We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Good Location / Best Beds in Cambodia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$30 (USD)
Ranked #88 of 232 Hotels in Siem Reap
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Hotel and Good Location / Best Beds in Cambodia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived in the early evening and were picked up promptly by the hotel staff at the airport. We had a great room with a balcony and I must say the most comfortable beds in Cambodia. The whole feel of the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. Tuk Tuk drivers available to go temple trekking and staff on-hand to give you advice should you need it. Breakfast is basic but gets you going in the morning, buy some fruit from the night market to boost that meal should you want to. The salt water pool is great for taking a plunge after a day at the temple. We would stay here again without hesitation, Great price, Great Staff, Great stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the right side of the hotel if you are facing it, pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    84
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
48
95
31
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived late at night to find that the description on Booking.com is wrong, the suite is not a suite, not even a larger room, & not with the extra facilities, lesson learnt - check with hotel direct! As this was for a special occasion we were very upset, thinking we had a large 2 roomed suite, not an overpriced room, but having said that the reception staff more than made up for it with their smiles & willingness to help. The bed was comfy & the aircon very quiet. The hotel is very dark with all the heavy wood furniture everywhere, but cool & spotlessly clean. The chairs on the balcony look lovely, but were hard & uncomfortable. There are 2 computers with free internet access on the 1st floor lobby, but no large TV as advertised. The included breakfast had a good selection but no flexibility, & the only tea was jasmine, coffee was very strong & no top-up available. Although the restaurant said dinner was served there, there was no menu anywhere, so we went into town every day in the complimentary tuk tuk, $2 to return. Sodha on reception arranged temple visits by tuk tuk, but we didn't get any cold water provided that other tourists did. The pool was certainly "refreshing" but only 3 sunbeds meant you couldn't always sit & relax after your dip. This is a good hotel, but we wouldn't stay here again, as it's a way out of town & expensive for what it provides, unless you get a special discounted rate. The manager needs to leave his desk, take a lesson from his amazing staff & tweek a few minor points to keep the standard up to the many other cheaper hotels in town. Thank you Kim, Sodha, Ratta & all the others for making our holiday so memorable :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary. AB
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

With all the luxury hotels around town, we were afraid this would be not be up to par, as it was extremely cheap.

We were so impressed by the service, location and rooms. All the wooden furniture is a nice touch but it is the staff, who cannot be friendlier and more helpful, that makes this hotel so special. I strongly recommend taking the day long tuk tuk ride to Angkor - the man waits for you in front of every temple and stops wherever you want, it is a steal.

The ride to "Pub Street" is only two dollars. The rooms are big and comfy. The breakfast is very nice too.

The pool is small and too close to the street to our liking.

If the price seems to good to be true, don't be afraid. You'll be impressed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I would say this is one of my worst vacations in several years. We booked a family suite for 4 adults & an 11 year old child. After arriving there we realized that this nothing but a normal room where they packed 3 beds (1 queen & 2 twin). There was barely any room for anything else; no balcony. The corridors & the room were stuffy, hot & dark. The room was on the 3rd (top) floor was very hot & the AC didn't function properly. There was literally so little lights that you can’t read anything. The TV was very old & couldn’t be turned on by the remote. The safe was useless because I can’t fit my 14-inch laptop.
Hotels.com posted on its website that it has a "the 21-inch high-definition television and private kitchen is equipped with a refrigerator and a coffee/tea maker". This is completely wrong; there was neither a functional TV or kitchen/kitchennete or coffee/tea maker. There weren’t even sachets of tea/coffee. I am extremely disappointed with Hotels.com. I requested to change the room but got a standard answer “everything is booked”. So I can't say a lot of good things about this hotel.
The bigger problem started on the 2nd day. My 11 yr old had eggs & pan cake for breakfast at the hotel & started throwing up within 2 hours that followed a fever by night. I had the same breakfast & was lucky to have only stomach cramps. So we didn't try any other food at this hotel. What an experience?
The only positive thing was that made a complementary one-way pick-up from the airport. I tried to communicate via email before arriving & there was no response. So I had to call for the airport pick-up. But they were happy to arrange a van for going to the temple and charge USD80 which is a lot of money in Cambodia. The location wasn't great either. I can’t even buy some decent fruits or biscuit near-by. You always need a tuk-tuk to go the main area.

