We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best place we have ever visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sojourn Boutique Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sojourn Boutique Villas to your Saves list
Sojourn Boutique Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free 1 Hour Massage!
Ranked #17 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Horsens
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still the best place we have ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This year (2013) was our second stay at sojourn (first time was in 2011) and it fully met our expectations. Stayed there for 7 days, mostly for relaxing, as we already had visited a lot of the fasinating temple ruins. Surroundings were perfect, lusch quiet garden, nice pool, great weather, and simply the best staff, they met us with hugs and "welcome back" greetings when we arrived. Nowhere else have we been met by so kind staff, the atmosphere is so relaxed, yet still with great attention to the guests. We had great and honest talks about local life in Cambodia, very interesting for both my wife and I and our girls. Food at the hotel is great, service even better. Try the spa, it's luxury. Every time you stay by the pool and looks like you're too hot, a ice cold towel is served to cool you off. Always sad to leave the hotel and the staff there. We want to go back again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    63
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
135
371
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you are going to visit the temples -- and you should -- this is the place to make your base. At least if, like me, you seek a beautiful, restful, oasis away from the crowds. The rooms and gardens are gorgeous (contemporary design) and perfectly maintained; Anthony and his staff are unfailingly gracious; and while there is a good restaurant on-site, a $3 round-trip ride can be arranged into town for dinner (and the driver will wait for you).

Sojourn is about 2km out of the main town, in a small village area. Yes, you will hear some music (especially during the wedding season!) -- but even as a very light sleeper, I found it did not detract from the experience (and some would say, a bit of local color). This place is also run on a profit-sharing basis with the local community, which is a wonderful thing for those of us seeking luxury but with a salve for the social conscience.

In sum: you will not find a more thoughtfully designed and managed place to stay in the Siem Reap area.

Room Tip: The private villas are wonderful -- you will hear nothing from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This boutique hotel consists of separate bungalows surrounding a free-form pool in a well-kept garden, with a restaurant adjacent to the reception area. The pool is a social centre…with a swim-up bar serving cocktails etc. Most afternoons there are groups of guests gathered around in the pool swapping stories of their day’s adventures. The bungalows have large, private rooms and bathrooms with large baths and shower areas. The staff members are all pleasant and helpful and take the trouble to remember your names, which makes for a friendly, personal atmosphere. We enjoyed the meals at the restaurant, but also took advantage of the transport service, by car or tuk-tuk, to the city centre to other restaurants and the temples. We found having transport charges added to our overall account a convenient bonus. Our driver was particularly helpful. The hotel is in a small village, a few kilometers out from Siem Reap.
At one stage our air-conditioning stopped working. Not only did the owners have it fixed promptly, but they delivered a bottle of chilled wine to our room, a gesture we very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Arrange to spend at least three clear days to see the temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked Sojourn after researching on Trip advisor and it exceeded all our expectations.

The room was gorgeous, cool (April is the hottest month) and well designed with plenty of storage. I loved the outdoor shower and the cascading bath and the toiletries provided were divine.

The Gardens are stunning and immediately you feel like relaxing. Well done to all the ground staff.

The pool, whilst warm, was beautiful, with plenty of shady lounges and a great swim up bar (mocktails $2.50 and cocktails $4.50).

The food was amazing. Breakfast, which was included, involved a choice off of the hot menu with about 10 options as well as a buffet consisting of muesli, fruit, yoghurt, assorted breads, pastries, spreads and juices. The lunch/dinner menu was very extensive and we loved every meal - so much so that we stayed here seven nights and ate dinner here each night - and there was still more on the menu that we would have loved to have tried. The Chefs do a wonderful job and it was so lovely sitting in the open sided restaurant under the fans and enjoying the tropical environment with the fantastic food and service. Prices are so reasonable - $4.50 for an entree and $8-14 for a main, $4-6 for dessert and the sizes are very generous.

The Best thing about Sojourn is the staff - they are the BEST EVER! Within a day they knew our names and greeted us with questions about where we had been that day - they were very friendly but not invasive. A special mention to Sopheap, Nhairi, Narong and Po who were very professional,fun and memorable and really became a highlight of our trip. But to all the staff - A BIG THANK-YOU for a wonderful time.

I was lucky enough to enjoy the Spa three times and each time I had a different masseuse and they were all wonderful. The location of the spa is beautiful and you start with a cool drink and foot scrub and finish with a special tea. The English skills of the girls was more basic than from the front of house staff but very adequate for their role and I loved all my treatments. It is also nice knowing that these girls are from the local villages and have been especially trained to give themselves a good work opportunity.

