We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing retreat from the noise and dust of Siem Reap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sojourn Boutique Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sojourn Boutique Villas to your Saves list
Sojourn Boutique Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct, Get $50 Off!
Ranked #5 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Amazing retreat from the noise and dust of Siem Reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I have just got back from 5 amazing nights at the Sojourn. The villas are beautiful - outdoor and indoor private showers, bathtubs you could have a party in, beautifully decorated rooms, which are immaculately clean all with superb service. Fresh flowers in the room, turn down service, which included a hot oil incense burner. It was so relaxing to come back to a room that was just oozing with peacefulness. It was the small touches that made this place perfect. The staff all knew their guests by name and nothing was too much trouble. Their command of English was excellent and they really seemed to care about making sure you had a good time. The food was very good and the service first class. The peaceful location and amazing pool was so wonderful at the end of a long day visiting temples, in fact so wonderful that I cut short my days sometimes just so that I could enjoy some down time in the pool (and bar). The owner took time to talk to the guests and make recommendations on eating outside the hotel. The best amok I had was in the restaurant he recommended. Don't be worried about the location, it really is just a short ride away and the staff can get you tuk-tuk drivers within 15mins to half an hour. You can arrange either private cars, tours or tuk-tuks on arrival, The only regret I had is I didn't do their village walk. I talked to a guest who had done it and she had had a wonderful time, not only enjoying the walk but taking advantage of the pleasant pool afterwards; she was staying amongst the dust in town.

My suggestion is if you are going to Siem Reap soon take advantage of their great rates while this place is still trying to build up its reputation (it is very new) as it is bound to become more expensive as it becomes more popular and better known. I also wish the owners and all the staff all the very best in their endeavours to provide a peaceful haven. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    54
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
130
341
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Sojourn at the end of June for our 10th wedding anniversary. We did the Lots of Luxury package. It was amazing. You get more than your money's worth! Our dedicated driver Mr Vothi was very helpful and accommodating and looked after all our needs. Our guide mr Lim was fantastic. He speaks very good English and is very knowledgable.

The accommodation was wonderful. It features a big lovely bedroom and large romatic bathroom with inside and outside showers and a very sexy bath.

The pool area with bar is just what you need after sightseeing. The cocktails are more than delicious. The food is lovely.

We usually like staying in town, but town was such a short ride away that it was no problem staying out in the rice paddies.

The service is unbeatable. Sojourn is fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Sojourn has everything you need for the perfect holiday. From the beautiful location in Treak Village just outside Siem Reap, to the wonderfully helpful team at the hotel, through the well planned itinerary meaning we saw everything we wanted (just not at the same time as the busloads of other tourists), to the food and cocktails alongside the Sojourn pool.

Sojourn balances the relaxation in a tropical garden environment through to great local Khmer food and the planning to see the great temples, lake and village within a week.

Do yourself a favour and stay for a week – you can include the village walking tour including the rarely visited temple just 5 minutes walk from Sojourn, the boat trip down to Tonle Sap as well as sunrise and sunset over the hand dug moats that surround the temples.

By doing all the major temples in a 3 day whirlwind temple tour will mean you miss out on experiencing what Cambodia and especially Siem Reap has to offer as a base to visit the area.

Organise a sunset pack and enjoy a chilled bottle of wine with crackers and cheese as you watch the sunset through a 900 yr old temple. The food and accommodation at the Sojourn is excellent, the temples are everything you expect them to be and it is the perfect place for a great holiday. Just make sure you stay longer than just a few days otherwise you only get to scratch the surface and Sojourn and Siem Reap have so much more to offer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

What else can we say about Sojourn other than it provided a perfect venue for a peaceful and relaxing holiday.

Its a new hotel by the same owner of Siam Reap Villa in the city. Sojourn is located in Treak Village, about 10 mins drive from the city. It may be a bit far from Old Market, Centre Market and Pub Street but u can easily trade it for a peaceful environment. We got a pretty good deal for 6 days package. They had been very accommodating with arranging our itinerary which included a golf session for my hubby at Angkor Golf Resort.

We booked the Temple Villa Bungalow. It's so spacious and clean. Love the bathtub & the outdoor shower. The landscape around the bungalows is immaculate. Felt like being in our own backyard. Breakfasts with such a beautiful surrounding was a daily treat. After a full day of walking & exploring, nothing beats coming back to the hotel for a relaxing dip in the pool.

There's a variety of local khmer and western dishes on their menu. Try the 'king prawn cooked in garlic cream sauce served with rice'. Delicious!! And 'citron crush' to quench your thirst anytime of the day.

The staff were really friendly and often engaged in small talks. We were on a first name basis as soon as we arrived. Anthony was there to welcome us and we were briefed by his staff on our itinerary before they whisked us to our bungalow. We absolutely love the casual atmosphere at Sojourn yet the staff do maintain a certain degree of professionalism as and when required. Mr Choub (driver) and Mr Lim (tour guide) were great. They were very friendly and knowledgeable. We felt really comfortable in their good hands.

Anthony, Fiona & Rachel's efforts in helping the villagers through their enrichment programs is admirable. It made our stay at Sojourn even more meaningful knowing it played a part in contributing to the welfare of the local community.

We will be back :-)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

So it's not located near the Old Market in Siem Reap, big deal! Sojourn is really an oasis in the middle of a village (thus the funky smells from the neighborhood but don't despair) The neighborhood is quiet, less than ten minutes away from town via car or tuktuk plus you'll hear chimes and chants from a nearby Buddhist wat in the mornings. It's really getting away from it all. A great place to rest, linger in the pool with a delicious freshly squeezed lime juice in hand after a day at the temples. The staff are excellent and are very genuine and service-oriented. We availed of the 3 Day Super Value Package which included tours, food, transfers and a guide (Mr. Lim is the best!) so it was truly value for money! They welcome you with cold towels, fresh fruit juice and fruit skewers plus the turndown and nightly chocolates was a nice touch too. The spacious bedroom and bathrooms were great too. I couldn't ask for anything more..except perhaps to return to sojourn in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

This May my husband and I had the pleasure of being guests at this little piece of heaven. We cannot thank Anthony and Fiona enough for creating this unique type of accomodation in Siem Reap.
We travelled with our 2 children ages 7 and 4 for 3 weeks through Vietnam and Cambodia. Sojourn was by far the most beautiful place we stayed the whole time.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcomed and relaxed immediately.
The staff were amazing, quiet, respectful and very friendly. The rooms were immaculate and attention to detail was bar none.
After temple exploring the pool is a must, with poolside bar completing the ambience.
For our family we found the location perfect, just far enough out of town to be quiet. In fact once we returned we stayed and dined at the restaurant. But if you did want to go into town a tuk tuk or taxi is arranged for you.
Do yourself a favour and book a villa, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The villas are individual standing rooms fitting 2 or 3 adults in a room. The rooms are clean and big, the toilets are worth a special mention ( rainshower, bathtub with water flowing down like a fountain and it has an outdoor shower as well!). Tthere is a king bed that is turned down every evening with an evening snack (biscuits) on our bed every night. The pool has a pool bar and it's a good to have in the hot 37C weather in May.

Villa is opened by an australian couple and the staff are very friendly and service is fantastic! My friend lost a phone and it was returned to Phnoem Peh (our next destination) the following day with minimal hassle.

We got the package which was well worth it with breakfast (great bf by the way), pack lunch for the temple trips, guide and a driver (van) for the entire stay. The guide , Lim was very knowlegable and make our trip very eventful!

It's a very new hotel, but I'm sure it will climb up to the #1 spot on tripadvisor in time to come!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#4 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#8 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sojourn Boutique Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.