We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Village Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added River Village Manor to your Saves list
River Village Manor
East River Road | Slokrum Commune, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 382 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A family feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed for one week on our trip through Cambodia. Booked after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and so glad we did. A lovely small hotel out of the centre of busy Siem Reap but only a short tuk tuk ride away from the centre. Roy and his staff were fabulous and when we left, it felt like we were leaving part of a family we had come to know very quickly. Our room was very comfortable and clean, with a balcony from which we could watch the world pass by. Breakfast was good - freshly made, with the best scrambled egg! Roy knew we were interested in photography and arranged for us to have an excellent tuk tuk driver all week who took us to the best places at the best times. The pool was very welcome after a hot day round the temples. A very efficient manager who organised any tours we wanted to take. Would highly recommend River Village Manor - we were sorry to leave!

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    27
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
113
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing!!! RVM is truly one of the most unassuming inns in all of Siem Reap. If you have stayed, then you'll know what I'm talkin bout. If not, then I say you should!

Our family room for four was priced at 50USD per night; we stayed for four nights. At 40USD per person in a group of four, on paper you get the ff:
-Clean and Cold Split-type Airconditioning
-Two large, comfortable beds
-Cabinets and a safe
-Free breakfast (which I will expound on later) Baguettes, Egg, amazing Coffee, Fruits!
-Daily housekeeping
-Free use of 'White Bicycle' bikes
These things already make it a must-stay! The following are things no other accommodation can replicate.
-Incredibly clean isolated swimming pool

Go for the perks, stay for the amazing staff! RVM makes it a point to try their very best to cater to your requests. From the basic additional breakfast items (extra coffee, fruits, baguettes even!) to the more complicated requests such as bedding requests and late-checkouts. I think this is the reason this comes highly recommended; the basic rule is that if they can do it they will... or at the very least try to the best of their capabilities. The staff here are just special, we went during unexpected rainy season and theyd be waiting on us with umbrellas when we get back, and theyre even the ones who apologize for the terrible weather. They leave you with a warm feeling at the end of your stay simply because of their unmatched hospitality!

Late checkout when possible, free bicycles that are in great condition, cheaper tuk-tuks to town (2USD as opposed to usual 3USD) and a hearty breakfast are just some of the things they surround you with. WE LOVE THIS PLACE!

The place is outside the typical Siem Reap place, but this is often a plus as the cheaper tuk-tuks make it an even playing field in terms of distance. Being far would mean it is perfect for those that want to bike to Angkor area; this hotel will cut your distance by half!

To Sir Roy and his undeniable marvelous staff, keep at it! This is one of the last great accommodations in Siem Reap that do not overprice tourists. The local feel topped with clean rooms is a must-experience in Siem Reap!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a great hotel. Close to everything.
The staff were great. The breakfast was good. Facilities include a roof top pool and bar.
We stayed for 4 nights and used it for a base to get to the temples. It's no more than a ten minute trip to the main Wat which was why we chose it.
I'd recommend this to everyone.
I will be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights for our trip in Cambodia with my family. The staff were very accomodating. They had best smiles in Siem Reap. The Tuktuk service was great and it's like having your own private chauffuer. Honest and friendly and down-to-earth people.

Will DEFINITELY RECOMMEND this to my family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

my wife and me stayed here for 4 nights in August 2013, it was our 1st visit to Siem Reap. it was wonderful. Excellent service, clean rooms. Staff went extra mileage to assist us. We had a love for coconut drink and they got it ready in fridge every day when we got back from the sweaty day. I had a crave to go to waterfalls and was not in itinerary and with time constrain they arranged motorbikes. I can go on more on these but basically they have a strong desire to make us happy and give us fond memories. This IS THE PLACE to stay in Siem Reap. I strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Front rooms provide nice window views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Me and my partner arrived after travelling for 7 months and this was the best place we stayed on our entire trip. Our parents joined us a few days later and they gave us a large room with plenty of space. We love the cosy feel of this place and the swimming pool was amazing. The newly renovated swimming pool was the perfect temperature and we all enjoyed a swim every day after visiting temples. The staff we caring, professional and extremely helpful. They organised tours for us, tuk tuks and let us borrow the bikes for free. We also received an amazing breakfast with a friendly smile every morning. They bent over backwards to ensure we had a comfortable stay and it really did make our trip special. Thank you to all the staff and we look forward to coming back. We have recommended you to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndoch, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was our second visit to Siem Reap and we had previously stayed at River Village Manor when it was operated by Matt. We don't normally return to the same accommodation as it is great to experience something different - but it was my birthday and I wanted no fuss - just a nice place to chill for a few days.
The property has a new manager - Roy - and to really test his influence, we stayed while he was back in Australia, leaving his local staff to fully reflect his standards of service, cleanliness and hospitality. well - Roy gets 10/10 as his staff performed to the highest standard in his absence. The property was clean, our room perfect and the staff outstanding. One even recognised me from my previous stay some 2.5 years prior.
RVM is great if you want to be away from the bustling crowds and often bothersome tuk tuk drivers.
Would I go back - certainly if I wanted a no fuss stay

Room Tip: all rooms a great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Village Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Village Manor

Address: East River Road | Slokrum Commune, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 382 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Village Manor is a beautiful villa located on the banks of the Siem Reap River. We're a 20-minute walk to town or 5-minute tuk-tuk ride, just far enough away from the bustle to ensure a quiet, peaceful stay. We have 10 rooms available, all en-suite, with 32" flat-screen TV, mini-bar, in-room safe, individual remote-controlled air conditioner, and free bottle of water daily. Enjoy a refreshing welcome drink while you check-in, and our sparkling pool is always ready for you to take a dip. Our complimentary breakfast will start your day off right, and cocktails and snacks are always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your River Village Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Village Manor Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Village Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.