We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cockatoo Resort & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added The Cockatoo Resort & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cockatoo Resort & Restaurant
Wat Damnak Village, Siem Reap 1700, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 323 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We are family of 5 and spent a week at the cockatoo. It was exactly what we needed : A beautiful place to relax and cool down after visiting fantastic temples. Peter and Virgil made sure that we felt at home : lovely breakfasts and dinners, good advises and great discussions. The Cockatoo will always have a special place in our heart, the kids still talk about it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    12
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
39
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Owners, Peter & Virgil are the nicest people and were always making sure that we were comfort and had everything we needed. They went out of their way to arrange for guides, cars, tuk-tuks or whatever we needed. The rooms are large and very comfortable and the staff is charming and extremely helpful. The hotel is about five to ten minute walk to the center in a very quiet area. the pool was great to come back to after a day at the temples they have done an amazing job with the grounds and the pool area. can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed at The Cockatoo during an around-the-world trip with our 5 and 7 year old boys. When we contacted Peter and Virgil from the airport in Bangkok on the morning of our arrival, we (and they) were a little unsure if The Cockatoo was the right place for two small kids. But they were extremely flexible and said they would send their driver to get us from the airport so we could come to the hotel to check it out and make sure it met our needs (with no obligation). The pool and grounds were great, as were the staff and Peter and Virgil themselves. Our boys loved playing in the pool. When it became apparent that one room wouldn't be large enough for us, they figured out a way to make something work for us.

They connected us with a guide who took us around the Angkor Wat complex for the days we were there. Their advice about Siem Reap and places to go in Angkor was right on and we really appreciated them taking the time to make our visit a success.

We would definitely return to The Cockatoo on a future visit! And if you are thinking about a visit to Angkor with small kids, we definitely recommend it as our boys had a blast climbing in the temples and running all over the place (despite some unseasonal rain).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

I had the great pleasure good fortune of staying at the Cockatoo resort and restaurant in mid December 2009.From the moment of my arrival at the airport, my hosts Peter and Virgil made me feel comfortably at home. The resort is breathtakingly beautiful and can only be described as a page out of House and Home or Architectural Digest. Every effort was made to attend to the greatest and least of my needs. Peter arranged for an expert English speaking guide (ask if Liap is available, a charming an knowledgeable young man) for my exploration of the ruins of Angkor. Evening cocktails by the pool were followed by sumptuous meals prepared expertly and lovingly by Virgilio. Peter and Virgilio's warmth, wit, and knowledge of Cambodia made my 5 days in Siem Reap unforgettable. Honestly, I felt like I was staying with dear friends. The Cockatoo is not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Security - Owners were conscious and careful for your personal safety and security. In SR - this is essential.

Personalised tours to Angkor and Tonle Sap were discussed, planned and organised by the well-informed and highly-travelled owners.

Rarely would travellers come across owner-operators who invest their personal time to make guests welcome. More rare is it to find such personal expense of both time and money to creating a 'haven' at exceptional value-for-money rates.

Being waited on at breakfast and dinner, and to have your meal to order is a luxury. Lines at the buffet table are what travellers are given to expect. This is not Brideshead Revisited but it sure felt like that to me.

At exceptionally great-value rates, I was made to feel like a luxury-traveller.

The team at the bungalow were genuine, pleasing and happy.

Original wood and architectural details were sensitively preserved and maintained.

Kudos to the informed, articulate, personable owners-hosts.

Having visited 15 hotels (Luxury, boutique and backpackers) I dare say that, travelling on my own, I would stay at the Cockatoo!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

I had a most lovely stay in this resort and Peter and Virgil were such great hosts making sure everything I needed was looked into, especially since I was traveling alone. My room and especially the bed provided such wonderful respite after a long day of exploring the temples and the city. Thanks for everything and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

I am also lazy when it comes to writin my own reviews, but the recent negative comment about this place needs to be set straight. We spent more than two weeks there end of November and hat the most wonderfl time. The two owners are newcomers and may therefore for someone who thinks " down pillows and bedding" is an important service standard not be professionable enough. We in the contrary liked their aproach. They tried their utmost to make our stay memorable. There are always different opinions about the room setup in general. But I am convinced if there would have been an issue with the room we would have got another one within minutes. The pool was spotless clean, the breakfast was by far the best we had on our trip through Asia with fresh fruit, yougurt, muesi and the full american fare (when we mentioned that we don´t like toast, we got everyday different breads, croissants and baguettes). The table was always set when we got up and the service was outstanding. The dinners were so good that we didn´t bother a lot to go into town to one of the many tourist-rip-offs which you can find on any corner. If you are not in food and want to safe a buck than this might be an option. Otherwise talk to Virgil and let him prepare your dinner - you will hardly be dissapointed.

This place is perfect alternative to the ****Star "Professionals" you will find all over Siem Reap. Virgil and Peter made us feel at home

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cockatoo Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cockatoo Resort & Restaurant

Address: Wat Damnak Village, Siem Reap 1700, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful nature-themed resort right in the heart of Siem Reap, just three minutes by tuktuk to city center. Quiet, exclusive, a restful oasis with superb pool and tropical gardens. Rooms are in a modernized heritage Khmer house and two Balinese-style cottages set in a garden of their own. Poolside bar and restaurant for alfresco dining, plus gourmet restaurant and stylish bar in main house. Hearty breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and very friendly, helpful owners and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Cockatoo Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cockatoo Resort & Restaurant Hotel Siem Reap
The Cockatoo Resort And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cockatoo Resort & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.