We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sojourn Boutique Villas

Save Saved
You added Sojourn Boutique Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Aromatherapy Massage
Ranked #5 of 219 hotels in Siem Reap
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis of Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I went to Sojourn with my teenage son and saw the New Year in there.

It was by far the most memorable, aesthetic and comfortable place we stayed in, in our three country Asia tour.

It is wonderful to have the level of comfort the place provides yet you can step out into interesting rural landscapes around you. After busy hot days touring this place and out Villa was heaven.

The young staff are charming and a delight ,the Villa enormous and the bathrooms superb . Service is excellent .

It is more expensive to get to town than other places but I was prepared to add this to the price and still feel I got tremedous value.

The owners are involved with local developments so please consider the value a simple thing like a water filter has in terms of lives they are a great source of assistance with this.

Stayed December 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    526
    49
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
116
323
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

I stayed at Sojourn , and like The Villa , tew staff made all the difference to my stay . Sojourn has a luxurious feel , a lovely pool ,and peaceful atmosphere but most of all excellent staff who are friendly and helpful . I would recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet stay

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

My 15 year old daughter and I stayed here for a week. The guides and drivers were excellent. The staff was polite and service/food excellent. The grounds and rooms were beautiful. It was so nice after sightseeing all day to escape back to the hotel. We had brought school supplies for a local orphanage and they helped arrange our visit to the school. I hear now they have a school in the local village. I hope to go back and volunteer. I would definately stay at the Soujourn again. I love how they practice eco- friendly and responsible tourism.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

We traveled around Thailand, Malaysia and Cambodia for several weeks for our honeymoon. Sojourn was BY FAR the best place we stayed throughout our trip!!! It is absolutely amazing!! I say this after having stayed in 4- and 5-star hotels in Bangkok,, KL, Langkawi, Georgetown, Cameron Highlands, even Pangkor Laut Resort!

The staff is wonderful and the service exceptional! They're so welcoming, personal and nice, in a totally different way than what you find in the big resorts. The rooms are beautiful, without being to pretentious. They're redecorated with fresh flowers, burning oils etc every day, and the outdoor shower in the back is very nice.

The breakfast is very tasty, as well as the pool menu.
One tip: Do the destination dinner!!!
It is amazing value! You get a three course meal, drinks, wine, personal chef and waiter, even a musician playing while you dine in a private gazebo on top of a lotus pond surrounded by burning candles and torches. It is perhaps the most romantic thing I've ever done! They even decorated our villa with candles, flowers and oil for us when we returned to the hotel! (And the food was really tasty as well!)

Pool area is very nice, and a perfect place to relax after a day of temples. Sojourn is located a bit outside of Siem Reap, which is very good (you get away from the chaos and noise of the city). It is close to a lovely village, perfect for strolling around taking pictures of Cambodian countryside. (PLENTY of photo opportunities, and no one tries to sell you stuff!) If you want to go into the city it is only a tuktuk/taxi-ride away.

Also: there's free WiFi, and they offer tours through their sister hotel "The Villa" in Siem Reap. They also arrange drivers, guides etc for you. Basically, they help you with whatever you need (I needed to send a letter - they went to the post office for me!)
Stay here, you will not regret it! I wish I had a week, or even two.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

My wife and three kids stayed here for four nights. We really enjoyed our stay. Staff was absolutely fabulous and organised everything for us at great rates. We went on the village walk and it was humbling to see how happy people can be with so little - the ancient wat was a real bonus. We also did cooking school with our kids which was great. We went into Siem Reap by tuk tuk for dinner and the old market most nights and it was very easy. Had Aussie BBQ at the Villa which i would not recommend. Kids loved the pool and sunken bar.
A word of caution the village is close by and you do get the odd barnyard smell and occassionally some music didn'y worry us but thought I should warn you

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We spent only one night here, which was a pity, as we would have gladly spent longer had we known rooms were available. As it turned out, we booked Le Meridien for 6 nights, and emailed the Sojourn for the last night as all the other hotels on our short list were full.
We had initially entered 2 adults and 2 children on the hotel's booking site, and the search showed no available rooms. However, when we emailed the hotel directly, we found that rooms WERE available, and we just had to pay an extra supplement for the kids!
We stayed in a Temple villa, and the kids were fascinated by the outdoor shower. There is a king sized bed in the room, and a single bed by the window. The room itself was spacious and comfortable enough, but the thin curtains did not keep out the heat or light very well, and we had to turn the aircon on at high speed during the heat of midday. We were also woken up early as the whole room became very bright when the sun rose. Just bring along an eye mask if you intend to sleep in.
Staff were uniformly friendly, and eager to please. They also made an effort to remember the names of the kids even though we stayed only for 1 night.
Breakfast was wonderful, and made fresh when ordered. We especially liked the fruit shakes and Khmer porridge.
The whole compound was pretty small, and we had to constantly make sure the kids didn't inadvertantly run out onto the driveway as it was quite near the restaurant,

The hotel is about 15min by car from town, so if nightlife and restaurants are what you are looking for, stay elsewhere. However, if you like peace and quiet in a natural setting, this fits the bill. A short stroll outside the hotel will bring you through a little village, and you can see the farmers at work, or children at play in their family compounds. Quite a refreshing change from large hotels.
Next time, we will split our stay between here, and another hotel closer to town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randwick, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I stayed at the Sojourn for 4 nights and it was worth every penny. The villas were beautiful as were the surroundings. It was a pleasure to go back to the hotel and have a cocktail in the pool after climbing over the temples all day in the extreme heat! All the staff were really lovely and sweet. So if you want a bit of affordable luxury Sojourn is the place to go!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#4 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#5 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sojourn Boutique Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.