We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Slow Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little India Restaurant

Little India Restaurant
Mondol 1 | No 63, Old market area, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
855 (0)12 652398
Improve this listing
Ranked #306 of 508 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Description: First Indian rest in siem reap(1998) since there Lonely planet recommended. South and North Indian food. Family atmosphere.
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Good Food, Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Chicken Vindaloo was very nice, with good flavourings, nice pieces of chicken, and jesty spiciness. The Veg Curry was a bit sparse, but I'm told quite nice though. Cambodia Draught Beer at $0.75 helped.

The setting isn't as nice as The Passage, but sitting outside is good for people watching, the only dissapointment being the slow service, especiall 10 minutes for a couple of Popadoms to start with. We could have gee'd them up I suppose.

If you like Indian Food, then it's worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Takev, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“By far best place in town for Indian and/or Sri Lankan food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great place and that's an understatement. As an aficionado of Indian and Sri Lankan cuisine, this restaurant really stands out out both for quality/price ratio as well as for atmosphere.
The owner was very kind and prepared some amazing Indian food with a Sri Lankan twist to it (the owners are from Sri Lanka). It was a culinary experience which drove me to write this review. Their two little girls were playing around in the restaurant which gave it a nice family atmosphere and the staff was very helpful. The owner, Ghita, told me she also works at Angkor Hospital for Children and told me about the condition of children in the country side...which is very poor. If you like Indian food, that's the place to eat it!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best of Indian food in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

There are quite a lot of Indian restaurants in town, but Little India is by far the best Value for Price place

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“one of the best indian food i had when in Siem Reap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Me and my friend we were few days in Siem Reap such a lovely city. we were tiring with foods we had and found little India . we are vegetarian and we had really good vegetarian thali include very good dal, vegetable curry, sag aloo, yellow rice and butter naan. that was amazing , we were so happy later we had massala tea that was excellent ..staff are friendly and smiling all the time .specially our door sitting very interesting to enjoying some khmer day today life.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better things around.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Food - not good quality. Butter chicken, too many other spices in it. Cheese nan - too many curry spices, not good quality cheese.
Lassi - fruit cut on a chopping board after onions, tasted completely of onion.
Service - mixed up order, sent back for replacement. They apologised for error though.
There are many other places to eat during your stay in Siem Reap.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little India Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Little India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little India Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.