We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khmer Ceramics Centre

Khmer Ceramics Centre
Vithey Charlles de Gaulle | Temple road (30m after the traffic light), Siem Reap 12000, Cambodia
855 (0)17 843 014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 492 Activities in Siem Reap
Type: Educational Sites, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a free visit or experience alluring Clay Class. Our trainees will give you a fully guided tour with explanations and demonstrations of all stages involved in turning raw clay in to a full finished, fired and glazed Khmer ceramic of beauty and utility. We propose you to enjoy our Clay Classes…an alluring experience. Visiting the KCC is a “must” whilst in the Angkor region as it brings you closer to the true Khmer spirit.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Well made ceramics at a good price. Our children had great 90 min pottery class. The helpers were very patient and the kids loved their time at the potters wheel..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    34
    17
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A bit of fun.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Pros
*A bit of fun for an hour.
*Don't have to book...just turn up.
*Location is close to town.
*They deliver it to the hotel (although did have to ask for this)

Cons
*They didn't really show us how to do it...rather doing it for us.
*Didn't actually explain the process (there appeared to be no one who really spoke English, which is ok, but just meant that after we had made the pieces we didn't know what was going to happen to them - as in were they going to be glazed? what colour would they be? etc.)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Know the people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This visit provided us with history of the people and the crafts that continue to help build the country. We were able to make several purchases to bring home so that this beautiful country stays fresh for us.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not really worth the visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

There are some potters at hand making some artifacts, but very poorly done, poor displays and poor merchandise.
Even though different it is nothing on the Artisans of Angkor.
Give it a miss

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you want to have fun and make something with your hand that the place to go! I fly back home with my 3 own pottery made by myself. It was a fantastic experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khmer Ceramics Centre also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Khmer Ceramics Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khmer Ceramics Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.