We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous billabong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The RiverGarden Siem Reap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The RiverGarden Siem Reap to your Saves list
The RiverGarden Siem Reap
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   River Road, 113 Mondul 111 | Treang Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 364 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gorgeous billabong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The province of Siem Reap is one of the poorest in Cambodia and would rarely be visited by foreign tourists but for the great temple complex of Angkor Wat, which is comparable to best Burmese temples and was the centre of the greatest conurbation in the world in the 13th century.
With over 150 hotels in Siem Reap city it is difficult to claim one hotel is the best value; but for 3 star hotel value it is hard to go past the River Garden, which [as the name suggests] is set in riverine garden.
The breakfast and drinks are perfect with the staff better than anything you will find in the five star hotels.
The swimming pool, massage hut, and coffee shop create a discerningly eclectic hotel experience. But the crowning advantage of this hotel is its garden: the trees, shrubs and flowers are the perfect place to relax. This makes it the perfect base for expeditions to the various temples around the province.

Room Tip: Book ahead or aim to go in the wet season (Jly-Sp)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    53
    20
    13
    11
See reviews for
34
80
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We booked into this hotel as it was Lonely Planet's top pick for Siem Reap. Bad call Lonely Planet. The room that we got was being clearly being redone and wasn't yet suitable for people to stay in it. The walls weren't painted, and were marked with chalk. The bathrooms were pretty average, and the shower pressure was terrible. The room clearly didn't match the description provided on wotif, and lacked a lot of the features that it claimed it had on the site. To be fair, when we showed the owner our booking on wotif, she offered us $10 back and a bottle of wine. Her hospitality ran out from that point onwards though. The worst part of the experience was that you could see into our room from the road- there were really thin pieces of material that were meant to act as curtains. Given there were constructions workers constantly walking around, and people walking past the gate, we thought it was a bit awkward, especially as two girls. When we asked the owner if she could put up proper curtains, she just replied that noone would want to look at us anyway. No jokes.

Overall, there are far better places in Siem Reap for reasonable prices. The grounds are nice, so if you're happy to stick to yourself, avoid the owner, and stay in a below average room, go for it. Otherwise, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Looking for a place that’s almost it’s own world unto itself? A place that one can feel absolutely content in? A place that almost everything one needs to relax and have a good time with friends or meeting fellow travelers is in place? Well, The River Garden may very well be just that place!

Situated about half way between the temples of Angkor and the downtown/Pub Street area, The River Garden offers guests an intimate, jungle-like compound comprised of a number of bungalows and Khmer-style cottages.


The River Garden also features an amazing saltwater pool complete with pool toys for kids of all ages, massage huts and a restaurant/bakery that serves up some of the most mouth-watering dishes and baked-goods in all of Asia… Seriously!

Another interesting perk about The River Garden has become a place that a lot of ex-pats and their Khmer friends and associates like to hangout at for a swim and weekend brunches by the pool. Thus, visitors that are not afraid to strike-up conversations with “strangers”, are likely to be treated to some interesting stories and insights into Siem Reap, Cambodia and maybe even the S.E. Asia region in general.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

The garden and pool are lovely, our room was lovely , a little bit shabby but beautiful. The River Garden markets itself as giving something back to the community and i'm sure it does, but think this is a bit of a good marketing ploy for the Australian owners. We really enjoyed the pool and lovely garden setting and the food was good. The staff are really lovely as most Cambodians are if one can generalise in this manner . Our tuk tuk driver who works through the hotel, I am ashamed to say I have forgotten his name, was really nice too. It was our first stay in Cambodia and a nice start to an amazing trip. It is a little out of town but makes for an interesting walk into the touristy centre.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the River Garden for 6 days and were very sad to leave. I'm wondering if one of the previous reviewers is reporting on the same hotel??? We loved the fact that the hotel was away from city centre and we could mingle with the local people. The big smiles, the colour, the music and the invitations to attend celebrations all made us feel so welcome. The morning blessing offered by the young monks was a wonderful way to start a day of new adventures. We braved riding the bicycles available for rent through the busy streets, took tours by tuk tuk to the temples ( we stopped to feed the monkeys and elephants) to the floating village, to visit an orphange and into the city. After a busy day of sightseeing it was lovely to return to this peaceful jungle paradise where the staff goes out of their way to make you feel special.
We especially loved the cooking class with Youthful Yit. The whole experience of shopping, cooking and eating the delicious food was so memorable.
We enjoyed massages by the blind massage therapists and pedicures in the massage hut.
The food is great with beautiful fruit platters and a breakfast selection which includes both western and Asian food. The cocktails are tasty and beautifully presented....pineapple chili margarita and ginger or lemongrass martini mmmm. We enjoyed the dinner and lunch menu so much that we didn't go anywhere else to eat.

