We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling of Home and Friend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bun Kao Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bun Kao Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bun Kao Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   # 0566 Group 21, Wat Bo Road | Banteay Chas Village, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 369 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Feeling of Home and Friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Mr Kao is a man with a big heart. He is not only an owner of a friendly guesthouse with great amenities and also an NGO who helps local schools and poor students. With his help over the last 30 years, many schools have benefitted from his help by bringing in foreigners to help in villages. You can rely on him to organize trips for you and the food that Mrs Kao cooks is awesome. There are rooms of different types and it is not far from the city. You will never regret staying here and most importantly, getting to know new friends, Mr Kao and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side when you face the guest house has a crocodile farm view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    17
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
25
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I come to Siem Reap often and this is my third stay in this guesthouse. I could have gone to a cheaper guesthouse but I am sure I would not receive the same high level of hospitality at other places. The basics have been mentioned by other reviewers - Free Water, Tea and Coffee, Clean and spacious rooms, friendly family and staff, free bikes around town, Wifi, good service, Peaceful, Good Reasonable Prices, etc, etc. But there is one service that few have mentioned and many guesthouses can never provide! Before he started his business, he was the outreach manager for the Jesuits Services. He was heavily involved in the development of poor communities around Siem Reap and whole of Cambodia, and he still is! Many schools approach him for help to do community work in Cambodia. For travellers who want to know more about the background and situation of Cambodia and its people, above and beyond just the tourist attractions that guidebooks tell you, he is the person to talk to! He still visits poor villages in Siem Reap province to see what he can do and sometimes brings his guests along, so if you are interested, do let him know in advance to see if he can arrange! And if you want to contribute to this beautiful but poor country that you are visiting, do find out from him too.

Room Tip: Some rooms have view of crocodile farm. Air-conditioned dorm rooms are very good value for groups o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This guest house is excellent. The owners are so helpful and happy to assist with anything. I though I was going to get an awful room for $5 (single) but it wa en suite with a decent shower, big mirror and even a tv, really great value. It's a 15 minute walk into town or $1 for a tuk tuk so really not bad. There are a few hostels on the same road that can get a little noisy but nothing to affect sleep. They also serve a lovely breakfast and do have a dinner menu though I never ate there.

This place is highly recommended and I would stay here again if I ever came back. Never seen value like it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed with Mr. Bun Kao for six days and had a very nice stay. The rooms were big, comfortable and cool. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was also a very nice touch - eggs, baguette and bananas. The hotel is set a ways off from the noise/chaos of Pub Street and therefore is very quiet; so if you don't mind a short walk it's an ideal location. The only noise we heard in our rooms in the mornings was chanting. Mr. Bun Kao also helped us find a great tuk-tuk driver for our three days at Angkor Wat. I would highly recommend staying here if you're ever in Siem Reap; it was a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The wifi was good in the lobby but not available in the room. We had the 3 bed family room and it had a great view of a crocodile farm.
The staff was really nice. When we arrived we were told breakfast started at 5am. The next morning we got up at 5 to eat breakfast before our tuk tuk picked us up at 5:30. It turns out breakfast starts at 7, but the guy at the desk was nice enough to run to the bakery and get us all baguettes and a bunch if bananas to take with us. It was really thoughtful and good customer service! The usual breakfast is a baguette, fruit, tea or coffee and eggs.
The room and bathroom were clean. The shower was hot, but occasionally the water would run out during showers and we had to tell reception to switch the water source.
It's a nice place to stay away from pub street so it's a quieter place. There are many restaurants nearby and several pools to swim at within a 5 minute walk. The main area and pub street are a 10 minute walk or short tuk tuk ride away. The hostel can arrange a tuk tuk to Angkor wat for the day if you want.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The place, from staff to cleanliness, is very good.

Mr. Bun Kao was so accommodating and has pampered me like a daughter. I didn't know that he was the owner (coz I didn't know his name) until I saw the pictures here.

It's a decent place, very clean and there's a feel of privacy there. I stayed quite sometime on the hammock and I love my room which has a huge bed and TV.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As many people have written in their reviews, the staff are so helpful (especially the owner, Mr Kao). Mr. Kao always tries to do his best for his guests with big smile. Anytime he see the guest, he talks to the guest. He kindly gave me many advice to look around Siem Reap spending less money, woke up very early to make sure I can get a tuktuk to see sunrise, and introduced a trustful driver when I go to far way by a motor bike. In addition, the food served in this guest house is also nice (I tried a fish curry, chicken curry etc.). Now I miss these homemade meals and of course the staff as well. Although I was traveling alone, I felt like I'm at home thanks to the staff.
他の方の口コミにもあるように、ここのスタッフの方々はとても助けになってくれました。特にカオさん(オーナー)は、ゲストを見るたびに声を掛け、ゲストのためにいつも笑顔で尽力してくれます。Siem Reapを出来るだけ安く見て回るためのアドバイスを沢山してくれましたし、早起きをして私が日の出を見るためのトゥクトゥクがちゃんと来るかを確認してくれたり、私が二人乗りバイクで遠出する際には信頼できるドライバーを紹介してくれました。更に、こちらのゲストハウスで出されるご飯もとてもおいしかったです(魚のカレーやチキンカレーなどを試しました)。帰国後、こうしたご飯や、そして勿論仲良くなったスタッフを恋しく思っています。一人旅でしたが、ここのスタッフのお陰でまるで家にいるかのような感覚でした。

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bun Kao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bun Kao Guesthouse

Address: # 0566 Group 21, Wat Bo Road | Banteay Chas Village, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bun Kao Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bun Kao Guesthouse, newly guesthouse in Siem Reap, nice restaurant,We appreciate the importance of clean facility and providing a value service to all our customers, just only 10 minutes walk to the main Tourist area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Bun Kao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bun Kao Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.