We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prohm Roth Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Prohm Roth Guesthouse to your Saves list
Prohm Roth Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   #251 Pub Street Extension, Old Market Area | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 0063, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 383 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After slightly rough start in Cambodia, this guesthouse restored my belief in Cambodians :)

The staff was friendly and really helpful, English was not a problem (and won't be if you are reading this 20 years from now - the very young generation was studying English every day :)).

I'd rate them the best I have seen in my two months in Thailand and Cambodia. Location is great, it is hard to ask more from the rooms in the price range, and the staff can help you with everything you need during your visit there and beyond.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at Prohm Roth Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
There is always a big bunch of 'grateful hearts' for every time a guest or more are accommodated and served at Prohm Roth. We are the bunch of young boys and girls who lean on your special patronage. And your precious presence is our greatest inspiration. We owed so much to someone like you and to thousand others for the good words and kind hearts. We'd to wish everyone with great year end and start 2013 with brighter & stronger speed!

Meang and band of brothers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    57
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
67
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Located about 50 m from pub street, this is a wonderful guesthouse to stay in. It is affordable, with clean, convenient rooms and extremely friendly staff. The service is pretty great. The staff made all the arrangements for us, from helping us get laundry done, making travel arrangements and even helping us make food for my baby. Would definitely recommend staying here.

PS: ignore the pool rating. I accidentally clicked on rating and had no way of removing it. This place does not have a pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masterton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, it was a nice quiet location, close to hustle and bustle, the family running Phrohm Roth guesthouse, were helpful, rooms were basic, we moved to elsewhere, OK value.
Don't have much to compare it with I'm afraid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I cant say enough good things about this guesthouse. We are travelling for a year and this easily ranks in our top 5. A family run guesthouse that is 2 mins walk from pub street and offers great value for money and includes a great little selection of breakfasts. We intended to say a few days at most but a week later we were still here. The staff cannot do enough for you and the rooms were basic but spotless. We even seen a staff member hand washing sheets every morning!! The location is great, down albeit a dark but completely safe lane way only two mins from pub street. Even on the morning we departed the owner came out to shake our hand and offer us complementary waters for our onward journey.We had a lovely stay here and would recommend it to anyone. We dont write many reviews for hotels while we have been away but this hotel well deserves a great review.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orient
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I want to thank Meang and the rest of his family team at Prohm Roth Guesthouse for making my stay a memorable one.
This was my first trip to Cambodia, and because of my 1st impression of Meang and his team's hospitality and "family" atmosphere, i will definitely spread the word to my people back home to come and stay at Prohm Roth if they ever come for a visit to Siem Reap!

As a solo female traveler, i was not expecting to feel so secure and comfortable during my whole stay. Home made breakfast (which was included in the rate) was delicious.
Everyone was very helpful, the room was always clean and very comfortable.

Even though it was conveniently located close to the bars and shops, I was able to sleep very well and feel rested because of the tranquil quietness. Prohm Roth's very own tuk-tuk driver too was very helpful and managed to show me places that made my visit worthwhile!

Once again, THANK YOU Meang and also to everyone who helped making my stay a pleasant one!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Prohm Roth Guesthouse is run by Meang and members of his extended family. My family of four stayed for three nights in a perfectly basic but large room with three beds. The breakfasts which were included in the cost of our room always exceeded our expectations - from the pineapple pancakes to the French toast with honey.

Meang couldn't do more to make our stay a highlight of our two month trip through Asia. He passed on information to help ease our crossing of the Thai-Cambodia border including organising a taxi from the Cambodian border town of Poipet to Seam Reap.

Meang also organised a guide for our visit to Angkor Wat and the use of his guesthouse's tuk-tuk. For us staying at Phrom Roth was one of the highlights of our stays in Seam Reap. Phrom Roth is close to Pub Street but doesn't come with any of the noise. We loved every minute of our stay and consider it a privilege to have met Meang and his family

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Thank you Meang, he must be one of the nicest and most helpful tourism operates in Siem reap. This guest house had for us 3 beds to a room all king singles, it was vey clean. It was perfect for our needs and budget. the room rate included a cooked beautiful breakfast from fruit salads to French toast. Meang has a family run property and it feels like this nothing is too much trouble for them. The guest house is very very central just a hop skip and jump form pub street. A tuk tuk is run by the guest house and will take you anywhere you want. Please try this place when you get to Siem reap. The service continued with help for a driver in phnom penh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prohm Roth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prohm Roth Guesthouse

Address: #251 Pub Street Extension, Old Market Area | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 0063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 383 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Prohm Roth Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prohm Roth Guesthouse & Tours gives you the real "Local Flavor" that you craved for! It has large & clean rooms with double/twin/triple/quad all with private en-suite, hot shower, fan, air-con & windows. It offers a very distinctive & dedicated guest services by Meang and his brothers & cousins! They honor every guests, respect their privacy and honesty is their prime policy. It's the taste of a local family, good quality-run guesthouse located on Pub Street, Old Market Area, 50 meters from scenic Siem Reap river, in Siem Reap City! Very peaceful, safe & great sleep at night is strongly guaranteed. Please contact us for accommodation and tours! We have a good, responsible & reliable team of drivers and guides for your tours need! Great appreciation to those who had stayed with us in the past years and those who are on their way! "Patronize local business helps local economy" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Prohm Roth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prohm Roth Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prohm Roth Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.