We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff, you feel home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap to your Saves list
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best price guarantee!
Ranked #24 of 228 Hotels in Siem Reap
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff, you feel home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

One of the best place I have ever stayed. Extreme good taste in decoration. Confort above any expectation. Staff incredible. Food delicious. Great Variety of Breakfast. They recommended a guide (Mr Sarkhon also called Mr Jon) who was incredible, and deserves all my thanks. Long life to Golden Banana Resort !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    130
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
77
311
105
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I just spent five days at the Golden Banana and loved it. The staff is super-friendly. The facilities are nice. The food is good (drinks too). It's gay-friendly. It's quiet at night, yet an easy walk to the markets and restaurants of downtown Siem Reap. The Belgian-born manager is often on-site. While I was there, the electricity went out across that section of town for two days. The manager bought a generator to keep showers running and was kind enough to give me an extra night for free due to the inconvenience. For someone looking for a charming, boutique option in Siem Reap, I'd strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor. The steps to the third floor are awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Banana for 9 nights and had an amazing time. The service, food, and hospitality was unbelievable! The location is right outside the main marketplace, so there is plenty of privacy. Tommy, the manager is wonderful. He, along with the entire staff, made our Christmas vacation most memorable. I would absolutely go back and highly recommend it for ALL.

Room Tip: Any room is fabulous and each room has an amazing stone bathtub on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We are traveling as family and this was an excellent choice.as after a 1/2 of temples the kids just wanted to get to the pool .We arrived in evening on 1st night and ate at resort which was really good. the breakfast in mornings was excellent too with enough options. The prices were fantastic whether for food or drinks.We had a suite over 2 floors but really didn't use the upstairs deck so the balcony room our friends had was probably better if you didn't want to get right away from it as had a large area , outdoor bath and shower up there
The GB resort is really well located as previously mentioned , close to everything but hidden away.The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the owner , who is European, just has put that little bit of style in the place whether in furnishings, music, food or wine. And the price is very good for what you are receiving . Will be back

Room Tip: we had room "A" if you want rooftop sundeck otherwise any of upper level rooms are best as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devizes
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Friendly staff.
Nice room with fan, air con, tub on balcony.
Ate dinner there on first night - very good.
Simple but healthy breakfasts.
Great cocktails.
Nice pool area, with pretty planting, and waterfall into pool.
Within walking distance of markets.
Organised taxi service around the temples - reliable and friendly.
Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We opted to book direct with the Golden Banana Boutique Resort and this proved no problem at all. The reservation staff were most helpful and informative making it a pleasure and painless to deal with them.
The resort arranged for our pick up at the airport ( minimum charge) and on arrival we were welcomed with a cool drink and helpful information on available transport,shopping venues and attractions
The location of the resort is excellent, close to Pub Street, night markets, other shopping areas and attractions. Transport to the Temples and any other venues can be arranged through the front desk at most reasonable prices.
Our accomodation (3 nights in November) was a villa (extremely well priced) on the second floor and over looking the swimming pool. The room facilities, cleanliness and beddings were excellent.
The open dining area was small but cozy and the food of good quality.
The whole of the resort staff were extremely helpful, informative and friendly - everything was no problem.
In summing up we would choose to stay there again when in Siem Reap and thoroughly recommend this resort to all.
Mona n Mike

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed in the Golden Banana Boutique resort now on three occasions and loved it every time. On arrival this time the staff greeted us like old friends, and even remembered which room we had stayed in 2 years previously, and put us back there.
You can get an impression from the general tenor of comments that this is something special. It's a real calm oasis but very close to the centre, with a wonderful cooling pool to return to after a hot day at the temples.
We enjoyed sitting at the bar over a cocktail, chatting to the staff and GM and other guests in the early evening. We ate in several times and the food is good (as are breakfasts - call order with lots of good options) especially the Cambodian menu.
The rooms are individual, generously sized, stylish and well provided. There is a generously sized internal shower, a terrace with external shower and bath, and huge comfortable beds.
Perhaps the best recommendation - we will definitely be back!
I am still after several visits overawed by Angkor and the other sites, and I love Siem Reap too, Both are easily accessed. The hotel can painlessly arrange a tuk tuk for about £11 (bit more for the further sites) all day, and we found our driver (Mr Teah) looked after us over several days. NB this is much better way of seeing it than a car - you get a panoramic view and a good breeze!
The hotel is also just a few minutes walk from the centre of Siem Reap and from many good restaurants, eg Viroth, and from the day and night markets and the river.
Can't say much more than that I will definitely be back - one of my favourite small resort-style hotels anywhere!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room D which has its own private terrace on its roof and direct access to the pool. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#31 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suites around a lovely pool .The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style with all luxuries and the addition of locally crafted furniture sourced from sustainably-harvested palm wood, modular terrazzo surfaces, vibrant Asian art, Cambodian crafted silks, secluded balconies, alfresco private stone outdoor bathtubs and local tiles floors .The Resort has a large salt water pool with water-fall, pool-bar, restaurant and massage, all surrounded by a tropical lush garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.