We used Sojourn and their tours company Beyond Unique Escapes for all our bookings and this was flawless. We enjoyed a full day tour of the small/grand circuit, sunrise bike tour, cooking class which was lots of fun, day tour of Banteay Srei, Beng Melea and the land mine Museum. To Com our trusty driver, Noy and Arun - well done and thank-you for sharing some of your country with us. Using a tuk tuk with Sojourn is also so easy - book one to town and it costs you $3 (including wait time) but we did like to tip the drivers a couple of dollars (which is not expected but appreciated). The tuk tuk drops you at the Beyond office which is very central and waits for you - or takes you to the other places not so central. The charge gets billed to your room.

The location is a bit out of town which is what we liked. Siem Reap can get fairly frantic and this place was like an oasis of calm and relaxation. The resort is located in the Treak Village which is a poor village but great to see the traditional housing and farming lifestyle. If you get a chance to do the cooking class, which I highly recommend, you will visit a local family, bearing a rice gift, and see their cooking area and garden. The children were very friendly.

Before the trip, I inundated Sojourn with so many emails just so I knew we had everything organised and they patiently and thoroughly answered all my hundreds of questions.

All in all this has been a wonderful stay, exceeding all our expectations. Great job everyone and thank you. We hope to be back one day

Mariska, Mark and Jayden

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The staff were friendly and greeted us by our first names every time. The food was wonderful, the drinks were fantastic. The pool was relaxing and the quiet atmosphere made it easy to relax. We also purchased the full tour of Siem Reap, and highly recommend it. We did a walk and talk tour around Treak Village, and saw all of the major temples. Our driver also took us to some wonderful artisan workshops to buy hand-made crafts, and took us to some very traditional restaurants not on the main drag.

Also, this hotel helps locals by installing water filters, giving rice, and helping those in need. The NGO (HUSK) is a wonderful organization, and I'm happy our dollars helped support them.

Room Tip: Any room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It was almost like we had the place to ourselves.
The resort was well set out and the food in the restaurant was great, plenty of seats in the shade by the pool and fantastic service all over,from the bar, restaurant, spa and housekeeping etc.
After two weeks of touring Vietnam this was our sit still for a few days and relax, and that is exactly what we did. We did sunset at Angkor Wat and then a half day tour at Beng Malea and went into town twice for dinner.
The hotel recommended that we could leave a tip at the end of our stay rather than tipping individually which I think is a good idea as it is not just the staff that you see that makes your stay amazing.
The distance from town is negligible and only $3 return by tuk tuk. I would absolutely love to go back to Sojourn Boutique Villas and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Upon arriving at the airport, the hotel will provide a driver who will deliver you to the hotel. The journey to the hotel you travel through the Treak village just outside of Siem Reap. The village is quite poor and you definitely know you are in a third world country. Upon first impressions, you second guess where you are going and wonder if this is the right place.

Once you arrive at the hotel my first thought was...
What a lovely surprise !
The Sojourn is a beautiful little hotel.

The hotel is pretty small, and we had one of the villas. The Villa was clean, spacious and well appointed. The hotel is in a quaint little village just outside of Siem Reap and is very quiet and secluded. The front desk staff are exceptionally helpful in getting a cab or tuk tuk for you if you want to go into town or want to go on a tour to the temples. The villa we were in had an outdoor shower and an indoor shower with large bathtub and spacious bathroom. The room itself was large and had a daybed/sofa as well. There was wireless internet all over the resort. My only complaint on the room was that the bed was very hard. However the quietness of the resort made up for the hard bed and sleep was always wonderful.

The hotel has a swim-up bar which you can get food at as well. During the heat of the day there is shade at the swim-up bar, so having a quick snack/lunch is fantastic. Breakfast was included. There is a buffet of some fresh breads, fruit salad and juices. There is also a menu where you can choose one item. The coconut pancakes/crepes and the mashed banana on toast were to die for. We also ate dinner at the hotel one evening and it was equally wonderful.
There is a spa at the hotel and a one hour massage can be had for approx $20. For any spa service you are asked to arrive 15 minutes early, where the spa staff will wash your feet and give you a quick foot massage, along with an iced tea drink and a cold towel to help cool you down from the heat. The spa services that we had were wonderful, and we went there a couple of times during our stay.

All of the Staff were awesome. Every day they were incredibly friendly, we were always greeted with smiles. The staff would ask us how our day was, or we needed anything even if we were just walking through the restaurant/lobby area or around the pool.

Overall, I'm very impressed with the hotel. The staff were fabulous with smiles all the time. The staff were also incredibly helpful and would go above and beyond to help you out. The room was clean and quiet. The dual edged sword on the location is that it's quiet, but you are bit out of town. I'd stay at the Soujorn again when going back to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#11 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sojourn Boutique Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.