Room Tip: I would never recommend this for any family with kids. This is a location for quick stopover, shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of December 2012. All in all it was a perfectly okay stay. Since I have never stayed in any other hotel in Siem Reap I can't really compare it but I am sure there are plenty of other alternatives offering fairly similar service and facilities. I picked this hotel because it ranked fairly high on Tripadvisor and got a reasonably okay deal on Booking. com. I was somewhat 'lured' by the prospect of being somewhat closer to the ruins but now I have visited the sites I can't really say that this makes a very good argument to stay at this hotel. True, it is closer (on the way) to the ruins, but at most it makes a ten-minute difference by tuk tuk which is not all that much. However, it must be noted that this hotel offers a free-of-charge ride by tuk tuk to the city and we never had to wait for one. It's a two-dollar ride otherwise and every tuk tuk driver knows the way.

The hotel itself is pleasant though we were a little puzzled what was 'boutique' about it. Increasingly in S.E. Asia boutique is used for somewhat smaller hotels that are not part of a chain and that operate in the mid-range price category. Don't expect the kind of stylish/innovative design we have come to associate boutique with in other parts of the world. This hotel actually feels a little like sleeping in a furniture store. From the lobby to the staircase and the beds in the rooms, everything is made of thick local traditionally carved and polished wood. It is meant to evoke a local feeling, which it does I guess, but since there is so much of it 'too much' is what comes to mind. In fact, the hotel feels somewhat messy. Although this annoyed my partner I felt it somewhat cute, giving it a bit more homely feeling than I would have expected. Add to that the rather excellent staff who are very quick with everything and who speak excellent English... The combination worked for me.

About the rooms: spacious but the massive furniture makes it feel cramped nonetheless. Balcony is pleasant though we hardly made use of it. Beds are comfortably, intricately carved, hard mattress (probably too hard for some). Bathroom again spacious but not particularly charming or fancy. In our room (room no. 8 first floor) we could not 'hang up' the shower so had to hold it while showering. My parents who stayed in the next door room (no. 7 first floor) did not have this problem. Aircon is powerful yet quiet.

Service: the hotel offers two, three and four-day tours of the temple sites. These are basically just hired tuk tuk drivers whom you tell where to go. I forgot the name of our driver but he was perfectly fine, limited English but enough to get by. He knew his way, had obviously been to all of these sites a million times before. It is fairly cheap. We took the 35 dollars tour for two whole days. This is more than enough for any casual visitor. Do note however that these drivers are not guides.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Thank you once again to Vannak and his staff for another amazing stay at Shining Angkor. This is a beautiful hotel that takes you away from the hustle and the bustle of the outside chaos, The staff are amazing - so helpful with everything, the rooms are an absolute credit to the hotel - so clean and the beds so comfortable and the surrounds so peaceful. Thank you again to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable and we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I just recently spent a few nights at Shining Angkor and had a very nice stay - the hotel is extremely clean and hospitable, they have transportation available 24/7, they arranged a guide for a day trip for us, and the restaurant was very tasty. Beautiful decor too!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel

Address: 560, Group One | Kok Chok Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 232 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shining Angkor Boutique HotelJust as the name implies, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel indeed shines as the new boutique hotel in Siem Reap, Cambodia. It is a 21 rooms classy, traditional yet contemporary hotel nestled in a very quiet residential district midway to the famous Angkor Wat temple and the City Center of Siem Reap. Located in Siem Reap, Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is a 5-minute motorbike ride from Angkor Wat. It has an outdoor swimming pool, restaurant and offers a free one way shuttle service to the city centre daily.Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel is 1.6 km from the Angkor National Museum and 2 km from Angkor Shopping Centre. Free pick-up services are provided from Siem Reap International Airport.Traditional Cambodian décor and hardwood furnishings feature throughout the non-smoking guestrooms at this Siem Reap Boutique Hotel. Each offers views of the greenery, and is fitted with a TV with cable channels. Guests can enjoy a body massage, or rent a bicycle to explore the area. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel provides car rental services and free parking. Travel arrangements can be made at the tour desk. The restaurant serves a fine selection of local and European dishes. Outdoor dining options are also available.Clean and spacious with Khmer-style decor...All rooms are clean and spacious and include high quality cotton duvets and feather pillows, complimentary wireless Internet access, bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and bathroom accessories. The decor is traditional Khmer style with contemporary elements and elegant accents. The management and staff at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel also strive to offer it's guests immaculate service to make every stay at Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shining Angkor Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.