Volunteering a couple of hours with the children at the Pagoda was very worthwhile.

There is free internet service including a computer for use in the office at no charge.

I can't say enough about the staff. They are energetic, friendly and thoughtful. We felt so blessed to have met these beautiful people and especially so, when they presented us with big bouquets of flowers on our departure. Amazing Anna is truly amazing and Marvelous Marani IS marvelous.

As for value, we stayed 6 nights including food and drinks, 2 massages, 1 pedicure each, tuk tuks to various points of interest, cooking class, bicycle rental, small charge for volunteering at the Pagoda (money goes to the program), all for around $270. ea US. The best value of any place we stayed on our trip through Cambodia, Vietnam, Bali and Malaysia.
♥♥♥RiverGarden

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We loved everthing about this hotel. It's not in the centre of town - but closer to the temples (and your tuk-tuk will take you into town or you can cycle). it has a lovely community feel about it. The staff are AMAZING from our tuk-tuk driver all the way through the hotel. The pool is lovely and the place is set in glorious gardens. The food is YUM and cooking class is interesting and informative and you eat your cooking. YUM!!! They re-use and recycle everything in innovative ways. I highly recommend volenteering an hour of your time to give the gift of english - they appreciate it and you will LOVE it. We came back here even after we had moved hotels (pre-booked) we were so sad to leave. Breakfast here is delicous and asian breakfast is on offer and they will pack it for you if you are going to sunrise. There's standardised prices for the tuk-tuks and they're well worth it we had the same driver our whole time in SR.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Our stay at the RiverGarden was the highlight of our trip to SE asia. Set in the jungle, it was a tranquil retreat after a busy day of sighseeing The friendliness of the staff quickly made us feel like we were staying with friends. We'll always remember the big welcoming smiles of Amazing Anna and Marvelous Marani The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, the food excellent with wonderful presentation and the chili pineapple margaritas are mmmmmgood. We loved the spirituality of the place with a Buddhist monk coming each morning to offer a blessing. There was so much about the Rivergarden that made it a very special holiday, Cooks in Tuk Tuks with Youthful Yit was informative, fun and the food delicious, we had incredible massages by blind massage therapists in the massage hut , we enjoyed the volunteer work with the bright happy children in the Pagaoda a 2 minute walk away and riding bikes through the colourful friendly streets.was a treat for the senses.
The office staff also helped arrange our tours and transportation needs.
The RiverGarden is excellent value accomodation!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The RiverGarden Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The RiverGarden Siem Reap

Address: River Road, 113 Mondul 111 | Treang Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The RiverGarden Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Garden Hotel comprises 2 large traditional Khmer style Villas set in jungle gardens opposite the Siem Reap river. We are 2 minutes to the city center, 10 minutes to Angkor Wat and 20 minutes from the airport set in a vibrant local village area. The rooms are a mix of classic design and beautiful Khmer furnishings. Formerly the painting studio of world renowned french artist Michel Delacroix, the rooms are spacious, with a large ensuite and feature a wide private balcony or patio looking over the tropical jungle gardens. Enjoy one of our 3 dining options, including a restaurant, a bakery cafe and our poolbar. Or refresh yourself in our outside swimmingpool or book a massage in our exclusive massage house near the pool. Amenities: Spacious well presented rooms, Large comfortable bed, Air conditioned, Ceiling fans, Cable TV, Free WIFI, Large private en-suite, Shower and shower facilities. Immaculately clean. Rates include breakfast for 2 persons. Airport, bus station or boat dock pickup $7 per 2 persons. Tours and activities, like our "Cooks in tuk-tuks" cooking classes and streetfood tours are available and recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The RiverGarden Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The RiverGarden Siem Reap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.