We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff Make This Hotel One to Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap to your Saves list
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST PRICE GUARANTEED!
Ranked #33 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Staff Make This Hotel One to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Like other reviews, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Golden Banana. I won't repeat what others have already said so well about the great location, rooms, amenities and food.

What I took home from my stay the most was the incredible staff at this place. They were the happiest, helpful and most friendly staff I've ever experienced at a hotel. No request was too small and they truly cared about every guest. I felt quite sad saying goodbye to these lovely Cambodian people.

All the rooms of the hotel tend to wrap around the pool. As a small point of annoyance, we had one of the rooms closest to the pool and the first day we were there some very drunk and noisy guests were shouting much of the afternoon so any chance of an afternoon siesta was out of the question. Perhaps the management could keep an eye on such behaviour in future with consideration to how close the rooms are to the pool. However this was a blip on the radar of a great stay.

Well done to Tommy and the great team at GB. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as an oasis from the heat and dust of Siem Reap.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    146
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
83
339
116
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Golden Banana and can't really fault it (and don't want to either).
A Beautiful room (i can't remember the name but it was above the restaurant - though there was no noise or smell from the kitchen), lovely shower, balcony overlooking the pool complete with bath (used only once for the novelty ;o)

The pool area is great and very quiet during the day when everyone was at the temples. The pool area gets the sun all day (though you do have to lounger hop in order to chase the sun.... though this wasn't a problem as we had the pool to ourselve during the day)

I didn't think the side access road was daunting or dusty AT ALL - in fact it was quite sweet what with it being lit up by red chinese lanterns each night. It's only a short walk to pub street etc..
Breakfast was good and all staff were friendly and helpful.

Hint: when you come out of the lane in which the hotel is situated do down the road immediately opposite. A few minutes walk will bring you to the Green Star - Not for Profit restaurant. Great food, great prices and all for a great cause.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes uk
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Another wonderful 4 night stay (my fourth) at the resort in my favourite room. The peaceful atmosphere and happy efficiency of the staff take all of 2 minutes to work their magic and make me not want to ever leave. Rooms still have everything I need, still well maintained, still comfortable. The kitchen is in a new location and the food seems even better than before, even the wi-fi is faster. Mr Lei and Mr Hang do a splendid job at the bar and it's just so much fun to stay here. Tommy the manager is always about to say hi and have a chat and Blackie and I are now firm friends, in fact all the staff are just wonderful.
The new footbridge by the night market means it's even quicker and easier to get to pub street and I can honestly say I would never want to stay anywhere else when I come to Siem Reap.
I cannot wait to try their new venture in Phnom Penh in February.
Well done BG, gold star from me and thanks...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

It is a beautiful oasis within walking distance to the market and Pub Street. We had a lovely room upstairs overlooking the swimming pool that had a lounge downstairs with a private verandah, and then a bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The staff were all so friendly & helpful, and we used a tour guide, Nate, that the hotel recommended, that really made our tours of Angkor Wat special.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would not consider staying elsewhere if/when I go back. The Cambodians were also so gracious and friendly, what an amazing holiday this was!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at the GB Boutique Resort which was overall a really enjoyable and relaxing experience. We had a deluxe room with sun terrace and the outside shower and bath were fab after a day of temple visiting etc.

Good points - all staff were extremely helpful and accomodating and provided an excellent level of service (including laundry), pool small but very well maintained, bar and restaurant lovely - breakfast very ample and we ate there one eveningand really enjoyed our dinner. Tuk tuk driver and guide provided excellent, Location also pretty good - just a couple on minutes from the river and one of the night markets.

Minor points to note - do not be put off by the initial impression of route/ road into the GB- yes it seems a litle off the main road and is a little uneven but in reality is pretty well lit in the evening and only 5 mins walk from the markets/ pub st - if in doubt carry a torch! Also air con is not the best

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Golden Banana was recommended by friends who had stayed in the past. We stayed here for a five nights.

The hotel is very close to the night market and close (2-3 blocks) to other markets and not too far from Pub Street and great restaurants.

Hotel service is great, from the front desk to the manager to the other staff members. Our room was spacious with a balcony for sun bathing or a private bath. We had the "Moke" room that we feel offered greater privacy than others because of the angle of the building. The stairs to the room were steep, but staff was very helpful with bag-hauling.

The food and drink service is good.

The pool is an excellent place to cool down from a day of temple-climbing.

Blackie is the dog-in-residence who keeps an eye on things.

The manager, from Belgium, is very friendly and helpful with recommendations. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: We liked the "Moke" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very spacious room with double bed tv fridge safe very quiet at 10 centimeters from the pool very clean.
Large pool with bar restaurants you can eat at a table by the pool or on the deck.
The staff is very friendly and very attentioner.
Really considering the price paid and the number of hotel we've done for years its really a hotel that I recomanderais in value.
Only negative point for siter one meal at the restaurant in the evening with no top against the breakfast is plentiful and very good can be taken in your room or on your private terrace without supplement.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suites around a lovely pool .The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style with all luxuries and the addition of locally crafted furniture sourced from sustainably-harvested palm wood, modular terrazzo surfaces, vibrant Asian art, Cambodian crafted silks, secluded balconies, alfresco private stone outdoor bathtubs and local tiles floors .The Resort has a large salt water pool with water-fall, pool-bar, restaurant and massage, all surrounded by a tropical lush garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.