We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely until .....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The RiverGarden Siem Reap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The RiverGarden Siem Reap to your Saves list
The RiverGarden Siem Reap
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   River Road, 113 Mondul 111 | Treang Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 369 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely until .....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I would first like to state that I only went to The RiverGarden for a swim. I went with my partner and two friends, 1 german and 1 female khmer. We bought some drinks from the lovely staff at the pool side bar and went for a swim. We had bought a couple of drinks and had been swimming fpr around 30 mins to an hour when an older white gentleman (I use that term lightly) told our female khmer friend she would have to leave. Why you may ask? Because she was wearing a bra under a swim shirt (rashie as some people know it) and a pair of boardshorts. When I asked the man what the problem was he said we have a sign in both english and khmer stating no shirts or shorts, only swim wear and that wearing underware under swimwear (bra, panties, boxers) was bad for the pool. I myself was wearing boxers under my boardshorts and that didnt seem to be an issue. All in all our khmer friend was nearly reduced to tears because of a pervert that could not offer a decent reason as to what the problem truly was. As stated at the beginning of my post the staff were all very happy and extremely kind to us bar the older white man.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    54
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
34
80
31
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have just stayed at the River Garden for 2 weeks. It has the most beautiful gardens and pool and a family of charming ducks wandering around and beautiful ponds with fish abound. I had a very basic garden room there which was a bit dark but the other rooms are worth checking out especially the little cottage. it is so romantic at night and you are away from the hassle , the surrounding area seems more authentic and no shop keepers or tuk tuks hassle you . There is a nearby local market which is fabulous to wander through. The hotel has cooking classes and street food tours both are fabulous. The food in the restaurant is top class, I had better river fish here than any of the top recommended places in town. I recommend their Khmer cuisine as well as the chicken and fish dishes with amazing sauces and vegetables . if you are a solo traveller the outdoor restaurant lends itself to meeting people and everyone is very friendly . The staff at RG are lovely and very helpful and the chef is a star!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ok, so we looked at the ratings and the reviews and we have learned a lesson. If a place has mixed reviews, as this does, stay somewhere else.

The good. The property is very nice and some of the rooms look nice, however our room, room 16 was dirty and lacked any charm. The food is good and the staff (not the manager) were quite helpful and friendly.

The bad. The management is where the experience falls apart. The Manager lacks any warmth and is not at all welcoming or friendly. He is rude to his staff and should move on to another profession.

We ended up moving due to him and his policy or lack thereof. We had a bad experience with a couple of drunk men at the pool. The hotel invites anyone to use the pool as long as you buy something from the bar. Good idea to make some extra money for the hotel, however it results in a busy pool with unwanted guests. The drunk men were rude and hostile. They cared not for anyone but themselves and when we asked the wait staff, then the management to cut them off and deal with them, the management would rather have the income from their bar bill instead of deal with the problem even though at least three different hotel guests complained and left the pool area because of the rude drunkards.

We paid for a late checkout and moved a couple hundred feet down the street to a wonderful hotel, La Villa Loti. See our review of it.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I brought local children to the pool, and the owner? started shouting and was very rude. There was no need for such rudeness, and this seems a regular occurrence given the bad reviews given by other members.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The River Garden was our first stop on our month long trip and boy were we spoilt. It feels like a little oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap town. We stayed upstairs in the Khmer Cottage and absolutely loved it. The gardens were beautiful, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was by far the best part- being able to cool down after a long day of walking around Angkor Wat. The food and restaurant ended up being our fave meal on our whole trip. The Chicken Amok Curry was devine, as the rest of the menu....and I cant forgot about the lemongrass martini's.... the best ever! The breakfast buffet was also very nice and the hotel had it's own tuk tuk drivers waiting out the front, to take you anywhere you desire. We ended up eating at the hotel most of the time because the food was so good- hence why they run the 'Cook's & Tuk Tuks' Cooking School. Each morning the local Monks come into the hotel to receive a donation and give their blessings. This was a really special touch.
We are hoping to go back to Siem Reap again one day, and probably wont even consider staying anywhere else, because we loved The River Garden so much. It's quiet, relaxed, and very quaint. Im not a fan of big, sterile hotels, so this place was perfect for us. I highly recommend staying here, or at least going for lunch and a swim in the pool.

Room Tip: The Khmer Cottage is set apart from the rest of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

With so much to see and do in the busy town of Siem Riep and its surroundings it was always a deep pleasure to come back to this tropical, peaceful oasis and have a refreshing dip in the pool and relax..the staff were just great, the food delicious and our 8 day stay at the RiverGarden a wonderful treat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have just spent a wonderful month at the River Garden Hotel. I arrived as “a total stress-head and within a few days was floating on the wind.” It truly is a magic place. The beautiful swimming pool set in a tropical jungle is an oasis away from the bustle of hot and sweaty downtown Seim Reap. All the staff are really charming, the food delicious and the croaking frogs soothing. Deb does everything to make your stay as rewarding as possible – you can go to pilates, singing club, cooking classes or do an art course or just swing in a hammock with your kindle. Don’t miss having a poolside lemongrass martini – or two or three!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The RiverGarden Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The RiverGarden Siem Reap

Address: River Road, 113 Mondul 111 | Treang Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The RiverGarden Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Garden Hotel comprises 2 large traditional Khmer style Villas set in jungle gardens opposite the Siem Reap river. We are 2 minutes to the city center, 10 minutes to Angkor Wat and 20 minutes from the airport set in a vibrant local village area. The rooms are a mix of classic design and beautiful Khmer furnishings. Formerly the painting studio of world renowned french artist Michel Delacroix, the rooms are spacious, with a large ensuite and feature a wide private balcony or patio looking over the tropical jungle gardens. Enjoy one of our 3 dining options, including a restaurant, a bakery cafe and our poolbar. Or refresh yourself in our outside swimmingpool or book a massage in our exclusive massage house near the pool. Amenities: Spacious well presented rooms, Large comfortable bed, Air conditioned, Ceiling fans, Cable TV, Free WIFI, Large private en-suite, Shower and shower facilities. Immaculately clean. Rates include breakfast for 2 persons. Airport, bus station or boat dock pickup $7 per 2 persons. Tours and activities, like our "Cooks in tuk-tuks" cooking classes and streetfood tours are available and recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The RiverGarden Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The RiverGarden Siem Reap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.