Our day started at 5:30 AM with the guide and ended back in Siem Reap at about 5:30 PM. We journeyed to some wetlands at various places and some dry areas where besides birds we saw Eld's deer and a flock of about 1000 fruit bats. Our guide knew all of the birds that we saw. He was very good at keeping his eyes open for anything. We saw painted storks and milky storks that were very lovely. The breakfast of fresh fruit, croissants and bread was great. Lunch at a ranger station was excellent offering both meat dishes and vegetarian fare, beer, pop or water. The guide had a scope to find far away birds, deer or bats. Besides being guides, this center works with WWF to preserve habitat and educate people for the importance of preserving ecosystems as a whole entity. Some of the fee for the day goes to the center for this conservation. The Sam Veasna center is well worth supporting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    3
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sam Veasna Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I just completed a bird tour with the assistance of the Sam Veasna Center. I was on a commercial tour that contracted with the Center. Multiple sites over 9 days. The trip was well organized, and very productive. Sophoan, our local guide was magical. A wonderful trip. I would not hesitate at all to reccomend the center for any Cambodia birding trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Prek Toal conservation area to see the birds and see many, many we did.
The numbers of pelicans , storks , herons, egrets and the variety of species of others including the Greater Adjutant which is rare made the trip a huge success.
The guide was knowledgable and helpful , the transport good and the meals presented were more than adequate.
I would definitely recommend this trip to those interested despite the higher price.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went on the ATT trip. Guide knew every bird there, broughthis own scope, which he used to helpus see loads and loads, was an excellent spotter. (Ourguide was na ra) Theyprovided2 extra binoculars for us, 4wds were comfortable and in good condition. Breakfast and lunch good, coffee and tea whilst watching sarus cranes through the scope- what more could you want? Saw too many to list here, their office has a list of recent sightings- we enjoyed the marsh harriers, murnia, krakes, range of bitterns, asian open bills, asian and australasian bushlarks, pied and regular kingfishers amongst loads of others including some relatively rare finds. The landscape, villages and general environ were also pretty nice. Saw the elds deer as well- all up a very well organised, top notch tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful morning birding outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had only a limited time in Siem Reap, but I still wanted to squeeze in some birding where I could. We called the Sam Veasna center who were able to put together a morning birding outing with relatively short notice.

The full-service trip was a little pricey for us, although I could see that the convenience factor of having everything taken care of would certainly be nice. We opted to use our own Tuktuk driver to keep the cost down, which worked really well (although our awesome, patient driver certainly earned extra tip that day!). We went with a half-day outing to some paddyfields outside of Siem Reap, although the company can do a temple/birding tour, which we were pretty tempted by.

Kunthea, our guide, spoke English very well, and was extremely enthusiastic and easy to get along with. Although we kept our trip pretty casual, I got the sense that "hardcore" trips were also possible (although I would make sure to let the center know ahead of time that you are a serious birder).

Overall, it was a great way to get out of town and see some of the countryside while meeting nice people and picking up some new Cambodian birds (highlights include cotton pygmy goose, asian openbill, white browed crake, watercock, plaintive cuckoo).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Veasna Center also viewed

 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Preah Vihear Province, Cambodia
 

Been to Sam Veasna Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Veasna Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.