We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for euro taste” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Madame Butterfly

Madame Butterfly
National Road 6, Airport Road | Siem Reap, Siem Reap, Cambodia
+855 95 586 616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 540 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Delight in Siem Reaps iconic and long established Khmer Restaurant Madame Butterfly. We offer the best of authentic Cambodian cuisine mixed with Thai and Chinese influences while pampering guests in a cozy traditional wooden house surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Madame Butterfly is the perfect place for a romantic dinner, relaxed cocktails or social gathering. Located away from the hustle and bustle of Pub Street there is without a doubt nothing you can compare it with in the city of Siem Reap. Come and experience our beautiful location and famous hospitality for yourself.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not for euro taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Really over priced restaurant! Service excelent but food not really good. We asked for the chicken bbq( srew) and it came like if it was boiled. Duck totally random. Cotes de provence 1,5 euros wine for 32 dollars but that is okay we guess since its so far. But we were dissapointed for the food. The place was nice. We were the only table there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    91
    28
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food was excellent, the wait staff attentive and the price was just right! Thank you for an incredible Cambodian meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food and a nice setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went to Madame Butterfly to get away from the usual small eateries in and around pub street and the night market to enjoy a "real" restaurant experience again, And we were not disappointed.
The seating is beautiful in an old-style building with tropical garden surroundings. The staff is friendly and very attentive. The food we had was great and they have quite a good wine list.
True, it is a bit more expensive, but not that much and worth every penny.
Must do: go to the lovely appointed restrooms on the first floor. Cute.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

YUMMM! A feast for the senses. Great food and service!
Drinks are worth a try before your meal--order dishes to share, and then sit back and enjoy the experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don'tmiss Madame Butterfly in Siem Riep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went to Madame Butterfly the other night with four friends and we were overwhelmed by the atmosphere and ambience of this restaurant. The staff were courteous and efficient, the food fantastic with several vegetarian options and brilliant wine list. Not to be missed in Siem Riep.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Butterfly also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Madame Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madame Butterfly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.