We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time we have stayed here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap to your Saves list
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST PRICE GUARANTEED!
Ranked #33 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Melbourne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“3rd time we have stayed here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We came back to Siem Reap in June this year and had 7 nights at Golden Banana. We got upgraded from the hotel to the resort which was really nice of them.

As you can tell from our 3rd stay we really love this place. The hotel and resort (pool, food, cocktails, rooms) are both great, the location of 4min walk to the market/town is also great but for us the best reason to stay here are the staff. They are simply the best. Relaxed, friendly, chat to you, you learn about their country, just having a friendly face when you come back each time is great.

You wont be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    146
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
83
339
116
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Siem Reap on a Friday afternoon, cleared immigration and customs, and walked outside the terminal to be greeted by the beaming smiling face of our tuk tuk driver for the resort holding a sign with our names. So nice being expected.
A 15-20 minute trip down the highway, through the town, down a tiny little alley, and there we were, once again met with genuinely friendly smiles by the attentive and professional staff.
A quick sorting of the details, a nice cool towel and a welcome drink and we were shown to our room. I was wowed the minute they opened the door, high ceilings, platform bed, stylish, and simple. Clean, well presented, and knew we'd spend a happy three nights here. Bed was firm, which I like, and no issues at all with any of the fittings or amenities. Our private balcony looked out over the pool, had two comfy loungers and a curtained bathtub.
We had dinner that night in their restaurant, food was tasty, reasonably priced, and service was attentive. Breakfasts were the same.
Location was a 5 minute walk from the old market, and access to heaps of other pubs and cafes.
All in all, a lovely three nights, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to couples. The stairs up to our room were fine for us, but any mobility issues, try and get ground floor rooms booked. Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty's Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Whatever the manager is doing , he is doing it right ! Bravo
Its laid back, no formal and stiff reception area, you can breeze around in your bathing suit , no one cares.
Amazing staff, all just too eager to please, a mix of Mediterranean architecture with Khmer decor and typical lush SEAsia garden complimenting it all.
I was the most relaxed on a three week trip, on the second floor balcony with a glass of wine in the outdoor tub.
The cuisine in their pool side bar/ restaurant if brilliant too and perfectly priced.

Room Tip: One of the rooms on either the first or second level, I think the rooms on the pool level dont have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Really can’t praise these guys enough – they made our stay perfect in every way. The fantastic staff, from the management to the concierge, bar staff, driver and even the cleaners gave the place a really special warm vibe. I have never stayed in a hotel where I have felt as honestly welcome as here.

- The rooms are spacious and clean
- It is super close to the centre of town - Pub Street, markets ect are literally just across the river
- Nothing was too much to ask
- Fantastic restaurant and bar
- Tours were fantastic; guide was so knowledgeable, flexible and good for a chat
- The driver was heaps of fun and friendly too
- Amazing value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this boutique hotel which was located in the heart of Siem Reap. Our room was comfortable with a balcony overlooking the gorgeous pool and interior of the hotel. Balcony has a soaking tub which is wonderful to use after a long day of sightseeing. The owner of the hotel is very friendly and offered great recommendations for other restaurant, although we found the food at the hotel to be very good. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As a Worldwide traveller, I can say with great confidence that this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I have stayed in Dubai, Bangkok and NYC 5* hotels and these arent a patch. Value for money is extraordinary. The service was simply fantastic and the location is perfect. My fondest memories of Cambodia are often peppered with my memories of this hotel. The perfect monsoon storms whilst swimming in the pool with an ice lemon tea - heaven. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. PLEASE STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We three person stayed here for about 5 nights, and all of us really love this boutique hotel, stay here makes our trip wonderful, recommend to all of you guys, it worth of it. Staff here very friendly and helpful, we leave in the morning of the last day, even though the kitchen didnt open yet, the staff still specially make breakfast for us in the early morning. Good service, they did really well in all small details. COME TO STAY IN GB!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suites around a lovely pool .The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style with all luxuries and the addition of locally crafted furniture sourced from sustainably-harvested palm wood, modular terrazzo surfaces, vibrant Asian art, Cambodian crafted silks, secluded balconies, alfresco private stone outdoor bathtubs and local tiles floors .The Resort has a large salt water pool with water-fall, pool-bar, restaurant and massage, all surrounded by a tropical lush garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.