We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sojourn Boutique Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sojourn Boutique Villas to your Saves list
Sojourn Boutique Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct, Get $50 Off!
Ranked #6 of 232 Hotels in Siem Reap
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Sojourn consists of only 11 rooms-9 individual villas and 2 terrace rooms, so it'll never be crowded and the staff can take good care of everybody.
There are lots of jasmines in the garden, which make the air more fresh. You can see thousands of stars in the sky at night, which are rare in big busy cities. The pool is lovely with a pool bar. The food is yummy. MAsian Breakfast is my favorite while my husband loves the Big Breakfast.
Rooms are big. We stayed in temple villa for 3 nights. There is a big bath room with a bathtub, a shower indoor and also a private shower outdoor! The last day, we moved to a terrace room. It has a private terrace, from where you could get all the view of the whole garden.
Sojourn can also arrange activities and tours.We took the 'cooking class' and 'Tonle Sap Lake'. In the cooking class, we learnt to cook khmer foods-a dish, a salad and a dessert. After that, we were treated with the food we cooked and drinks in a pavillion in the heart of a lake. How romantic!
Please note that 7% of their profit would be donated to the NGO to help the local poor. Sojourn has always been helping the local people in their own ways. We support them!
Once you are there, you just don't wanna leave.

Room Tip: trust me, every room has a highlight. Terrace room hasn't a bathtub, but it has a private terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    54
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
130
341
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My mother and I (the girlfriend had to bail due to work at the last minute) traveled to Siem Reap and stayed at the Sojourn. We stayed in one of the Terrace rooms. I couldn't have been more pleased. The resort is a true gem located outside the city. Rooms were modern, clean, and comfy. The staff was always smiling and did an outstanding job of making sure our stay was excellent. The swimming pool was refreshing and included a fully stocked swim-up bar. The food was superb! I have eaten at some amazing restaurants throughout the world, I'd put the Sojourn kitchen up there with any of them. And the prices were shockingly low for the quality of the food.

I hope to be able to visit the Sojourn again. Highly recommend staying there!

Room Tip: The villas were full when we stayed there so we had to choose a Terrace room. The rooms were nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here for the last part of our honeymoon for the two day/two night temple tour. We got a basket of snacks and wine and sat on the temples watching the sunset on the day of arrival Our package included a driver at our disposal which is good because the hotel is away from town but makes it more quaint that you are staying the near by village (and quite,,,15-20 minute drive from town). beautiful pool with a bar. package included one dinner and two breakfasts which were delicious. We added on an additional sunset package which the staff was very accommodating to meet us in the park while we were already there. The package included a tour guide for one day as well. Our driver clearly had not been used to having the active couple and tried to get us not to stay our from sunrise to sunset but we paid extra for the the sunrise tour. Great place to stay, lovely oasis in the middle of a garden, great food, great service. A Must if you are going to Siem Repeap..package totally worth it for $190 a person

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Despite arriving in Siem Reap amidst serious flooding and heavy rains, the staff at Sojourn helped keep our trip memorable and fun. They were committed to learning about us, remembering our preferences, and partnering us with the same staff for our daily excursions. This meant that Sokha, the driver who picked us up at the airport, drove our van out to Sonle Tap Lake for a boat ride through the pouring rain, drove our tuk-tuk through the temple complex, and drove us into town at night for dinner/dance performance. By spending all this time together, we could learn more about a local person's daily life in Cambodia. The same was true for one of the restaurant staff, Ms. Lin, who was on hand each day, joking with us and making sure our meals were prepared to our liking.

We also loved staying in the villas, with their huge bathrooms, outdoor showers, deep tubs and thoughtful details. Hearing rain on the roof and creatures singing at night made us feel more connected to the country of Cambodia itself, much more so just another boutique hotel in the middle of town could have done. The location of Sojourn also meant that we could see more of the area around Siem Reap, not just the temple complex or the bustling town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I just returned from a 3 days stay at Sojourn and I think that going to Siem Reap and staying at Sojourn is one of my favourite holidays of all time. I absolutely love Sojourn and I absolutely recommend Sojourn to anyone who is looking for a really relaxing, comfortable stay in Siem Reap. I will certainly return and stay here, without question.
I was travelling as a solo adult with 2 kids aged 3 and 5 and Sojourn was a perfect place to stay for our family.
Here are some of the best things about Sojourn;
- it's a tranquil oasis which is a great place to relax given the town is busy, dusty and noisy
- it's a short trip to town - best enjoyed via tuk tuk (you drive out through the local dwellings which is a reality check)
- the pool and facilities are excellent, relaxed.
- food and drinks are delicious and affordable
- staff are motivated, service orientated, helpful and gracious
- the rooms are a villa so kids / adults can be inside outside without being on top of each other.
- they were able to arrange massages, babysitters, drivers and guides at short notice.
- the room is very good: simple, functional, comfortable and clean. You can fit a family of 4 in there.

I suspect Sojourn is best for families and singles who wish to avoid the crowds.

As much as I wish to be balanced in my reviews I cannot fault Sojourn. It's an absolute standout. Well done to the owners and management team! I will be sending some friends your way.

Room Tip: for families, the villas that directly face the pool #2 or #3 are great so that kids can be roaming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Didnt get the pleasure to stay here - but had a good experience nevertheless. Was supposed to travel today and visit Siem Reap for 4 days. But given the rains and floods there decided to postpone the plan. Called the hotel and they fully understood the the situation - they offerred to either provide a booking at a later date and forgo the cancellation fee. Refreshing response in general and hope to stay there some day - excellent reviews from all. One tip though - Expedia call center in Singapore is the pits. 5 calls X 15 mins waiting time only for the agent to hang up after the call was finally transferred to the agent. Cancellation through Expedia took more than an hour! Never again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

What can we say about sojourn that has not already been said on here. Would we cone back? In a heartbeat. Would we recommend sojourn? Without hesitation. The place is fantastic the pool amazing and the staff are the most beautiful gracious and genuinely caring people you could ever hope to meet. If you want to experience the true grace and beauty of Cambodia then you can't go wrong in staying here. Forget the large hotels and stat here - and at the same time know that profits from your staying are helping people in the neighboring village.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#4 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#8 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sojourn Boutique Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.